Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Goo-goo Dolls Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 24, 2012
I've been buying Scott and Matt's fabulous Elements books since version 7, so my review will be different from that of a first-time buyer.

The book states on page xvi that 11 is "one of the biggest upgrades yet" to Elements, however, there is not an awful lot in the book itself that is different from prior editions. In fact, many of the practice images are the same as in prior editions. But did I find enough new information to justify the price on Amazon?

The answer is that I did.

The chief attraction of Scott and Matt's Elements books is that the various sections do not build on previos sections. Therefore, if one's immediate need is to, say, remove dark circles from below a model's eyes, all one needs to do is go to the Contents pages and look at the list of topics for the chapter entitled "Retouch Me" and--Voila!--on p. 257 is the section Removing Dark Circles Under Eyes.

In summary, I would say that for new users of Elements 11 the book is a fabulous buy, even at the full retail price and for those of who have the previous editions it is a good buy (4 stars) at Amazon's steeply-discounted price.
0Comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
The other Elements how-to books say, "you can do this and you can do that", but few ever show you how to actually use Elements. This series is a collection of actual lessons you can do. You can even download many of the photos used in the book to do the lessons. Now it is my primary Photoshop Elements resource.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
Kelby does it again. Has all the new stuff in there. Recommended where to buy PSE actions and I did so.
Liked the Instagram instructions. The best book out there for photographers who use PSE for restoring photos.
His on line chapters that go along with the book instructions are wonderful. You can't go wrong with this book.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
I have never used Photoshop or Photoshop Elements before so I found the book to be very helpful. I liked the fact that
you could go directly to what you wanted to do without reading the whole book first. I found it very easy to read and
follow. I would highly recommend this book to first time users and maybe some advanced users too.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
I have several other Kelby books and have found all of them to be well written, full of useful information, and easy to use. You should be aware that this book will NOT teach you everything there is to know about Photoshop Elements. As the title says, it is geared toward digital photography and concentrates on the tools and techniques that the digital photographer needs to know how to use. This book does cover the latest additions to version 11 such as the much improved Refine Edge function, which takes some practice to use effectively, and is not easily learned just by experimenting on your own..
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
I would recommend this book to individuals who are interested in certain aspects of photography in Photoshop Elements. I would not recommend it for someone who has no previoius knowledge of Photoshop Elements. In my opinion another book for learning the very basics would be less frustrating but once that knowledge is grasped, this book would be appropriate for anyone with a desires to achieve great looking photographs.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
I have been using Photoshop Elements for years and upgrade often so I appreciate the authors not spending too much time on basics. A very good chapter on RAW processing. The book does not try cover every aspect of PSE11 but what it does cover is done well with a minimum of words even thought Scott does tend to ramble on... especially his nonsensical introductions to each chapter... but like he says, skip it, there is nothing important there!

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE INDEX FOR MY KINDLE FIRE!!! Everything of interest is in it and it has links to go directly to what you want to find. An easy to use reference book!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Pretty much all that you want to know about Elements 11 is addressed in this book. Scott Kelby and the crew at NAPP cover some of the best techniques in your editing of your photos. Sometimes they take it for granted that everyone reading this book is fully versed in the previous editions of Elements. This is the only reason I give this a 4 star rather than a 5 star. Overall, the book is complete and well worth the price you paid for it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
I struggled to decide if this was worth 3, 4 or 5 stars. I ultimately decided on giving it a 3, but it does not mean the book is bad, as much as it just didn't suit me as much as I had liked.

This book is written in a way that assumes you will be a power user, and will want to do as much as you can using keyboard shortcuts rather than a mouse. Rather than the directions saying click on this tool, then at the bottom change this setting, the book says do Ctrl_D to open the tool, hit tab twice then Ctrl_R to execute the tool. For MOST of the commands I was able to follow enough well enough using my mouse to do the same thing, but that is only in part because Photoshop Elements 11 is intuitive enough with a little guidance. I really wish the book had given instructions for using a mouse and offered the Ctrl commands separately or in parentheses in line with the text. The book does cover a lot of topics and has shown me that elements can do things I didn't know about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
I went through this book from cover to cover and did most of the examples from the book, even the chapter on "Raw", which I never even considered using previously. (I have used earlier versions of PSE and I read an earlier version of this book by the same authors.) My opinion is that a first time user of PSE "could" have some difficulty following all the examples in this book. However, if you have used any version of PSE before, this book really helps you understand many of the new features included with PSE 11.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.