Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars38
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$4.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 23, 2006
As with the previous books, Henry and the Paper Route is written in chapter book style where each chapter is almost a short story in-and-of-itself and which all wind their way toward the ultimate goal (each book Henry has that ONE thing he's got to get or do) which makes for interesting reading, wondering how each part will ultimately work out with the end goal. It's clear from the title that this volume in the Henry Huggins series is all about Henry and his desire to get a paper route all his own and as the chapters go on, we see how he goes about proving he's ready to do that! With this book we also get to read more about Beezus and Ramona, Scooter, Ribsy and more!

Henry and the Paper Route is six chapters of boyishly good adventure geared toward Henry obtaining the paper route of his dreams! We start out with Henry in hot water over bringing home four kittens...this chapter is all about him making an interesting first impression with Mr. Capper (the newspaper guy). The second chapter is about his tireless search to find good homes for those kittens. Chapter three Henry engineers a clever plan to help his class get ahead in the school paper drive and in chapter four we find out if his plan was successful or not! Chapter five Henry meets Murph, boy genius and finds that Murph has transferred into the paper route he's had his eye on! Oh, no...in chapter six will Henry finally get that route or is he destined to only fill in and help Scooter out? Your young reader will love finding out!

I give this book five stars...though the Henry Huggins series was written in the 1940's and 50's and have a bit of a Leave It to Beaver feel with regards to the traditional family roles and quaint feel of the daily life of the kids in them...they are also rather timeless. Putting aside the money issues (yea, everything cost WAY less in these books than they do today), Henry Huggins is a clean cut typical boy looking for a bit of fun...but he's also honest, hard working, and clever in thinking of ways to get what he wants (the advertising thing for the paper drive for example)...and he's always respectful even when he's trying to scheme to get what he wants! Henry and the Paper Route (and all the other books in this series) are well worth reading...these are kids classics for a reason, because they are timelessly entertaining!
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
We bought my six year old a boxed set of Beverly Cleary book at a warehouse store, and there were some that were not included. This was one of them. These books are pretty timeless, and are just as good as I remember them being when I was in elementary school. These make GREAT bedtime reading for our voracious young reader, and I look forward to reading them again with my daughter when she's older.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
The boy in the story wants to be a paperboy, but he is told he's too young. He ingratiates himself with the other paperboys and helps them fold papers. One boy asks him to fill in one day and he is eager to do the job. His school has a paper drive going on and he gets the idea to put a brief advertisement in the rolled up papers. This works great and he has a huge job collecting all the papers and magazines his neighborhood has for him. But he sticks with it and gets the job done.
Throughout the story he takes on jobs which test his ability to complete. But he doesn't give up and works to find more efficient ways of accomplishing it. Pretty admirable kid with guts and determination. A well told story. My 8 year old liked it even tho it isn't high adventure or danger or anything exotic. It's just a nice kid living his life and I imagine he will grow into a successful man.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
I was surprised to see that the edition I'd selected was a paperback rather than the hardcover that was described. While the condition was good, the book in tact, a nice copy actually, it wasn't exactly what I'd ordered.

This seller was prompt to rectify the problem to my satisfaction and kindly apologized for the error.

And as confused as you may be right now as to why I gave such a good rating, The seller made me happy. That counts for a lot when things don't go the way you hope they will. Great customer service goes a long way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
My son who is 6 is hooked on these books both to try and learn to read but also to have us read to him. The books are probably too advanced for 1st grade but closer to 2nd / 3rd grade. He enjoys the story lines and is getting more engaged in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2006
I am 8 years old. I like all of the Beverly Cleary books. This book is funny. I especially liked the part when Ramona pinned a jump rope to her overalls and pretended she was a monkey. She went to the store with her family, and some people joked around and thought she was a new species for sale. Then she thought they were not joking and she ran away from the store. Ramona is four in this book, and she is my favorite character in the Beverly Cleary books.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2015
Henry Huggins is back and this time he sets his sights on getting a paper route like his older friend, Scooter McCarthy. Scooter reminds Henry of one small problem: all carriers have to be at least eleven years old. Henry has a birthday coming up soon, but he's not eleven yet. Much of the book focuses on Henry's attempts to impress Mr. Capper, who manages the newspaper delivery in his neighborhood. He has his usual misadventures along the way, such as his acquisition of some kittens at a rummage sale. He also gets involved in a school paper drive, and this causes a rift between him and Scooter. Henry soon celebrates his eleventh birthday, reconciles with Scooter, and meets a new boy in the neighborhood named Murph. Murph is a boy inventor, and Henry soon learns he's looking for a paper route of his own. Will he get the route instead of Henry? Henry's friend Beatrice "Beezus" Quimby is around to provide her usual support, and her younger sister Ramona causes her usual havoc. In fact, it's largely because of Ramona that Henry ends up getting his route! Read the book and learn more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 27, 2015
Henry Huggins is all too aware of being ten years old. What he wants most in life is to have a paper route -- and in his city, paper carriers must be eleven years old.

It doesn't help that his older neighbor Scooter McCarthy has a route. But Henry tries to use that to his advantage, helping fold Scooter's papers when the other will be late, in order to impress the manager Mr. Capper.

Granted, as the book was published in the '50s, there are a couple of dated references, such as Henry typing on his mother's typewriter with carbon paper, or the prices of things. But overall, Henry Huggins is a timeless little boy, wanting and doing all the same things as countless children before and after him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
Any of the Henry Huggins books are fun and great for kids (boy or girl). They're older but the fun in them is still applicable. We like to read them aloud at bedtime, and as a read aloud, the chapters can be a little long, but they're so fun that it's worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2007
This book is about Henry who wants to get a job delivering papers. A funny part of the book is when is goes to apply for the paper route. On the way, he stops at a rummage sale where there is a box with four kittens for sale for 5 cents each. He buys them all and tries to hide them in his shirt when he applies for the paper route. When he knocks on the door of the man who hires people for the job, a dog is at the door. The dog growls at Henry and one of the kittens pops out of his shirt. He pushes the kitten down, and it scratches him. The whole thing is a fiasco and he is told to come back in a year or two when he is older. It you want to know more about other funny things that happen to Henry or if he gets the paper route, I recommend you read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.