Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2016
I have not finished at this time. It is surprising that Scarlett has other children than Bonnie in the movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
Boring! McCaig's writing style leaves much to be desired. He jumps around in a very random manner. This tendency settles down after about 50 pages, but it is still hard to keep up with his thinking. His paragraphs do not seamlessly lead one to the next. He just jumps to a new idea or character without finishing the one he was on. No cohesion.

The big problem here is the very large ghost of GWTW looming over the book. Constant comparisons cannot be helped. If it were simply a story of a man and the times, it probably would have been better. With an author who knew how to write.

I made it through Part One and then decided to stop wasting my time. SPOILER ALERT!: I did read the last ten pages, though, and was happy to see that it ended well, as opposed to GWTW. I'm surprised Margaret Mitchell's estate allowed it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2016
Much better than the squeal to "Gone With the Wind," "Scarlet."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2016
Interesting as an "after thought" to Gone With the Wind--the memory of which I have more from the movie than from reading the book so many years ago. Probably would not be a book for a serious student of the Civil War as the author admits to taking some liberties with time, place, and participants.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
I have been a fan of "Gone with the Wind" and Scarlett O'Hara most of my life. This story of the life of Rhett Butler was interesting, sad at times, and riveting at times. The plot tracked the original "Gone with the Wind" plots, twists and turns but the story is told from the view point of Rhett rather than Scarlett. giving the reader an occasional "aha" moment. The story of Rhett's life is an excellent way to re-visit Tara and all it's characters and it ends leaving the reader wanting more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
I usually don't read novels about the ACW, so I don't know if McCaig's novel is historically accurate. I assume so. What I found interesting is how McCaig shows us all the different types of Southern men. Rhett himself is a fully three-dimensional character, and McCaig's book "explains" how the GWTW Rhett-Scarlett scenes happened. Besides Rhett (and Ashley Wilkes), the Southern men in RBP include brave men, recklessly brave men, scalawags (both literal and figurative), a religious fanatic, a timid man, and a gay man. Interestingly, the gay man is not timid, and the timid man is not gay.

The people who have one-starred this book do so because there are details from GWTW that have been omitted or changed in RBP. So what? The bottom line for me is that when I read this book, I can imagine Vivian Leigh and Clark Gable saying every line. A few reviewers have stopped clutching their pearls long enough to one-star this book for being a little sexier than the 1936 original. This doesn't bother me either.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
For fans of GONE WITH THE WIND this might be the book for you as this covers the life of Rhett Butler before he meets Scarlett and during the time they're together though it does not follow the movie so much as the novel.

There's a lot more sub stories taking place than I expected especially focused upon Rhett's siblings.

Readers sensitive to the horrors of American slavery may want to skip this one as there are graphic details.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
I enjoyed this books and would like to read it again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
Visualizing Clark Gable as Rhett....Loved Gone with the Wind....liked this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
NO ONE can write like Margaret Mitchell.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse