Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Price:$499.99+ $12.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 12, 2004
Wow! This is a new Fisher Price toy that I hadn't heard of before - but knew I had to have it when I saw it. My daughter loves to crawl in and out of things, so I thought this would be a great floor level toy that might keep her interest. This was purchased for her first birthday and I think we are still discovering new buttons and such! There are so many activities and interesting things on this toy that I think the price was a real bargain! The house numbers, the rain gutter, the radio, the clock, the window, the mailbox, etc, etc! There are sounds for nearly every activity, and even the sounds can be changed depending upon what setting the radio is on. My daughters current favorite place in the "house" is the mail box. She loves putting the mail in and out of it. She gets very excited and just chatters away at this toy - crawling in and out of the door and listening as it "creaks" open and then "slams" shut. The toy overall seems to focus mostly on the concept of opposites (night/day, up/down, open/close, etc) and numbers.
There are two volume settings - the lower one being just loud enough for her to hear it while she is playing (thank you Fisher Price!) and the other much louder. On the lower setting, I cannot hear it unless I am sitting at the toy with her.
I just can't say enough about all the activites - I expect that this will be a toy she can play with for a long time without getting bored of it!
44 comments| 253 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2006
A great toy - just bought it for my daughter but don't buy it here!
review image review image
44 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2004
I bought this for my daughter on her first birthday and she absolutely LOVES it! I also bought the bird bath to go with it and am currently looking for the telephone that goes with it also. It's great to see a toy today where you can add accessories to it that enhance to their learning experience. She will literally play with this toy for hours. There are SO MANY activities that keep her busy and she rarely gets bored. There is always something new to discover. And by the time she's finished with one side, she finds out there is a whole other side with things to do. I got tired of spending alot of money on big toys that didn't do very much. It is worth every penny. I highly recommend this toy.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2004
I bought this toy for my 12 month old. It was simple to assemble and only took about 10 minutes. Once the toy was turned on, it almost seemed to do too much. Sometimes my kids would rather keep it turned off and play. The songs are cute but can get a little annoying after a while. The sound effects are great! Especially the opening and closing of the door which works perfectly with the door movements. That impressed me most. Although my baby can walk, she loves to crawl back and fourth through the door over and over. I think she feels in control when she can shut the door on her sister. And there's no way to pinch fingers in this door! I think it would have been nice if the clock could actually give the correct time as the hands are moved. It just makes ticking noises. However, the house numbers on the opposite side do tell the correct numbers when they are turned. This is a neat feature and can reassure my 2 1/2 year old when she names her numbers. My 7 year old announced that we were missing the phone. I questioned it and she showed me an empty spot where the phone goes. This has to be bought separately. Also, there is a spot for the Laugh & Learn dog to sit next to the dog dish. She also informed me that the dog needed to be bought too for the toy to have it's maximum value of fun. I wish that the key was attached to the door like in the picture on the box, but mine wasn't. (Another thing my 7 year old pointed out!) I'm also afraid the colored shapes will get misplaced too. This toy is action-packed with lots of activities so it will hold a child's attention for quite a while. I do think this toy is slighty overpriced but overall, the toy has more positives than negatives and will provide a lot of fun-filled memories.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2004
I wanted to get my little one a toy that could help her pull up and stand. Her first birthday is just a few days away. So a month ago we all went out to Toys R Us to see what she would like. I was alittle upset because there were many toys that I wanted to get her. But I knew they would fall once she tried to use them to stand. My little girl also only likes toys that make music or talk. I found many little toys to get her. BUT I wanted one that she could pull herself up and that she could walk around the toy. I saw this house and after looking at the picture on the box I pulled it off the shelf. After reading about the toy, I wanted it. It was just what I was looking for. We put it back on the shelf and put it on the birthday list. The next weekend I couldnt wait. It was so perfect I needed to get it. I went to two different Toys R Us's. Both were sold out. This is the hotest toy out there right now. I found it at a Babies R Us. I got it home and rolled my eyes. SCREWS... I thought that meant it was going to be hard to put together. Not true though. It took me about a half hour to put together. MY little girl loves it. My 8 year old son likes it as well. It is worth the money. There is so much to do and hear in this toy. I have noticed that my little one twice got her wrist stuck between the house and door. This didnt hurt her. She cried because she could move her arm. She has now learned how to push the door when this happens and doesnt cry. There is plenty of space between the door and house so that it doesnt hurt. This is a great well thought out toy. A must for all.
0Comment| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2011
We purchased this toy for my daughter for Christmas when she was 6 months old. At the time I thought it was a little pricey but I bought it anyway. It has been the best toy we have ever bought for either of out two children. My son who is 3 also plays with it using some of the more educational features. My daughter has played with it almost everyday for the last 6 months. It does take up more space than some other toys but she loves it so it is worth it!! A must buy for any household!! You won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2011
My husband and I bought this for my daughter for the holidays and she still plays with it every day (7 months later). There are so many features that keep her entertained and you can change the learning style. The music is not annoying (a big plus!) and she loves to carry the letters around, play with the mailbox, light, doorbell, place the balls down the shoot, and now she is putting the shapes in the door. Great toy!
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2004
Let me just say that this is one of the best toys we have bought and not a surprise that is a success from Fisher-Price.

I received an ad with the Laugh & Learn Learning Home and I decided I wanted to buy it as soon as my son learned to crawl. Luckily we didn't wait that long. I think this toy is fine as early as a baby that is sitting up well on their own.

The night we bought it we came home and started putting it together. My son was sitting next to us with toys to play with. But once this toy started taking shape we had to fight him off just to finish. It was not hard to put together - I think one person could do it easily.

The toy has two sides. One represents the outside of the house with a mailbox that opens, a flower that spins, a dial on the ground with bugs and flowers on it, house numbers that rotate, a doorbell that works and a ball drop. The inside of the house has a radio that plays, a "phonebook" that flips pages, a working light switch and a clock. From both sides you can access the sun/moon dial, the swinging door and the window. So much to do! And each thing has sounds, songs and voices.

If you flip the radio to the voice then it responds with each thing the child plays with. Example: flip the light switch on and the voice says "lights on." The light actually turn on! If you put the radio on music then it responds to each thing with an appropriate song like the counting song when you turn the hands of the clock. Plus, if the child pushes the buttons on the radio they get radio settings like a weather or traffic report.

The entire toy runs on three "C" batteries. We have had this a few weeks now and with all the noises and songs and play it gets the batteries are holding up fine.

It is light and mobile. It has a handle on top so it is easy to move from room to room. We move it actually to get it out of site as it gets closer to his bedtime. Otherwise he would just keep playing with it.

I think this toy will last a while. Right now he sits and plays with it and crawls through the door to get to his father and then to get to me. But as he gets older and starts imaginary play I am sure that this will get even more use. It is about 30" tall (guess). He can hold himself up and he likes to sway with the music.

I can find little wrong with the toy. I have read before that someone thought toys should make a predictable sound when a child presses something. If you are in that school of thought then this would be a con for this toy. Each setting (voice and music) has at least two responses to each action the child makes (opening the door, turning the number dial, etc.) Also, there is a "seat" on the base that is too small for a child's behind but seems to have little other use. It would have been a good place for just one more toy because at this point it has not visual or action use.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2004
Like many of the other parents I was worried about buying this toy for my 1 year old, considering that it's usually the cheapest and most simple things that seem to keep her occupied and happy for hours...Why buy a big expensive toy that may or may not be fun for her? I took the advice of those of you who shared your reviews and got it for her first B-day. This toy is the BEST!!! Thank you!!!

She loves it and I love it! I am very impressed with the quality! The sounds and music are wonderful! There is so much to do and to learn. She loves to play with it on her own, and it's a great toy to play with your child as well. Some of the things we do together is I will put the mail in the mail box and say "You've got mail" She gets excited and opens the mail box with a big SMILE and brings it over to me to read. Every time I make up a new story, she loves it! We practice putting the shapes in the door and in the right spots at the top of the house. She loves to crawl through the door way and play peek-a-boo by opening and closing the door. I am running out of room for this review so I will just say that everything about this toy is GREAT!!! (...)
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2012
This has got to be the best toy we've purchased for our son so far! It was an early first birthday present, and he is just ecstatic about it! My reasoning for going with this toy versus others is the door. My son loves to crawl around my house and swing back and forth any door; cabinet, big door, doors on furniture, or anything that seems like a door. I've had one friend of mine whose son did the same thing, and she said he loved this toy as well, so we gave it a shot, and oh wow, this thing entertains him for hours! Basically, everything your child touches on this thing makes a sound. You can put it on music mode to where songs are played, including the ABC song, or you can put it on learning mode, which I find a little more practical and the noises dont last as long for mom and dad's sanity. This toy is vibrantly colored, and has so many little details to capture your child's attention, including a doorbell, light switch for the porch and inside lights, ball drop detail, spinning flower, opening/closing window, mail box with mail pieces, address numbers that can be changed, a radio inside that plays a couple songs, and it comes with little shape pieces that fit in several different places all over this toy. The opening/closing door makes sounds as it opens and closes, and comes with a key your child can turn. Basically, when looking at this thing, it is two-sided: one side is the "front" of your child's partial play house, and the other side is the inside of the home. We like to put this toy at the entrance of his room and let him "pretend" his room is his house and we will actually get silly enough to ring his doorbell, let him open the door, and then we ourselves crawl through the door. FYI, the opening is honestly not very big, so that is an interesting site I'm sure, but it makes playtime with our boy pretty fun. My husband complained that this thing was a pain in the butt to put together, but I find that a small price to pay for something our son enjoys so much. Shop around for prices tho (FYI) : ].
I'd also like to add for the longevity of this thing that the friend of mine who purchased this for her son is now using it for baby #2. Her son played with this from 6 months to 3 years, and now her 2 year old little girl is still having a blast with this thing and it looks great!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.