Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 111 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on August 12, 2015
This is NOT a first edition. The book itself is all black and feels cheap, unlike the three other first edition Harry Potter books that I own. The dust jacket came in less than perfect condition and compared to my other jackets it looks completely fake. I'm returning this book no doubt. Unbelievable.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
Luckily I've read this book multiple times so I could fill in the parts that were missing. But the first 1-2 sentences at the end of each page & also at the beginning, were missing throughout about 70% of the book. If I didn't have kindle unlimited I'd be extremely pissed... It was very aggravating the whole time!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2016
Ordered to read on my iPad. For the first time, I received a digital book through Amazon that is virtually unreadable. Sentences begun at the bottom of one column are not continued at the top of the next column. Content is missing between pages. If I could give a zero rating, I would. Total waste of money. Let the buyer beware!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2016
The Kindle version is defective as some reviewers wrote (I wish I had read them before I purchased), on an iPad with Kindle app in my case. When reading with the device held in landspace (side ways) position, the last sentence on the first column repeats at the beginning of the second column on every page. Additionally, sections of certain sentences are missing randomly. Oddly, this problem seems to go away when the device is held in portrait orientation.

I chatted with Amazon tech support, but after trying several fixes nothing helped and they are giving me a credit for the purchase. They also told me that this version will not be available for purchase until the problem is fixed, but I still see it listed for purchase. So, buyers beware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
The kindle version is unreadable! Each page begins in the middle of a sentence, different from the sentence on the previous page. After spending an hour on the phone with customer service and being transferred to three different tech people (all who uninstalled and reinstalled the book, unregistered, uninstalled and reinstalled my kindle app, hard reset my iPad, etc) they determined the issue was with the book and not my device. It's been over a week and I'm still waiting to hear that the issue is resolved. It's shocking that Amazon is still selling a faulty product instead of removing the listing until it is fixed! Do not buy!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
Was so excited to finally complete my collection of first edition Harry Potter books and when I get it it is NOT a first edition. I am so upset I can not even describe.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
4 stars for the story itself, 1 for this rendition. We purchased the entire kindle set when they were based on the Scholastic versions. These not only have x-ray enabled, but also credit Mary Grandpre for her excellent covers and chapter illustrations. Somewhat tacky of these newer ones to have Olly Moss credited as sole illustrator (cover) on Amazon when Ms Grandpre's are still used as the interior ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2015
My problem is not with the storyline itself, however this is definitely when Harry started going dark but with the publisher. No matter what I did and changed complete sentences were missing at the end of every page. I had to change font size at the end of pages to read the end of sentences. Very frustrating and time consuming, took the joy out of reading. Hope the next kindle book is better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
Kindle version is impossible to read. Some paragraphs repeat and sentences are missing. Can't get through the first chapter. According to other reviews, this is a problem with the book itself, not my device.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2012
I was extremely disappointed with the condition of this book. I have never purchased a book in such poor condition--this would not even sell at a yard sale for $1, but I paid $10, plus shipping & handling. It was not listed as in poor condition, so be careful to read the "fine print" and not just the condition. I failed to do that, but it should never had been listed as in "Good" condition. The seller responded to my complaint "it is still a good read" (!?). We had already read the book, but had loaned ours and it had not been returned, so I was just trying to replace it. But not with one that has been written on, in ink, with no jacket and a broken spine, and filthy pages.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.