Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The NICU Rollercoaster: How to Set Up and Use an Online Blog to Help Survive the Ups, Downs, Agonies, and Joys of Your Baby's Stay
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 5, 2008
This book is written by the parents of twins born at 25 weeks. It is a compilation of their blog on CarePages and useful information on what the babies and parents can expect to encounter during their NICU stay. Nicole and Ed were surprised when their generally healthy pregnancy turned into an emergency situation at 25 weeks gestation. They were not prepared for what was to follow - having 25 week twins in the NICU - one for 104 days and the other for 160 days. Their book is their story, but it is also a guide for other parents on what to expect - from apnea and bradycardia, to NEC and jaundice, and to the emotional ups and downs of having discharge dates set and then quickly taken away. Nicole and Ed write openly and frankly about the emotional and physical tolls of caring for babies born so prematurely. This book is written in simple everyday terms to help parents learn the NICU "lingo". I have worked with former preemies and worked in the NICU setting so I have a fair bit of knowledge about what happens there. This book not only explained common preemie issues in a coherent and competent manner, it also gave a parents perspective and helped me to understand the NICU environment more fully. In my opinion, this is a book that would not only benefit the family members of children currently in the NICU, but also parents of former preemies to know that there are others going through the same thing, as well as health care providers and community members who care for preemies throughout their childhood.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2008
"The Nicu Rollercoaster" is a book describing the journey of a pair of preterm (GA=25weeks) twins - Julia and Ronan- from birth till discharge. The title sums up the whole book - be prepared to immerse yourself in the exhilarating and sometimes agonizing experiences of the parents - Nicole and Ed -and the twins ; the ups and downs of their twins' course in the NICU is detailed in a chronological manner. Though written by non-medical people and primarily aimed at other parents with babies in NICU, it is a good read for NICU personnel also as it gives an insight into the minds of the parents of the babies that we treat.

The book written in the style of a diary starts off with the circumstances surrounding the birth of the twins and then details in a chronological manner the various events which happen during the course of the twins in the NICU. The book is written in the first person narrative style and brings us close to the lives of the authors and for a short period we enter the minds of these parents - feeling happy when they do, feeling sad, hoping, and praying. Other than sharing their experiences the authors also have included a wealth of information which may be helpful to parents with babies in the nicu. These include issues like managing the finances, leave of absence from work, and home care of the discharged nicu graduate.

The book is written in layman language and is easy to comprehend. This engaging book is a must read for parents with babies in NICU. This enriching and enlightening tale of endurance of the twins and their parents is a great source of strength and solace.

******

This review is written by Dr Habib Alam Raza, for the 99nicu community ([...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2009
The NICU Rollercoaster is a story written by parents of 25 week old twin preemies. It is a collection of blogs written not only by the parents, but also the people who left inspirational and encouraging comments. It chronicles the lives of the twins and their parents from July 2006 until February 2007. I found the book to be both educational as well as inspirational, a true heart felt story of love, worry, fear, and hope. I would recommend this book for parents that have children in the NICU and also for friends and family of anyone who has given birth to a preemie. I believe that book is a great source of hope for families that have children in the NICU whose futures may be unclear. I personally could not put the book down, even as my eye-lids were closing on me. It is very "user friendly" and Nicole takes her time explaining medical terms that the common person may not know. The book certainly makes me have an appreciation for life and my "typical" birth and the months that followed. I cannot believe all that these children have endured in their short little lives and also how far they both have come. They are truly miracles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2008
When you are in the midst of life in a NICU, you take for granted that you'll have the support of family and friends. What you forget is that their lives continue elsewhere and yours continues in the NICU. Keeping them up to date on the goings on, the events and the reality keeps them involved and in turn gives YOU the support you need.

This book is written by exactly the right people, those that lived the life of months in a NICU -- and have the blog entries to prove it. They teach you, through their own experience, just how to keep that connection going with the outside support system -- friends and family and how to personally benefit from that.

If you've never blogged before, this is the book for you. If you've blogged all your life, this will reinforce your efforts and encourage you. It will show you how helpful it can be and how to use it to your advantage during your stay.

The best part is that its real ... real life ... real success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2008
This book is an inspiration to all parents!! I have seen 3 different sets of friends with twins deliver extremely early and all seem to share similar medical experiences and feelings of isolation. It's truly remarkable to see a parent take this difficult time and turn it into something positive and helpful to others in need. This book is a must read, especially for parents going through the dilemma of premature birth. It's one of those things that very few people talk about but alot of people experience so clearly a book like this is absolutely necessary. Even though I have not personally gone through the NICU experience, it has helped me understand the medical ramifications, which in turn helped me to be a better friend and support system to the people in my life who needed me. I didn't have to ask for reclarification on all the medical jargon having had this road map. It's a terrific resource!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2008
This is a great book for anyone who is in contact with premature babies or their parents/caretakers. It not only highlights the various problems encountered with micro-preemies, it also provides a method by which the caretakers can survive the impending dramas to come. After all, the preemies are generally cared for by hospital staff, but the parents are left hanging and the term "rollercoaster" is definitely appropriate. This book shares the stories of two preemies and the parent's survival of this rough period and can give anyone that wants to help a sense of what they are going through.

I highly recommend this book as required reading for parents/grandparents/friends of preemies and also for medical staff and professionals that often deal with this type of medical situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2008
"The NICU Rollercoaster," it sounds like an odd combination of words, it sounds wrong. This book is the story of Julia and Ronan, twins born at 25-weeks gestation, and their terrifying ride on the NICU rollercoaster. Written by their parents, in a daily blog form, it tells the story from their premature birth, through their long NICU stay, and then follows them through the first few months at home. It's a practical guide to what to expect, what can go wrong, and how to cope. It's a story that's lovingly told, with clear (layman) explanations of all the medical issues that confront the family. Anyone who has given birth to a preemie, or knows someone who has, needs to read this book.

Gilda
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2008
This book tells the story of a couple and their struggle with extremely premature twins. Whenever you are going through a tough time it is always reassuring to know someone else has survived it and this book can give comfort and insight to others facing the same tough decisions.

I have some close friends that endured this type of situation and wish I had had this book to give them. It explains things in normal words so the non-medical person can understand. This book can prepare a couple as well as their extended family for what to expect and ways to cope. The best way to deal with something like this is to understand it, accept it and address it. This book helps do all three things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2008
This book has been very helpful as part of the family library in our NICU. It tells the heart-felt story of NICU parents and their premature twins as they go through their NICU experience. It is an easy read as we share in their day-to-day experiences with having twins early and with the medical problems they continue to face. It is written in terms that any new parent could understand as they travel along the road of "NICU lingo" during their hospitalization. I would recommend this book not only to current NICU families, but to staff and former NICU parents as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2009
Written in a diary format this book takes you through the preemie 'ride'; what's happening with the babies and equally important, the parents. Nicole and Ed's book opens a window into a world that is unfortunately all too real for some parents. They provide helpful advice how to deal with the issues that can be encountered as the parent and how others can help them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.