Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2002
If you want to read a book that is thrilling, realistic, compelling and a page-turner, then Black Coffee, by Author Tracy Price-Thompson is the book for you. Price-Thompson is a dynamic storyteller and her character development is superb and "right on the money." This book focuses on the lives of its two main characters, Army Sergeant Sanderella "Sandie" Coffee and Drill Sergeant Romulus "Rom" Caesar, both enlisted in the military.

The driving force of this novel begins when Sandie, a single mother of three children, meets Rom after recently being sent back to the states after having finished an assignment oversees that lasted a few years. Rom finds himself immediately attracted to Sandie and convinces himself that he must pursue and win her over to make his life complete. Sandie pretends at first that Rom didn't even spark an interest in her, but deep down she initially found him attractive as well.

Sandie initially plays hard to get, but she would soon succumb to her feelings for Rom and they would develop a world-wind, romantic relationship, with many twists and turns, that initially takes off like a match made in heaven. Nevertheless, there is just one problem that is a major issue that is a threat to their relationship. Rom is a married man of many years with twin sons. Although Rom's marriage is dead as a door nail, he's haunted by his obligation to his sons and, therefore, stays in an unhappy marriage for the sake of his children. After all, he does not want to repeat the same mistake that his father did of abandoning his mother when he was just a young child. However, his love for Sandie is real and becomes his focal point, yet his confusion.

With many twists and turns, this book is very entertaining and thought-provoking. It clearly demonstrates the power of love and how it can overpower one's own judgment. Although I love this book, I think that Price-Thompson moved a little too quickly with the relationship between Rom and Sandie and basically could have slowed down the pace in the initial stage of their ensuing relationship.

Overall, this is a wonderful book with many messages displayed through the lives of the main characters, their friends and family members. What I really liked most about the book is how Price-Thompson displayed Sandie with having such a strong family unit, although they experienced many ups and downs in their lives. Price-Thompson clearly demonstrates that she is a master at her craft and while reading this book, I often could not believe that this is her first novel. Her writing style is that of a veteran author.

I highly recommend this thought-provoking, entertaining, well-written and page-turning novel. It is my hope that Price-Thompson is working on the sequel to Black Coffee because I am anxiously anticipating reading more about the lives of Sandie and Rom.

Pick up a copy of this novel. Trust me, you won't be disappointed. Price-Thompson, you did a wonderful job on your first novel. I'm impressed!
Reviewed by Carla J. Curtis
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2000
Where can you find a sixth star when you really need one?
It is rare that a book can capture the true essence of its title. This book does that. This is a book that is warm, comforting, makes the flesh tingle with emotion and its straight forward. The author has a strikingly different voice that resonants with honesty and self assuredness.
I am truly amazed that a woman could write without the use of stereotypes about the heart of black men. Tracy captures the essence of our fears and I cannot wait to read her next book.
Thank you Tracy Price Thompson for a delightful taste of Black Coffee.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2000
SURE WISH I COULD GIVE THIS ONE 6 *'S. ABSOLUTELY PERFECT? THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST READS I HAVE EXPERIENCED IN QUITE A WHILE. TRACY HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD WITH THIS ONE. SHE WEAVES IN A LITTLE BITTA A DIS' AND A LITTLE BITTA A DAT' AND THE END RESULTS WERE THIS WONDERFULLY DETAILED STORY OF LOVE, SELF ESTEEM, TRUST, BETRAYAL, SEX, DRUGS, FAMILY, DEDICATION AND, WELL, YOU GET THE PICTURE.............IT HAD SOME OF EVERYTHING (AND SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE).
THE STORY IS ABOUT A SINGLE MOM, SANDERELLA, WITH THREE KIDS BY THREE DIFFERENT FATHERS. SHE IS DETERMINED TO MOVE ON WITH HER LIFE (WITHOUT A MAN) IN SPITE OF THE MANY BAD DECISIONS SHE HAS MADE IN THE PAST. SHE IS IN THE ARMY AND STRIVING TO BETTER HERSELF. SHE IS TRYING TO DO THIS WITH OUT ALLOWING HERSELF TO BE DISTRACTED BY THE LURE OF MEN.
THAT IS UNTIL SHE MEETS THIS IRRESISTABLE (PERSISTANT), SELF PROCLAIMED "KING" ROMOLUS CAESAR. ROMULUS IS "MARRIED WITH CHILDREN", BUT IS NOT TOO HAPPY ABOUT IT. HE MARRIED HIS HIGH SCHOOL SWEETHEART AND HAS TWIN BOYS, THAT HE ADORES.
AFTER MEETING SANDERELLA, HE REALIZES SHE MAY BE HE SHOT AT HAPPINESS AND JUMPS AT THE CHANCE TO BE WITH THE WOMAN OF HIS DREAMS. BUT AS THIS STORY UNFOLDS, IT BECOMES CLEAR THAT NOTHING IS EVER AS SIMPLE AS IT SEEMS. YOU HAVE TO READ THIS ONE FOR YOURSELF TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS.
TRUST ME, THIS BOOK IS A "MUST READ". IT WILL HAVE YOU FEINDIN' FOR MORE WRITTING BY THIS TALENTED YOUNG LADY.
YOU MAY HAVE TO SPECIAL ORDER THIS ONE, BUT IT IS WELL WORTH THE ENERGY AND THE WAIT. YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID.
TRACY,..............YOUR SH_ _ IS THOROUGH! GO ON GIRL. I'M WAITING PATIENTLY FOR YOUR NEXT ONE
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2002
...Now comes Tracy Price-Thompson, a highly decorated Desert Storm veteran telling a story about two soldiers whose against policy romance threatens both of their military careers. What makes this book such a compelling read is the authors free-wheeling manipulation of alternating scenario changes utilizing the call and response style, in a narrative parlance sharing perspectives on their specific difficulties. It's situations like this that tend to keep readers eagerly looking for drama to unfold in lieu of the author focusing on one entity of the plot, or even one character at the expense of the other before he/she is ready to be introduced. Personally, I like this techique because it departs from the usual single narrator. The authors use of this style gives us an up front and close look at the unique challenges, pseudo successes, and adversities depicting military life seldom written about in commercial fiction.
Sandarella Coffee is a single mother reporting for duty at a Virginia military installation, meets and fall in love with Drill Sergeant Romulus Caesar. It doesn't help that Romulus is trapped in an unhappy and tumultuous marriage with twin sons. Falling too deep for Sandarella, but acknowledging no love for his wife, he's haunted by his obligation to be a contributing parent. The romance between the two proliferate throughout as they search for understanding in their forbidden liason eshewing in the process Uncle Sam's rigid fraternization rules, and the need to be inclusive in their respective familial matters. Two strong willed and ambitious people notwithstanding, the author makes sure to stress character flaws, complexities, and frustration inhibited thereof as the exciting climax comes to fore.
This is a quick read with short to moderate chapters, but at times it stumbles in places...especially when she doesn't spend more time stressing character development introducing issues such as drug dependency and HIV (which she briefly atrtributes to her sister. Reading this book, you'd readily see that the writer has a way with words, but when there's no effort to temper verbosity it lends itself to metaphors and overused cliches that seem forced. Despite this, it doesn't detract from the hue of the colors on this artist's palette. You may add this to perhaps the next book to bead on your list!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2000
I found Black Coffee to be full of humor and laugh out loud scenes. The characters were so real. They faced real life issues. Sandrella is a single mom who isn't looking for love but then she meets Romulus (King). Romulus is married but states the marriage is over, he only loves his children. When the two get together sparks start jumping off the pages of the book. Black Coffee is an excellent read. It shows that love can survive. Communication is a key. If you don't have this one on your to read list..add it. Tracy, I wish you continue success. Be Blessed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2000
My book club chose Black Coffee for our August selection because several of us heard Tracy read while at a book retreat in NY. Tracy read with Valerie Wislon Wesely and Van Whitfield and we were so impressed with her voice and style that we rushed to get her book. No one was disappointed. On a scale we use of 1-4 Black Coffee was rated a 4-plus. The pace and action kept us reading and the voice of the girl Sandie was so true and easy to relate to that I found myself cheering for her and crying for her at the same time. Her man, Romulus Caesar was no typical guy. Even though he had crazy issues with his life he truly loved her. I liked the way tracy made him a solid black man and the keeper of his own castle. This novel shows that even in the midst of confusion and chaos a black love can survive. It gave us hope. Thank you Tracy. We loved this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2002
Just wanted to say that I loved the novel. I'm just now getting into reading, but reading this novel has made me want to continue to read and search for talent as great as Tracy. It was amazing and like Tracy said, it's not a book on a one woman experience but many. I didn't only see myself in many of these parts, but also family and friends. This book made me Laugh, Cry, and in several parts Seize the moment.:) I must say Tracy is one TALENTED SISTA!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2002
Do you have a girlfriend that makes you double over with laughter? One who can make a simple statement about the weather funny? Well if you don't, allow Sandrella Coffee to become your witty friend for a while. Sandrella Coffee is the main character in Black Coffee, along with Romulus Caesar. Sandrella has a percolating wit, along with a snappy, earthy, and matter of fact voice. She proudly exposes her failures, accomplishments, dreams, fears, and emotions to us like we are her confident friends. She speaks honestly and from the heart. She's confident in who she is, what she can and cannot do, and she is not ashamed to tell you about the mistakes she's made.
In her debut novel, Tracy Price-Thompson has introduced characters that are real and expound. She engages you in the main plot of this story by providing in depth characters that spring off of the pages into your presence. Her hilarious, serious, and heart felt accounts of Sandrella & Romulus' life will make you smile, laugh, cuss, and cheer. This is not just a book for women; men can enjoy and relate to this story as well.
Black Coffee is a quick, funny, soaring read about all types of love....relationship love, family love, fiendship love, sibling love...strong love. It delves into the sacrifices that one makes for love; and displays the prolific emotions of people experiencing love. Black Coffee touches on how one must do what they have to do because of morals, and past lessons.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2002
I enjoyed this book so much, the second I finished reading it I had to e-mail the author personally!!
Where do I begin...This book was suggested to be on Amazon.com when I was looking for books to read on the same lines as those written by Lolita Files (another Author I love). I started reading this book at 1:30pm July 21... and by 6pm I had almost finished the entire book. I just could not put this book down. The only time I did was to either take a second to go in the water so I would not over heat, or to reapply sunscreen so I would not burn to a crisp! Growing up I never read much, so as an adult, I find I am a very picky reader. If a book does not grab me in the first 3 chapters FORGET IT!! I did not want this book to end!
I can not wait for her next book....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2000
Yummy. Just one word to describe Ms. Thompsons' debut novel. You will absorb it in one sitting! Here's a story where the characters are *very* flawed, who go through some realistic situations, and life isn't always perfect in the end. A fairy tale? Not hardly. Realistic? You betcha. Talk about dialogue that is so on point? I hated for this book to end. If you're tired of stories where perfect people meet perfect people, have a little drama, and everything is happily ever after afterwards -- then this is the story for you.
I look forward to future books by this author.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.