Customer Review

96 of 126 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lag Comp, February 4, 2012
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Activision would prefer to build games that do not require servers, since servers cost money. The alternative is to have one of the players in each game act as a server (host). In several other games the host gains an advantage because other players experience a short delay in receiving data from the host. To try and combat the host advantage, MW3 and Black Ops use lag compensation. Lag compensation attempts to put everyone on a level playing field by predicting player actions and have the host put the puzzle back together later. Unfortunately, this method has created a very frustrating environment for gamers. On your side you may take several shots when going 1-on-1 with another player, but with lag compensation you may lose without the game showing you took a single shot (I recommend you youtube 'MW3 lag compensation').

Lag compensation ruined that last call of duty game (Black Ops) and it continues to do so in Modern Warefare 3. If multiplayer is the main reason you are picking this game up, then please read reviews from other online gamers before purchasing. Call of Duty has been a series with record sales for each release, so there isn't much incentive for Activision to fix this major issue with game play. As a consumer, I regret contributing to this games sales records and I will not be making that mistake again in future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 18, 2012 6:58:38 AM PST
Amen

Posted on Feb 25, 2012 7:30:03 AM PST
M. Portillo says:
you are so right! and one thing that annoys me is i see somebody camping on my screen i ran around the corner before he shot but when i watch the killcam i am still running in the open while he is shooting. that was a huge problem in black ops and is a even bigger one in mw3

Posted on Mar 9, 2012 12:41:59 PM PST
Brittany says:
BEST COMMENT ON THE WHOLE PAGE. I am a COD veteren and i'm talking all the way back to the pre-internet days. COD4 was the absolute best one!!!! lololol it's sad we had to let them know that.... cause now all they've done for the past 5 freakin games is copy paste off it!!!! Not just copy and paste, but make it gradually worse and worse, why???? Before MW2 knifing took skill, lol... wow not anymore, before black-ops, to aim took skill, but hey... not anymore. I've bought COD headset's consoles, and every single game to date. I HIGHLY reccomend that if you DID NOT LIKE THIS GAME!!! DO NOT!!! PREORDER THE NEXT ONE!!! if the next COD has a low preorder count, maybe they get the hint, maybe they'll build a NEW ENGINE!!!!!!!!!! and quit ripping people off their MONEY and most important their SKILL!!!!! MW3 is THE MOST inconsistent COD ever made, nuff said.

Posted on May 2, 2012 7:45:15 PM PDT
Peragulator says:
Playing Black Ops if I get killed it's because I'm slow. ALL THE TIME with MW3 it's the lag compensation and spawning me in front of the enemy (strangely enough the exact opposite happens in Drop Zone). Excellent review.

Posted on May 15, 2012 2:03:04 PM PDT
Winter says:
Quick question: is this an issue for MW3 on the XBox 360? I'm asking because I see your review listed under that platform...and I know Amazon sometimes cross-posts reviews like that. I'm curious as to whether XBox Live, being its own network, still has this issue. GREAT description of the problem--I'd not understood it until I read this.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 4, 2012 12:28:21 PM PDT
B. Wright says:
That's why I only buy them used.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 4, 2012 12:33:18 PM PDT
B. Wright says:
@M.Portillo, all in war is fair!

Posted on Jul 11, 2012 2:31:53 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 11, 2012 10:04:33 PM PDT
I own every COD from the first one (which I thought had the best story in the COD franchise). Many complain about the lack of servers in this one - so this is really a version one might as well play on a console. While I agree with Brittinay that COD4 had the best playability (first COD I thought beat the Halo franchise), speed and visuals have continued to improve over the years.

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare was released using version 3.0 of the IW engine and it was the first version of the engine to maintain 60+ fps even on the console version. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3, however, utilizes an improved version of the IW 4.0 engine later called the MW3 engine. Improvements in the engine allow for better streaming technology which allows larger regions for the game while running at a minimum of 60 frames per second. So, it does have the greatest visuals over any prior version.

For the PC version, moreover, the problem is often the individual copy of Windows. One should try a gaming router or utilities like TuneUp 2012, WTFast, GameBooster, GBoost, Actual Booster, GameFire, and CCleaner (but this last one recently corrupted a profile). You can also try turning off shadows - but this can be useful for seeing someone come around a corner.

As this reviewer points out about lag compensation, COD tries to level out the playing field in many ways (how the guns work, map design, etc). But, Lag Compensation is in EVERY online game and has been for ages (here's a video about "Magic Bullets" and what to do about it for MW2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bn1nBR5jOx8 ... spoiler alert: DEAL WITH IT). In fact, older COD versions had bigger (not smaller) problems in getting fair competition between different connection speeds - nostalgia completely blinds people.

No matter how you feel about this, however, no COD version has ever (or will ever) deserved a single star (if it did, it wouldn't sell so well ... people aren't that dumb). My biggest complaint (as many other 1-star reviews point out) is there is nothing really new compared to MW2 (certainly not as improved as BF3 is compared to BF2) although MW3 is also even more so of a battle between campers (including snipers) and runners, but that doesn't make it a 1-star game.

The story that was started in COD4: MW has finally been resolved. And, there are 3 different types of kill streaks. With Support, death no longer stops your kill streak growth bonuses. Specialist, is even more unique. The final part of the game, Spec Ops, is more fun than it was in MW2. Instead of running across the map to kill someone like in BF3, they're right around the corner. Definitely worth playing.

Posted on Aug 2, 2012 12:12:19 PM PDT
Your internet just sucks
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.7 out of 5 stars (3,008 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (1,349)
4 star:
 (521)
3 star:
 (363)
2 star:
 (331)
1 star:
 (444)
 
 
 
$29.99 $11.80
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 6,607,622