Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$41.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 31, 2012
You don't have to be a nurse to enjoy reading this book. Anyone who knows a nurse, has been cared for by a nurse, or is a nurse will love these nurses telling their stories of why they do what they do. I laughed and cried and wanted to read more. I am a nurse and have read many books and seen many tv shows and movies portraying nurses in many ways. This book finally captures the nurse as who they are and what they do everyday. It's just an uplifting and validating read. I can't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2012
The American Nurse is a special portrayal of the Nursing profession in America. The photographs and stories give a unique perspective of the varying roles of Nurses across the country. Their stories are heart warming and the photographs are beautiful. The book is a great gift whether you are a nurse or not. It's a must have!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
I saw an article about this book in USA Today and ordered it for my wife for Christmas. It is a wonderful commemorative because it honors my wife's career and her profession. She is now retired. During her nursing career, she was a Navy Nurse, a teacher of nursing at a university, a psychiatric nurse, a head nurse on an orthopedic ward and on a post-partum OBGYN ward. She was a float nurse, taking calls for nursing care anywhere in a large metropolitan area. She ran a pain control program. She was a hospice nurse, and ran a hospice program. She worked all shifts. She cared for the rich and famous as well as the poor and forgotten. If you think she flitted around, she did, because she followed me all over the world as I pursued a military career. Her nursing was rich in loving care, human experience, and sacrifice. Except for the details, you can read about her career and her experiences in 'The American Nurse'.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2012
This book will leap from the coffee table into your heart! Compelling and poetic, the stories within captivate and transport you to the communities these nurses support. Jones' artful Hasselblad portraits add amazing depth to the narrative, in a way digital photography cannot begin to capture. All in all, an inspiring addition to any library.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
Fantastic book..... If you are a nurse, nursing student... Or know someone who is... This book is amazing.. Awe inspiring.. And will bring a tear to your eye. It's a must have for all nurses, or those aspiring to join the ranks :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
The perfect gift for my daughter who at age 53 just graduated with an Associate Degree in Nursing. She found this a comprehensive look at the world she has been part of for the last two years and a wider look at those who provide health care in many places.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
I bought this as a Christmas gift for a good friend. We are both nurses-I'm retired now, she is teaching. It's wonderful to see that although a nurses roles have changed and expanded over the years, the vocation and dedication remains the same. Although large (and heavy) this is no ordinary cocktail table book. I must admit I read it cover to cover before sending it off! A must read for every nurse!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
I purchased this book as a gift to my clinical rotation instructor at the end of my final semester in nursing school. She absolutely loved this book and I was impressed with the quality of the pages and photos. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is or knows a nurse.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Every story and image in this wonderful book highlights the contributions professional nurses make every day. It renews the pride and is at the same time humbling to be in a profession that partners and cares for those entrusted to us. Thank-you for this heartfelt and deeply moving tribute to such an honorable group of healthcare professionals.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Wife/mother of our 8 children was and is this kind person/nurse. May there be more honors like this and attention to the 'trenches' to balance entrenched, entitled patriarchy in health care and other organizations.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.