Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 13, 2009
The Very Hungry Caterpillar Pop-up Book exceeded all my expectations with its elaborate pop-up art that brings this story to life! My son loved the board book already, but when he received the pop-up book for his 1st birthday, he was shrieking in delight over the exquisite 3-dimensional wonders that surprised him on every page. While the book is recommended for ages 3 and up, I think it's worth introducing to younger ages - you just need to be careful to keep it out of arms reach. It's definitely a wonderful gift idea and will be a treasured part of our family's library.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2009
I bought this book for my grandchildren who live across the country. Their Mom, a school psychologist, praised the choice! The children love it, and it is fun to read it to them.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
I gave this Eric Carle book a 5 star rating because it was the biggest hit with my one year old granddaughter. She loves to sit and go through the book and the pop ups have held up beautifully. The book is well made and of course the story is wonderful.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2011
If you have a pre-school age child anywhere on your family tree, share this book with him or her. Let Eric Carle's very hungry caterpillar take you on a colorful journey of munching - from one Sunday to the next. You'll be delighted right through to the butterfly end. A unique use of the book's pages contribute to the fun and surprises already generated by the creative narrative and bright illustrations. (I've caught more than one adult reading it over and over.) Over 29 million copies have been sold! Avoid being the only one who hasn't read it - buy a copy and share!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
My children love The Very Hungry Caterpillar and also love pop-ups. So we were very excited to find this book and buy it.
However, more than half of the pop-ups have fallen apart within a month of purchasing this book, with only very gentle use. It has been extremely frustrating, as the children love the book and would like to see the pop-ups in action.

Based on the previous customer review, I'm inclined to believe that this is more an issue of poor assembly, rather than poorly-designed pop-ups.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2009
This book is amazing! The Very Hungry Caterpillar is one of my favorites but adding the pop-up component is wonderful. And it is done so beautifully and intricately.

I'd also like to recommend Eric Carle's video, "Eric Carle: Picture Writer" if you are a fan. It shows how he draws his stories and makes his paper. You will appreciate his books that much more!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2010
This is a beautiful book, lots of pop ups and intricate detail. however it is not for your little one to read alone, not unless you want your pop ups destroyed. Great visual aids for children if you are reading to them, pricey but a worthwhile investment. If you want a book for your child to read I suggest the board book version of this one.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2009
This is one of my daughter's favorite books so I couldn't resist buying this adorable pop up book! It is SO well done and she LOVES it when I read it to her. Since she is only 1, I don't leave it out for her to look at on her own as she would naturally be to tempted to rip the pop ups out. Would make a great gift.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2009
This book was used by a friend for a bookclub review of the most wonderful children's books. This is a wonderful book that children love. If you have children or grandchildren they will love the hungry caterpillar
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
Much like its protagonist, The Very Hungry Caterpillar metamorphoses. As its story begins and as it ends, it is a nature book featuring the life cycle of the butterfly from egg to adult; in the middle, though, it becomes a counting book featuring a tactile hook. Starting with the larva-eaten endpages, the copious whitespace allows for easy focus on the little caterpillar as it sets out on its journey though a series of die-cut pages. Beginning with a single hole in a single apple on a very short page, each opening in this section becomes longer and longer, with more fruit and more holes. Therefore, a child learning to count has multiple signifiers of increasing amount and quantity: the simple visual of the brightly-colored cut-paper fruit; the hole in each piece, which he or she can feel as an individual item; and the size of the page, which scales in direct proportion to the the number represented. The days of the week are also taught as these feats of larval gustation begin on a Monday and continue through the subsequent week. When Saturday comes, the concept of kind is combined with quantity as the caterpillar eats only one of a variety of less-than-healthful foods, which leads directly to the suggestion that such eating will cause a stomachache. On Sunday, the protagonist is one week old and has become a very corpulent caterpillar indeed. The final metamorphosis completes the nature lesson, conveying the notion that strange changes can be wonderful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse