Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars8
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 25, 2013
Like the Spacemen well enough but this one never leaves cruise control. 1st live track is a monotonous mantra (actually 4 or 5 different notes, to be fair), explored rather thoroughly in its contours, and punctuated by brief PA statements every 15 minutes. Doesn't even succeed as background noise--though almost perfect as a piece of intentionally forgettable music. The other compositions/variations are prettier and mercifully shorter, and still not stand-outs in their catalog. Strictly for completists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2005
This CD presents a different sort of ambience. The first, 44-min. track consists of a continuous pulsating drone, gradually rising & falling in intensity, with accompanying gentle sitar melodies. The rest of the CD offers a steady (as opposed to pulsating) drone with a high, moog-like accompanyment. There are no vocals. The whole CD presents a mystic vibe--and dares your mind to merge with it...with meditative ecstasy the desired result...if you can dig it. Upon repeated listenings, this music works its way into your brain like a gentle bliss-drill---and that's when true enjoyment kicks in.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2012
Had to post something since nobody else has. This surely isn't for everyone, but if you like these guys, and like deep, DEEP, intense drones, you've gotta check this out. I mean, it's 4 bucks for 78 minutes! Come on! There really aren't any songs to speak of, and it's not even a full band (no bass or drums): just Sonic Boom and Spaceman (and apparently some other random dude) going deep at some art gallery, which adds to the odd mood. I still have no idea how Sonic Boom is making that drone sound, but I often thought about how I could listen to it all day...and that's pretty much what you get here. And Spaceman just picks around on some blues and open string stuff, which makes it sound like Spacemen 3. All I have is the Perfect Prescription, so I haven't heard everything, but it's such an amazing album that made such a big impression on me, and you hear something different every time. So this is a fine addition to my collection...but the 44-minute monster is so crazy that you really have to save it for semi-special occasions. It'll likely drive most people insane.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
The Lp I have was a surprise. I couldn't get the needle to stay on the record, until I realized the grooves! Backwards! I had to start the playing at the end, or should I say the start, near the label. Then the sound that reverberated from those upside-down grooves were, a "DREAM", hardly a weapon but lovely shots of sound shot around my room.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
Just one chord with a tremolo/repeater effect played for like 40 minutes. You can hear some of the melodic guitar runs from 'Playing With Fire' drift in and out over the top of the chord throughout the performance. I think Sonic Boom speaks some inaudible poetry at points as well.

The recording/fidelity is extremely poor, and you can hear a lot of the room because the mic sounds far away.

For this type of artistic statement I would steer someone towards early Brian Eno/Fripp collaborations or some of Eno's ambient albums for a far more interesting experience with experimentation with sound. Roy Lichenstein is another good alternative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2010
These guys are masters of their craft. The non-vocal ambient title-piece drones on exquisitely for the first 45 minutes, then Spacemen 3 launch into some shorter but equally compelling/relaxing compositions. It is deeply satisfying record if you are a lover of ambient and a joy to discover.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2009
This is a desert island record. It is not like their other records. There's no singing or drums. Long trance inducing tunes. It's stunning how beautiful it is.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
Great album from a highly influential group.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.