Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: A Hostage & The Meaning of Life
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
5 star
94%
4 star
0%
3 star
6%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 5, 2006
First, I must commend Brazil on their album title, which notes that they try to put no less than the meaning of life in this album. Ingenious, and very true to the band: progressive, experimental, whatever you want to call them, they definitely push the borders of music classification, and do it in style. I've seen this album & band classified as many different things, but any true music fan knows the futility of categorization when it comes to great bands. Brazil is simply a band very good at fleshing out their songs in a way that gives "Hostage" a coherency most bands lack their entire careers. And this is their first album, people! Expect big things from Brazil.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2005
This is quite a step up from their Ep; don't get me wrong, I still love Dasein. I guess this can be best described as alt, indie, prog,
art rock and maybe a little post-punk/hardcore. The production is a lot better, and the songs arrangements are a lot more complex, and thoughtful. Newby's lyrical content sometimes, borderlines with Mars Volta/At the Drive in's Cedric Bixler (meaning very ambiguous). Brazil along with bands like Dredg, Circa Survive, and The Fall of Troy, are doing a lot of good for indie music, and shouldn't be under appreciated.

If you like/dislike the review let me know
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2004
The first non EP release by Brazil is an amazing one. Fluid and distorted guitar rifts, finger tapping rhythms, groovy base, normal and falsetto vocals. With these mentioned you might be thinking of bands like Coheed and Cambria and Mars Volta, however Brazil adds some of their own progressive emo flair with their unique piano addition, along with some other twists...can you say saxophone.
1) A Hostage: solid start to the album, good lyrics -"your lips are dripped with poison, the feeling will last forever", some cool distorted vocals, cool guitar, a good kickoff to "Hostage"
2) The Novemberist: starts off on a slower side, but builds towards the end, I like the cool, spacey guitar in this song.
3) IO: one of the songs I saw Brazil preform live. It was pretty amazing the vocalist actually got off stage and sang form the crowd for a little while, really cool song, cool little plugging piano on this song during the chorus.
4) Escape: Interesting lyrics during this song , and one of my favourite chorus' on the album, really cool bridge part with strong rhythm, and high pitched guitar turned distorted followed by piano.
5) We: Unconventional lyrical structure where all lyrics are sung by the end of the first conventional verse followed by amazing piano and guitar, and another run through the chorus
6) The Iconoclast: My second favourite song on the album, an amazing chorus with great guitar and lyrics, really cool piano parts, great bass and guitar near the end.
7) Zentropa: good guitar and bass on opening and one of the best guitar riffs on the album, I like the falsetto vocals (not Claudio high mind you) a really cool chorus
8) Fall Into: stellar base intro, accompanied with piano for the first chorus, kind of a groove song to start definitely one of the slowest songs on the album, which is great thing trust me, once it gets midway you'll agree too.
9) Metropol: My favourite song on the album, you have to hear it to believe it, quick vocals to start the verses, everything is tightly wound to perfection on this track; vocals, bass, guitar, piano, drums and wait till the 2 minute 30 second mark, if this doesn't impress you maybe you shouldn't be listening to progressive emo.
10) Aventine: the grooviest chorus on the album sweet piano with a real plugging along feel, I love the combination of lyrics and piano all throughout this song. Really cool breakdown "watch me, turn things around"
11) Form and Function (or for the Greek out there ÖïñÌá Í ÖãÇÊÉéÍR): fully instrumental song cool and funky flows seamlessly into the final track...
12) Fatale and Futique: Really cool base lines song retains the same structure as Form and function until the Amazing final verse of the album.
If your into Progressive emo, or even if you aren't... I suggest you go to [...] where you can preview the entire album. And if brazil play in your town go and check them out because you won't be disappointed by either.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2004
The first non EP release by Brazil is an amazing one. Fluid and distorted guitar rifts, finger tapping rhythms, groovy base, normal and falsetto vocals. With these mentioned you might be thinking of bands like Coheed and Cambria and Mars Volta, however Brazil adds some of their own progressive emo flair with their unique piano addition, along with some other twists...can you say saxophone.
1) A Hostage: solid start to the album, good lyrics -"your lips are dripped with poison, the feeling will last forever", some cool distorted vocals, cool guitar, a good kickoff to "Hostage"
2) The Novemberist: starts off on a slower side, but builds towards the end, I like the cool, spacey guitar in this song.
3) IO: one of the songs I saw Brazil preform live. It was pretty amazing the vocalist actually got off stage and sang form the crowd for a little while, really cool song, cool little plugging piano on this song during the chorus.
4) Escape: Interesting lyrics during this song , and one of my favourite chorus' on the album, really cool bridge part with strong rhythm, and high pitched guitar turned distorted followed by piano.
5) We: Unconventional lyrical structure where all lyrics are sung by the end of the first conventional verse followed by amazing piano and guitar, and another run through the chorus
6) The Iconoclast: My second favourite song on the album, an amazing chorus with great guitar and lyrics, really cool piano parts, great bass and guitar near the end.
7) Zentropa: good guitar and bass on opening and one of the best guitar riffs on the album, I like the falsetto vocals (not Claudio high mind you) a really cool chorus
8) Fall Into: stellar base intro, accompanied with piano for the first chorus, kind of a groove song to start definitely one of the slowest songs on the album, which is great thing trust me, once it gets midway you'll agree too.
9) Metropol: My favourite song on the album, you have to hear it to believe it, quick vocals to start the verses, everything is tightly wound to perfection on this track; vocals, bass, guitar, piano, drums and wait till the 2 minute 30 second mark, if this doesn't impress you maybe you shouldn't be listening to progressive emo.
10) Aventine: the grooviest chorus on the album sweet piano with a real plugging along feel, I love the combination of lyrics and piano all throughout this song. Really cool breakdown "watch me, turn things around"
11) Form and Function (or for the Greek out there ÖïñÌá Í ÖãÇÊÉéÍR): fully instrumental song cool and funky flows seamlessly into the final track...
12) Fatale and Futique: Really cool base lines song retains the same structure as Form and function until the Amazing final verse of the album.
If your into Progressive emo, or even if you aren't... I suggest you go to [...] where you can preview the entire album. And if brazil play in your town go and check them out because you won't be disappointed by either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2004
This CD is the one of the most original cds of the year so far. You'd never think keyboards and saxaphones with electric guitars would sounds amazing but somehow they pulled it off beautifully. I think everyone needs to check out this CD!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2004
it's still pretty good!
the vocals do sound very Cedric Bixler-ish but they're used on lyrics that aren't typical of atd-i or Mars Volta.
this album does fit well in between at the drive in and the Mars Volta, but it's got a bit more of an emo-ish sound to it for some of the songs. it generally progresses fairly well... the beginning tends to be more "punk" dominated... then it kind of moves into a more experimental realm.
this is a pretty good band - the album covers a range of sounds, styles, and instruments (a saxophone? it works, in a chaotic and aleatory kind of way!) the experimentalism doesn't go to the same levels as the Mars Volta, so DO NOT listen to this album expecting that!
although! I DO suggest that you do listen to this album if you are an at the drive in fan! <3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2004
Brazil is an amazing band. As was mentioned, don't expect the Mars Volta; they aren't quite so abstract. However, they certainly have a unique sound, involving keys and even a saxophone here and there. the lyrics are poignant and just make me smile in appreciation of the poetic quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2004
The front of the disc said that Brazil's CD is a mixture of Yes and Sunny Day Real Estate. In reality, it's more of a mixture of 80's Rush and Green Day. The band references the former in their spare use of odd time signatures and bad keyboards, and the latter in their lack of virtuousity and the singer's voice.

This is by no means a BAD album, but it's nothing that special either. If you're looking for some new prog you won't find it here. Check out Coheed and Cambria instead, they're far superior in just about every aspect from songwriting to instrumentation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2004
A Hostage & the Meaning of Life is creative genius.

Difficult to define, with elements of rock, jazz, and

classical blended for a uniqely sophistocated CD. Brazil

is no longer what's next...it's what's now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2004
I don't see how they can compare these guys to The Mars Volta or Coheed and Cambria. I can hear the prog elements but it's more of a Rush kind of prog rock,shorter 3 minute songs compared to 12 minute epics. They are missing the one thing that would make them a true prog rock band: the songs just aren't as epic as a TMV or a C&C song. I think reviewers liken Brazil to these other bands because their singer has a high pitched singing voice. This is still an amazing album that is well worth your time. Go into it expecting Sparta rather than The Mars Volta and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.