Customer Review

250 of 303 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry 2 - Meh Edition, October 24, 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - PC (Video Game)
Far Cry 2 is OK. It's nothing to write home about, though.

My issues with the game:
1. - Guns - Who did the firearm research on this game? Some guns, like the AK-47, are completely mirror image. Some, like the HK G3, are just wrong. (Charging handle and ejection port both on the left side? Not in this reality.)
2. - Damage - Shooting someone in the chest with 10-20 rounds from the PKM to kill them? Zzzzz.
3. - No prone? Come on, is this the 90s?
4. - Enemies can see me in the dead of night, and know where I am, even when I am in the bushes and using a silencer. Hmmm...
5. - Repetative missions - Wow, let's do the same missions over and over and over and over and over...
6. - Respawning badguys. Just cleared that guard post? Funny that all the guards are back 3 minutes later...
7. - "Most realistic fire ever!" - with fire graphics that look completely unrealistic.

Give this property back to Crytech. Ubisoft did a half-baked job at best.

EDIT: Also, the DRM this game installs broke the Burn feature of Windows Media Player on my PC. Buyer Beware.

EDIT 2: SecuRom has a program on their website that will allow you to remove their DRM from your machine. However, it will be reinstalled - without warning or notification - the very next time you play a game with SecuRom DRM. If - like me - you have issues with burning CDs after installing one of these game, you pretty much have to uninstall the DRM anytime you want to burn. Convenient, huh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 41 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 24, 2008 1:20:32 PM PDT
J. Schwarz says:
Good post.

Posted on Oct 24, 2008 2:07:18 PM PDT
Josh says:
The reason for the ejection port being on the wrong side is because the ejecting brass and weapon cycling looks cool. You can't see it if its on the right side.

Posted on Oct 26, 2008 8:35:07 PM PDT
Paul Tinsley says:
Does sound a bit dumbed down. I heard the widescreen support wasn't available either.

Posted on Oct 28, 2008 3:15:49 PM PDT
Prophet 2012 says:
Thanks you for reviewing the game and not the DRM like everyone else on here.

Posted on Oct 29, 2008 11:32:31 AM PDT
I have some of the same complaints you do, but the biggest one is about the missions: Driving all over friggin Africa is fun for a couple of hours, but now I'm starting to wonder if this is all the game is about. Unless, like Far Cry, it progressively gets wierder (science-fiction-ish), then it does indeed seem like they rushed it.

Posted on Nov 2, 2008 7:05:27 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 2, 2008 7:06:51 AM PST
K. Lyman says:
You obviously did not play this game all the way through. Way to focus on minor flaws (not even really flaws, more complaints) instead of all the wonderful things this game has to offer. The stealth system, for an AI system, is about is good as it gets for a game. It's not like they make games by putting in real bushes, remember, it's all a bunch of code.

Ubisoft did a half-baked job? Are you f'king serious? You really haven't played the game have you.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 2, 2008 7:06:16 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Nov 2, 2008 7:06:29 AM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 2, 2008 2:45:01 PM PST
I did, and already beat it. And they guy is right. Very repetitive (you cannot deny that), no prone which sucks and unrealistic fire and unrealistic as well in the sense that need to shoot the guys a lot to kill them, is just pathetic. Actually I dont know why i have the sense that you think GTA4 was a good game as well. Maybe is your style, but not the style of many people. Did you farcry 1? If you didnt, have a try. That is a good game.

Posted on Nov 5, 2008 2:08:34 PM PST
M. Torres says:
Did you seriously just criticize this for not having gun parts in the right place? The demand for realism, in my humble opinion, is one of the major factors that is hurting the quality (read "fun") of games these days. Seriously, who cares if the ejection port is on the wrong side? I mean I hate to sound like a jerk here, but how is having the ejection slot or the firing pin or something in the right spot "fun"? There's a reason games like this aren't fully realistic. Aside from being illegal, going out and grabbing an assault rifle and running around shooting trucks and attacking outposts would SUCK. Most any common person would most likely blow themselves up or get shot in the face, let alone not know how to fire a gun. The whole point of a game like this is to take something that you CANT do--like fire a gun or fly a plane or drive a race car--and make it FUN. It's like the people I've seen on the GRID forums complaining that the steering is too easy or that the braking isn't realistic. You know what? Driving a race car would probably be nearly IMPOSSIBLE for most typical gamers. Maybe this is just my individual philosophy and I'm totally off-base here, but I say fun first...then realism...and in small doses at that.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 6, 2008 9:23:43 AM PST
J. Star says:
The devils is in the details.

I'm sorry, but I happen to own several types of guns that the game includes, and it annoys me that they are just completely wrong. Ubi touts the "realism" of it's game, but can't be bothered to get simple details on a gun correct? Please.

As for playing the game all the way through; No, I didn't. Why would I? It was clear after several hours that it wasn't getting any better, and I have too many others things I could be enjoying rather than torturing myself playing a game I don't like.

Why is it so hard for some people to accept that not everyone has to like the things that they like? Don't like my review? WRITE YOUR OWN!
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Endicott, NY 13760

Top Reviewer Ranking: 9,652