Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Goo-goo Dolls Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$33.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 26, 2013
Some of my problems did not find an obvious solution through the book but had to be resolved browsing the internet. You get a thorough review of the obvious Things but the 'how do I' is not rewarding. One might say that the book tries to cover a lot of detail conerning Joomla! - whereas it should have used the needs of a website developer as a starting point. I am 61 years old, and I find that the screenshots are barely legible (and that a lot of their content should have been cut off in order to highlight important parts). Also the letters could easily be a bit larger.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
This book probably covers every aspect of Joomla!3 that exists. However, the information is arranged in an encyclopedic structure that will not facilitate a new user's ability to start with the basics and then build upon that. The obvious details are explained over and over in a rigidly structured manner, but there is no overview or point of entry to allow a new user to grasp an overview of this software. The figures often did not illustrate what they claimed to, and outright errors exist. I found the book more of a dusty broom closet of information than a dynamic and intelligent virtual classroom.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
The book is over 400 pages long (2nd Edition). Most of the Joomla editors work in the same way and the author has generated page after page walking you through the use of the same editor for many many different purposes.
I bought the book for a Nook. The illustrations are not visible at all. Useless.
The focus of the book is to tell you What to do but not How to do it. It is nearly devoid of concrete examples.
You will do better using the Joomla documentation.

If you are rich and like thick useless books--by all means buy this. Otherwise, save your money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
The book is an excellent guide to Joomla 3.

In the book there is code for a sample template. I couldn't get this to work so I started looking for sample code where this might be found. I couldn't find any sample code. The last part of the book, the good part, required this template as it is used in the examples. Without the working template the examples have diminished value. I would really like to get working template code.

PLEASE provide working template code!

Just be aware that you will have difficulty with this as you work through the book.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
I am basic computer literate and most of the problems I am encountering stem from my inexperience. For example I uploaded photos to my joomla management area and then to my website. But they would only appear as a small icon. It took me a day to figure out that my camera was set to capture way more information than joomla could handle. It would have been nice if a brief note had been placed where I could see it. But I still recommend this book for its basic description of how things work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
t
bought thus as a book bc i love cs books. this one will make me think twice before i buy another. it was terrible at best. poorlh organized and werepresentation. keep looking
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
I like the multitude of screenshots (although they are sometimes a bit small and hard to read). I also like the detailed info on the Joomla structure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
Some useful tips in here to help me do a few more things with this great software
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2013
There are so much unnecessary explanations that kills a lot of time. Lots of irrelevant lengthy materials that actually make you loose the point of subject you are reading!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2013
An excellent resource explaining how Joomla works. Despite being stubbornly not interested in reading computer software manuals, this book is an easy read, extremely helpful, well worth the investment. I've owned a Wordpress website or two years, this book along with setting up a test Linux Joomla box has helped persuade me to change my site to a Joomla CMS. Perfect book, for stubborn people like myself. It treats you as an adult, is in no way judgemental of your skills set and explains each sub topic expertly. Well done, and well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.