Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Circulon Elite Nonstick 12" Round Griddle
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Price:$34.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 26, 2007
I am an avid Indian cooking enthusiast. I make Indian crepes regularly and use this griddle pretty often. Over the past six years I have tried both non-stick(expensive ones such as analon and calphalon) and cast iron griddles to make these crepes, but have found issues with both types of griddles. The non-stick wears out pretty fast(because for Indian crepes and bread,you need to use high heat which wears out the griddle when used regularly) and cast-iron requires too much oil. Additionally I am unhappy with the texture of pancakes(both indian and western) in the non-stick pans.
This Circulon griddle gives me the best of both types of griddles and requires no (or very little) oil and I am able to make paper-thin crepes in them with much ease. This to me is quite amazing;I think the even heating provided by the non-stick smooth base helps prolong the life of this pan(I need to use considerably lesser amount of oil and heat to make these crepes compared to other griddles).
In addition I was initially skeptical of the grooves on the griddle in my opinion the grooves make this non-stick griddle work better than any I have used. I highly recommend this product.
66 comments|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2007
I love this griddle, even the thinnest crepes don't stick and cleaning is a breeze!I make a lot of pancakes,French toast, crepes and Indian crepes(dosa), and they all turn out wonderful! The heating is uniform on all kinds of heating surfaces because of the smooth base.
I only wish I had bought it sooner!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2009
I've been using this griddle for almost three months now and am very happy with it. My only regret is using nonstick spray on it once- there is some residue left on the edge which won't come off. Now I just brush it with oil using a silicone brush and make pancakes, crepes, dosas and poodas (Indian savory pancakes and crepes).

After making the first crepe with oil, I can usually make all the rest without any oil whatsoever, as long as I clean the pan with a wet paper towel before spreading the batter. The pan feels heavy in a nice way and looks beautiful hanging from the utensil rack. It is easy to clean using a damp sponge and a little soap. Things to remember to keep your griddle looking good and lasting long would be:

1. Do NOT use nonstick spray on your griddle.
2. Do not leave your griddle on the heat too long without any food on it.
3. Do not use too hot water or corrosive utensils/scrubs on it.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2007
Great buy! I'm glad I read the instruction which said DO NOT use non-stick spray on this pan or other non-stick surface pans as it puts an invisible film on the non-stick surface causing it to no longer work like it's designed to. This pan lives up to it's expectations. Although there are grooves like in the surface my pancakes, eggs etc. didn't stick. It's a nice weight pan and certainly a bargain for the price.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2011
Not only can you not use spray oils such as PAM on this surface - which is pretty normal for nonstick surfaces, I was expecting that - the product information that comes with the pan says you can only use olive oil or peanut oil. They specifically preclude all vegetable oils, saying they will gum up the surface. I know this happens with the spray oils on nonstick surfaces because of the propellants, aerosolizers, and stabilizers used. But I have never before come across a nonstick pan in which you could not use regular vegetable oil.

I suspect this is related to the ridges in the bottom of the pan; however it is an annoyance and something folks should be aware of BEFORE they buy.

EDIT: 9/24/2011

Made Dosa today and they came out very well. The nonstick property of the brand new pan is indeed non-stick - perhaps a little too non-stick as the dosa have a tendency to pull away from the pan rather quickly - this does tend to make it a little more difficult to get them browned properly.

Currently it seems to work best for dosa to rub the surface with the cut part of half an onion between dosa and dribble a small amount of peanut oil around the edges - no oil directly applied to the surface. And that's a SMALL amount of oil (remember, no vegetable oils!). I keep a squirt bottle of the type commonly used for catsup or mustard for each of my oils near the stove, I use that to squirt a small amount of oil around the edges. You only need that small amount for flavor.

I am upgrading the recommendation to 4 stars - I won't give 5 stars until I see how the pan holds up over time.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2008
This is my 6th pan that i have bought in the last 2 years. The 6th pan not because it was not durable or anything wrong with it but i have gifted 5 other pans. But this was the first time i bought one to use it for myself. This is the best pan ever. My wife uses it to make Indian Dosas (crepes) and they come out crunchy and tasty. Very easy to clean and the quality, taste of the food is incomparable. I also have the 14 piece cookware from circulon and they are equally good. I would surely recommend this to anyone who needs tasty dosa/crepe
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2015
One of the best purchased utensil at home. The circles are amazing, everything comes out without sticking, cleaning even after messy cooking is very easy. We make a lot of dosas on it and oil free too. Circles don't bother any way, it just feels like a complete flat pan. One complaint could be that when I put it under cold water while it was still hot it slightly became bulged. If I place it on floor I could notice easily its no more flat, but I tapped on the back with a rubber mallet and its been holding up since then. Since it was my mistake to take it from one extreme temperature to other, not deducting any stars. Moral of the story, don't try to wash it as soon as you are done cooking, leave it to cool down or else you will find it dancing on your stove :). However the quality of the product is really good and recommend purchasing any circulon products. We replace all our pots and pans with Circulon ones now, Macy's has some good deals if you want to check it before buying.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2006
One of my neighbors had this pan and I really liked it. I was glad to find it on Amazon for $20.

Great for pancakes,crepes and eggs! Really heavy bottom and its a big griddle. Would recommend it!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
Glad I trusted the reviews on this! I need to add to my Circulon contempo 10 pc set, but didn't want to add a grill pan, and a griddle, and and and... too much space required to store all that and not the best way to spend money. I grill steaks on here, sauté large amounts of veggies, grill sandwiches, ... you name it, I've probably tried on this pan. 110% satisfied with this brand, the functionality of this particular pan, and the price for which they sell it here on Amazon! Thanks!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2007
I was initially skeptical of the pan's unique surface, the slightly raised circular ridges, and its ability to cleanly release food from the surface using a spatula for foods like fried eggs/pancakes, etc. But really, it works just fine. No problems and it cleans up easily. With its heavy duty construction, it looks like it should hold up well. I would recommend this pan to anyone needing a good, flat, non-stick pan of this size and utility.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.