Customer Review

401 of 426 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great hardware, but the software needs basic help, April 19, 2010
This review is from: Eye-Fi Pro X2 8GB Wireless SD Memory Card - EYE-FI-8PC Wi-Fi SD Memory Card (Personal Computers)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Here is my experience. Harware 5 stars, software 2 stars. Average 3.5.
Installation file is 21 meg, hardly what I would describe as a compact file (per the manual). Installation offers updates to both software and hardware(firmware) Software is now 3.0.20 version, was 3.0.16. You also must then also allow Adobe Air Installer to access your computer, for non personal data only. Not quite sure what that does, maybe the web based geotagging. Then the SD card updated its firmware from 4.1010 to 4.1012. As installed the software is 12 meg total on a WinXP PC. Took 17 minutes. Reasonable.

Now taking pictures! It takes about 5 seconds for a 850 meg 7 mpixel photo upload. This was at about 50 ft distance from my N router. Right after the picture is taken it appears on the screen. By the time I took my test pictures outdoors and ran back inside to look, they were all there. Software allows to upload to any directory, but defaults to My Documents/ Pictures. Eye Fi helper software which does all this housekeeping can run in auto mode or you can manually start it. Geotagging works great, when you click on the thumbnail it shows a small Google map with the location of your photo. Once again this function is dependent on a Sky Hook recognized wi fi mac address hardware being in the vicinity of your card when the photo is taken. I loved everything so far. But..

Glitch one. And a bad one. Bad or test pictures are forever. A total of 10 photos taken generated a 1 meg log file, a 8 meg dated photo directory, a duplicate "spool" directory of full size photos, and a cache directory with thumbnail snaps. Tons of overhead. Should not be a problem to clean up. Wrong. Deleting the cache directory manually per the web based help file still kept a "palm tree" blank cache image in the eye-fi browser, with a now non existent file name below it. Why is this not a part of the software. I am now littered with palm tree thumbnails for all the pictures I took as a test and have deleted. Why? And why a duplicate "spool" directory after the data transfer has been completed?

There are lots of postings on the Eye Fi web forum site about this being an issue dating back to 2009, but between using eye fi helper, eye fi manager ? (web based additional software I had to add), and eye fi center I still could not find the elusive "delete upload history" button. It is supposed to be the answer. Seems like a common problem. So far, get this, the solution is to delete your account with Eye Fi, and then create a new one. I delete about half the pictures I take each time I shoot, and I have to do this every time???

So the hardware works great, after a short software installation. But the software is missing critical components. So this is only a 3.5 star review. I will upgrade it if, and when Eye Fi improves their photo manager software, or simply allows it to do the simple task of wireless transfer with geo cache data added.

Updated 4/23 If you check my comments file you will see that the Eye Fi folks were very kind to respond to my concerns and offer some additional help. Once the suggestions are incorporated into the actual software (as promised) so other do not have to struggle, I will up the software score. My suggestion is similar to what other software vendors use. Have a "simple" interface and an "expert" interface, such that the user can decide what level of control to exercise over the software. For example when on the road, without wi fi, the capability of turning off the cards' attempts to communicate needlessly and hence conserve battery power. Some newer cameras such as Canon T1i (T2i?) can do this in camera menu.

Update 5/2 The software is now up to version 3.1.2 and the delete local thumbnails is easy to find. After I hit that button, the spool file also seems to be gone. Some quirkiness in using the thumbnails to see the location on a small Google map - clicking next appears to confuse the program if all the pictures are not uploaded yet. Today I used the supplied USB dongle to transfer the pictures (it still uses Wi Fi, would have thought that it would detect that its plugged in and use the USB). Took about 5 min for 40 7mp 1 mb shots. Geotagging error just driving around town is relatively small, about 200 yards. Interestingly enough, the pictures that stay on the card are not geotagged, only the ones that were transferred wirelessly are tagged, so do not overwrite the tagged auto shots by a manual transfer into the same directory, as file names are the same.

Update 5/12 ALthough not recommended by Eye Fi many users have used a SD/SDHC to CF adapter in order to use the Eye Fi with their DSLRs that only take CF cards. This was mostly sucessful with the previous Eye Fi cards. Unfortunately neither I nor anyone else that I have seen has been able to use the 8Gb X2 cards with the adapters. Certainly not in Canon cameras.

Update 5/29 I have just gotten a Fuji XP10 waterproof camera. It has a metal body, but it still manages to transfer pictures to the computer wirelessly at up to 25 ft from a router. The card is not totally compatible though. The second you hit playback on the camera, you get a card error. The only way to recover is to format the card in the camera, which means you would have lost all the pictures taken up to that point if on the road. So do not assume that because the camera and the card are both SDHC that they will play nice together. Check the EyeFi web site.

Update 11/27 Yet another firmware update to 4.2120. The website warns that if you are running version 4.1XXX then you may get an error message and have to retry. Well I was running version 4.2001 prior to the update. And I got the error. It is somewhat humorous, starts with "Breathe in...." Reinserted the card per the instructions, this did nothing, you have to re insert the whole Eye Fi adapter. This time it offered to update current 4.2120 to a "new" 4.2120. Supposedly the standby power consumption is significantly less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 7 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 20, 2010 5:37:58 PM PDT
Hi Chris, thanks for posting your review on the Eye-Fi Pro X2 - we are glad that you gave the hardware 5 stars.

We wanted to clarify a few things:
- the spool directory content is kept on your computer for 3 days, after which it is purged.
- you can delete the thumbnails in the Eye-Fi Center by right clicking on the card name and selecting the "Delete all thumbnails" option. Please note that this only deletes the thumbnails in the Eye-Fi Center and not in the directory to which they were delivered. You will not see the palm tree image with this approach. We appreciate your feedback and will make this option easier to find.
- If you only want selected photos sent wirelessly to your computer, you can select the "Selective Transfer" mode from Eye-Fi Center settings.

We hope that helps. Let us know if you have any other questions/suggestions at support at eye.fi

- Eye-Fi Support

Posted on Sep 10, 2010 6:38:39 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 10, 2010 6:40:06 PM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Jan 3, 2011 4:37:47 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 3, 2011 4:43:14 PM PST
veracity says:
As this is the PRO model I would appreciate your review of the ad hoc feature: functionality, lack of functionality, and (lack of) joy between broadband chipsets.

A detailed review of the setup process without software, as I fear kludgery more than bloatware, would be most welcome as many share these fears. Please review the web-only configuration process.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 3, 2011 4:40:53 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 3, 2011 5:06:39 PM PST
veracity says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 12, 2011 7:30:35 AM PST
Could you please translate that into English, using complete sentences, etc.? :-/

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 25, 2011 6:41:27 AM PST
F. Shattuck says:
Perhaps posting to eyefi's website would get you better results - this is a review column, not a help desk.

Posted on Aug 26, 2011 12:39:56 AM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 26, 2011 10:36:41 PM PDT
Please check for camera compatibility on support.eye.fi/cameras

Posted on Jan 1, 2012 9:55:57 AM PST
Gary Mark says:
Thank you for posting this review and taking the time to warn those of us who have not yet purchased this product. I will wait until you upgrade your stars to four or more before I purchase.

Posted on Mar 29, 2012 2:49:34 AM PDT
Demitry says:
awesome review and through updates! terrific job.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Baton Rouge La

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,160