Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2006
Wendy's book is an excellent primer for beginners wondering "How do all these investors buy houses with no money down?"

I'm here to tell you I learned these techniques from Wendy several years ago and haven't looked back since. I literally have to turn down some homeowners begging to give their houses to me. I only wish this book had been available to me several years ago.

"Investing in Real Estate With Lease Options and 'Subject-To' Deals" by Wendy Patton is one of the few books you'll find at booksellers like Amazon.com that covers "Subject To" techniques in any depth at all. She covers everything from how to find them to how to sell them - complete with checklists and valuable tips learned from hardwon experience.

I've learned more from this one book than from going to some expensive ($2000+) weekend seminars. Although there are limits to how much one author can cover completely within the pages of just one book, Wendy holds nothing back in my estimation.

Although the author includes many advanced strategies for experienced investors, she doesn't leave beginners wondering what in the world she's talking about either.

If you're looing for a good, solid, informative, and well written book on creative real estate strategies, this is the first book I would recommend buying.

And what's so fun about this business is that this book is only the tip of the iceberg! Highly recommended! Well done, Wendy!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2005
Whether you want to focus on subject-to's or lease options exclusively, or you just want to add another plug-and-play strategy to your other real estate investment business model, this book must be on your desk (not up on your shelf)!

Wendy's strategies are for new and veteran investors alike. More importantly, Wendy's lease option strategies and tactics provide some cash now, cash flow now and later, and a big cash payload down the road. This book gives you the knowledge and tools to start building your cash pipeline this very day.

Take it from me, a dyed-in-the-wool rehabber/wholesaler, I should have started building my lease option cash pipeline years ago...imagine all the paydays along the way I would have had! But now you and I have no excuses, so Carpe Diem!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2006
This book is a great one to get you acquainted with lease-options and subject-to's. Wendy takes you step by step through the process, and also gives you checklists to refer to as you put your deal together. She does however make some broad assumptions from time to time about when either type of contract is beneficial and why. For example, she mentions that owners with good credit are more likely to entertain a lease-option than a subject-to. This is not always the case. Sometimes owners with bad credit are looking for a "leg up", but don't want to surrender title. In that case, they actually might prefer a lease-option. Also in my experience, many owners with good credit prefer a subject-to because they want their name off the title, but don't want to deal with the tax hit of selling the property outright, right now. If they enter a subject-to, they can have their mortgage payments made by the investor, and give them time to have the property reclassified from "primary residence" to "investment property". They can then do 1031 exchanges tax free once the investor is ready to close (usually more than 1-2 years down the line.

Overall though, this book is a must if you want to learn about the ins and outs of lease-options and subject-tos.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2005
This book provides an excellent insight into using a "lease option and sujbect to" method of acquiring and or controlling property. I believe this is a great way to help someone build a real estate investment portfolio. Wendy's book also contains check lists (page 111) and phone scripts which are very helpful. The check list alone was worth the price of the book. As an investor, if you enjoy the book and find it helpful, then Wendy Patton's training course is fantastic. I attended the course, and noted very qucikly that it is Wendy that teaches the course not a substitute. Also whenever she spoke about a document of any kind, you were provided a sample which adds to clairity of understanding. Her course also provided hands on time in actual homes. As a licensed builder and real estate agent, also investor, it is my personal opinion that Wendy Patton's class/training was one of the top two classes that I have attended over the last several years.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2005
Wendy's book provides the perfect blueprint for creating wealth by controlling property, not necessarily owning it. Perfect for either the new investor beginning a real estate investment career or experienced investors looking to create a new niche or just wanting to refocus.

Wendy shows you how to find the opportunities, what to do with them when you find them, and how to negotiate for the fairest outcome that works for the investor and the prospects - sellers and tenant-buyers. Her emphaasis on honest dealings and a WIN-WIN outcome for all is refreshing!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2006
I have gone through a few courses on Lease Options and Subject To's that cost hundreds of dollars. I found more and better information in this book then those courses. OMG i wish i found this book earlier since i flushed hundreds of dollars down the drain.

Great book! Highly recommended. Best BANG for you buck guranteed.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2007
As a Realtor, I get a little nervous when my investor clients come to me and want to try things they read about or saw on the web or on tv. Most of those things are illegal in the state I practice in.
However, this is a good primer for beginners in Lease Options and Subject-to deals, both Realtors and investors can profit from this read.
I do have clients who use variations of these strategies, but it is very important that you fully understand how these work and what can happen if they don't work. This book is a good addition to every investor and Realtor's reference library.
A word of caution: Before you attempt any of these proceedures discuss it with a very knowledgable real estate attorney, preferrably one who is also a real estate investor.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2006
Very well written giving a good overall explanation of how to use these techniques in real estate investing. In my opinion one needs further education in this business, but Wendy has done a fabulous job of giving someone enough "meat" that they can go out and at least get their feet wet.

Refreshing to see solid information and experiences shared with realistic expectations, not a bunch of fluff that many gurus are known for.

Definitely recommend for anyone wanting to learn more about these 2 strategies.

Well done Wendy! FIVE stars.......
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
Excellent information. I find that most investing books are only an entry point for the author to try to sell you seminar tickets, courses, etc – all of which are ridiculously overpriced. Wendy Patton does mention that she does seminars, maybe 2 times in the book; she never tries to push the seminar on you or say you will "learn more" by attending them. Everything you need to know is in the book to get started. The only thing you need to find out on your own is what contracts your state requires in order to purchase real estate as this is on a state-by-state basis and requirements vary. Otherwise, if you are persistent with your plan of action to buy real estate, you will be successful. I have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2005
If you are looking for a blueprint from A to Z on

"lease options" and "subject-to", this is it. Most authors almost always leave something out. Not Wendy. This woman, investor, author, has her act down to a "T". Before I buy a book or course I do a little research and try to gain as much knowledge as possible about this person before I lay down my hard earned money. Wendy seems to really have done her homework on this book and she is very, very thorough. Maybe some of her male "guru" counterparts could learn alot from her ethics and her intelligence.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse