Facility Spring Cleaning BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(2 star). Show all reviews
on November 27, 2015
I'm sorry but I tried to read this book and I couldn't, the vocabulary is very simple (like 3-4th grade maybe a bit younger) and the transitions from one scene to another is very choppy. I know that children's books can and have been written better. Children's books don't have to be so simple, "the doll house murders" for example is better written and was written fot along the same age groul. I can not read it. Not saying that this book is crap, I'm sure this book is amazing but if little things like this get to you, you may not want to buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2003
I know I'll get lambasted for this, but I'm having a hard time understanding Neil Gaiman's appeal of late.
I know what he's capable of. I've read the Sandman series.
I've read Neverwhere and Stardust and American Gods and Smoke and Mirrors, too. Neverwhere is unbelievably brilliant and creative. Stardust is cute, and clever, but not extraordinary. American Gods is clever, but undeveloped in its execution.
I also have Gaiman's other works with illustrator Dave McKean -- The Tragical Comedy or Comical Tragedy of Mr. Punch: A Romance...the Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish...Dustcovers: The Selected Sandman Covers and others.
So I'm no stranger to Neil Gaiman.
Neither am I devoid of ability to recognize talent, creativity and passion.
That said, I must admit Coraline left me cold. Not much went on in the book. The characters were flat. And it seemed very dark for supposedly being a children's book.
Frankly, the same problem that plagued American Gods seems to run rampant through Coraline: a good idea left undeveloped.
Coraline starts out promisingly enough. A big old house. A curious little girl. A bunch of odd neighbors. And a locked door with a brick wall on the other side. Great premise. Lots of things could happen in such a setting.
Things do happen, but too quickly without any character development. The stories goes from zero to 60 in a couple of pages and then wraps up -- before any explanation is giving as to why this other world existed, who or what those "other parents" are, who the strange neighbors are, and why the little girls seems wise beyond her years, able to face terror with hardly a blink of her eye.
I think Neil Gaiman needs a hard-nosed editor, one who'll tell him, "Great idea, Neil. But it needs to be developed more." Or, "Good draft. Could be published as-is. But I think it needs a bit more fleshing out in these areas..."
I said it in my review of American Gods, and I'll say it in my review of Coraline: Neil Gaiman is extremely talented and creative, but his best work is still ahead of him.
I can't recommend Coraline.
0Comment|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2014
It says this book is for kids 8 and up. As a mom, I disagree. It's incredibly creepy. This would give my kids nightmares for ages. It's a compelling story but I think most of the good reviews here are written by die-hard Gaiman fans-- adult fans. He's a great storyteller, but not for kids.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
Apparently Gaiman's first intermediate children's fiction book. It wasn't very good in my opinion, but then again so far with all the chances I've given Gaiman, his Sandman books are the only ones that totally captured my interest. It felt hollow and a little too simplistic to me; writing for children doesn't have to mean oversimplified.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2009
I read the book, Coraline, because my friend told me that it was a good book. It is a story about a girl named Coraline who finds a door in a room in her house that leads to another world. When she gets there she thinks it's a paradise. She finds her Other Mother and Other Father who give her anything she wants. For example, her Other Mother is a wonderful cook. However, she soon finds out that it's really a deathtrap! The Other Mother and Other Father are trying to trick her into thinking that it is a perfect place. She realizes that they want to sew buttons in her eyes. She figures this out from 3 ghosts that had been tricked too. The ghosts can't leave this world because they don't have their eyes, only buttons. They try to warn Coraline and she goes back home only to find that her real parents are trapped in the other world too! Coraline has to be brave to return to the other world to rescue her parents. The book is pretty creepy. I would recommend it to kids ages over the age of 8. My sister saw the movie when she was 6 years old and she had nightmares, so it's definitely not for young kids. Overall, I would give the book only 2 stars because I didn't think there was enough detail about her real family.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2006
This has been compared to ALICE IN WONDERLAND, but the comparison is only minimally justified. Like ALICE, it is more likely to be enjoyed by adults than children, because the alternate reality presented is unpredictable and frightening. The difference is that ALICE contains much cleverness to entertain adults and perhaps to stimulate children as well, whereas CORALINE offers little beyond horrific imagery and jarring disorientation.

It features a female child hero who is forced be self-sufficient and save herself and her parents from an evil supernatural creature known as the Beldam. Little girls, I am sure, enjoy wish-fulfillment and power fantasies as much as anyone. On the other hand, children are not in fact self-sufficient, and are smart enough to know it. A book like this, which confronts them with a stark otherworldly horror beyond anyones comprehension, and then tells them must face it completely alone (and perhaps survive by making lucky guesses) is unlikely to be reassuring.

I am a person who, as a child, was very much attracted to horror fiction. It is hard to put my finger, exactly, on what is wrong with this book. It is creepy in a subtly empty way. Evil in a sea of nothingness.

Whenever it is not horrifying, it is bland, bleak and boring. It contains nothing insightful or clever. Not merely satisfied to tell us that Coraline is bored, Gaiman spends pages describing all the boring experiences she has to endure. At one point, she is forced to listen to a boring adult conversation that she does not understand. Unlike Coraline, we can understand the conversation (which we are forced to read) but it is still boring. I suspect there must be something deeply cynical about a book which portrays life as a choice between boredom and nightmare, and suggests the reader settle for boredom.

This is far too creepily scary for most kids, and too dumb for anyone else. Anyone (child or not) with the stomach for weird horror is likely to find much better horror stories to suit their taste and stimulate their imaginations.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2008
Flat, flat, flat.

I chose Coraline as my first Neil Gaiman book ever. I expected much more than I received. Although I'm aware it's written for children, the whole thing was not at all magical or addicting or complex, I felt as though I read the entire story waiting for something to happen, and in the end, I was left unsatisfied.

My biggest beef with Coraline is the lack of appeal of any of the characters. Coraline herself seems like she *could* be interesting (with her choices of green gloves, orange boots), but we're never given the chance to really get to know any in-depth traits about her. All the other characters--the weird neighbors, the other parents, the cat--come off as annoying and unfriendly. They're just so grossly underdeveloped. The most potential was lost by the short addition of the three other children. It could've gone somewhere. It never did. I don't know those kids, because I was never properly introduced through characterization or plot development. So in the end, I just didn't care.

When a writer writes, he should have a reason for every line he includes, every character, every character trait, and every piece of dialogue. This story left so much unexplained. Too much of it was pointless. I found myself completely bored while reading it. I even took a few-month break in the middle (and it's only a 100-something page book!) because I couldn't muster the desire to finish the thing. I went back to it, though, and re-read it. When I was done, I was still totally unimpressed.

As an appendix at the end of my copy of Coraline, Neil Gaiman in an interview said that at first, he expected the story to be 5-10 pages in length. I think that would've been a very sensible option.

2 stars instead of 1 because of Coraline's vaguely charming dad, the only character who is remotely tolerable.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2015
Not a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
II chose two because it a kids book and I understood the movie better than the book n teen should read this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2006
This book was so creepy, I couldn't even finish it! I'd have nightmares every night!!! I was looking at some books in my brother's room, and even though I haven't picked it up in years, when I spotted it, it sent a shiver down my spine. My mom started reading it to me, then she refused to after reading the first few chapters, she said she could tell it was freaking me out!!!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.48

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.