Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon David Bowie egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on January 24, 2007
Yogani has really outdone himself this time. He has done a great job covering the basic technique of Samyama, including adding new advanced applications of this age old technique that has been surrounded by mysteries and taboos. Samyama is a yoga technique in which the inner silence that is cultivated during deep meditation is made to expand outwards, which in time can lead to small and big miracles happening spontaneously in our every day life. If Samyama is practiced correctly, it can not be used negatively or misused for personal power. The siddhis or personal powers are achieved as a by product of this practice. Since divine inner silence is required to make Samyama work, it is almost impossible to misuse this powerful technique. That's why Yogani calls it "morally self-regulating."

I have followed the basic Samyama techniques described in this book by Yogani for almost a year and the personal experiences have been profound. I have felt expansion of inner silence during practice which has also flowed into my everyday life. I have also used Samyama with my prayers and healing and the techniques described in this book does enhance both. Also, as described in this book, I have started applying Samyama technique to my asana routine and this is helping me get into my postures with ease and also started using the Cosmic Samyama which has helped balance the energy in me and helped me work with my crown chakra without discomfort.

A very well written and informative book indeed!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on March 23, 2007
Yogani's most recent book "Samyama - Stillness in Action, Siddhis and Miracles" has the most thorough coverage of this ancient Yoga technique that I have found. It can be practiced successfully with just a slight emergence of inner silence, which is cultivated by deep meditation, described in an earlier book of his popular Enlightenment Series. The time one needs to set aside daily is very minor, only about 10 minutes or less, and could therefore fit into anybody's schedule.

Samyama could be seen as a crystallization in the outer world of the practitioner of the inner stability and harmony gained through meditation. The implications of this process are huge, even if one only sees it as one's life coming into more order, but often people talk about miracles happening in their lives as well. Yogani doesn't stop, however, with just describing the technique itself, how to practice it and how it works. Another very important aspect of Samyama, as with all Yoga practice, is the science of self-pacing. He teaches us in detail how to moderate our practice to avoid getting too much too soon, which could be overwhelming.

Considering the small size of the book (only about 100 pages), it goes even further however, to go into Samyama and its relation to the rise of the Active Witness, Yoga Nidra, Asanas (yoga postures), the Samyama Sutras of Patanjali, relationship of inner silence and ecstasy, and finally Enlightenment. I would much recommend it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on February 19, 2007
In this book Yogani explains in detail the technique used throughout the ages by Yogic Masters to perform Siddhis or miracles. This is a fascinating book that is a treasure to read. Nowhere else will you find the level of detail and understanding of this ancient yogic method revealed in written form. This book is a must read for anyone treading the path to self mastery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on January 23, 2007
If my title sounds a little over the top, I can only tell you from my own experience, after reading and practicing Yogani's first book "Deep Meditation" and getting a taste of Inner Silence that Samyama-Cultivating Stillness in Action,Siddis and Miracles is in fact a miracle in that it's showing me how to take "Inner Silence" out into the world in everyday life. Wow! What a read. I highly recommend Yogani's entire Enlightenment Series books.

Guy Dawson
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on May 5, 2008
What is not to like about this book, if you are ready for its instruction? The writing is so descriptive and specific, and yet very readable. It is though the gentleman is speaking to the reader personally.
And it is not a 'read once and put it down' type of a book. It is for continuous guidance and instruction as you pace yourself and make the practice your own. And speaking of practice, for me, the results were almost immediate, and more than what I expected. I thought it would take 'forever' to see something in the outer world. But I am more at peace. My home life is more at peace. Issues I cannot physically resolve are miraculously transforming themselves. That is not an accident, or coincidence. That is stillness in action! So, go at your own pace, make it light, make it fun and your spirit will be more willing to follow along. At least in my opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 4, 2007
I really enjoyed Yogani's book "Samyama - Cultivating Stillness in Action, Siddhis and Miracles", I think it is an excellent read and essential for anyone on the path who is dedicated to liberating themselves.

This was my favourite of Yogani's "Enlightenment Series Books" as it goes far more extensively into material and methods pertaining to the practice of Samyama than has been published before by Yogani or any other spiritual teacher (to my knowledge) on the subject.

Like all of Yogani's writings, it is well written, clear and easy to understand. I finished it within a few days and it has deepened my meditative practices considerably. The "Cosmic Samyama" practice has been a boon for me and has accelerated my inner expansion in profound ways.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on January 20, 2007
What I can say about Yogani's books?? They are all abolustely incredible, I think they are the best lessons on Yoga you can find actually.

And this books reach a new level . There are a lot of new and different info you can find in the lessons.

Why I can't add more stars?? xDD
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 17, 2010
I've been practicing yoga for almost 30 years and this is the first teaching I've come across that describes how to do samyama - wonderful to add after deep meditation. Yogani's writing style is precise and no-nonsense. A must read for any dedicated yogi!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 6, 2008
This is powerful and awesome stuff, which is why Yogani really stresses self-pacing here. I highly recommend that you read Yogani's Samyama book. But I also recommend, as does he, that you do not do Samyama until you have your meditation practice firmly established.

I've read that Samyama can lead to the development of siddhis and the appearance of miracles, but that isn't why we practice it. We practice samyama to manifest what we wish to attract into our lives---the law of attraction. We practice samyama so that the Divine pervades every aspect of our daily life.

Through this book, I learned that Samyama also has expanded applications that can be added after you are steady in that practice. Among them are:
* samyama in prayer
* samyama in asanas
* cosmic samyama

Here's a quote from Yogani's book-- "Surrenduring to the Divine is the essential operating principle in prayer." In using this principle we can use samyama as prayer, reducing the object of our prayer into a concise sutra, releasing our sutra to our inner stillness, to be manifested on the outside.

You may create any prayer sutra you wish. You may use the samyama prayer to dissolve obstructions, remove impurities or increase positive qualities. You may use them on an individual or a global scale.

I was using samyama as prayer before reading about it. It seemed a natural progression after some time doing samyama. And to the question of whether or not it works, all I can say is that my experience with it has been positive.

All of Yogani's books are good, but this book will leave you in wonder of what we could accomplish for the good, with these practices. And it will fill you with desire to continue on the path.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on September 14, 2012
Samyama shows you how to take the "inner silence"gained in spinal breathing pranayama and deep meditation techniques into the outside world. Yogani clearly states that one must be fairly adept in these techniques, outlined in other books written by Yogani, before one practices samyama. This is probably the most difficult of Yogani's books in that it is difficult to know if one is ready for this technique and whether or not one is, indeed, making progress. However, I believe this is still a useful book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Deep Meditation - Pathway to Personal Freedom
Deep Meditation - Pathway to Personal Freedom by Yogani (Paperback - December 1, 2005)

Spinal Breathing Pranayama - Journey to Inner Space
Spinal Breathing Pranayama - Journey to Inner Space by Yogani (Paperback - April 1, 2006)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.