Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Canon EOS Rebel K2 SLR 35mm Film Camera with EF 28-90mm III USM Lens
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
65
Style: K2 with EF 28-90mm III Lens|Change
Price:$179.99 - $458.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 10, 2004
This is the new version of the EOS Rebel 2000 (they called it "K2" instead of "2K", I suppose in order to avoid giving the impression that the camera is 4 years out of date, which it is not).
It is simply a great camera at a great price. It works as well as any 35mm camera on the market, has a reasonably fast winder, and best of all it takes all of the huge variety of EF Canon lenses. It is actually very light, so you can carry it around without fatigue, or you can bulk it up by adding the extended grip (which gives it a very nice feel).
The zoom lenses are a little slow. I recommend that you get the body only, and start with the 50mm f/2.8 MKII lens, which is a steal at about $70. Together, they make an outstanding, affordable, high-quality package for those of us who still love film more than digital.
33 comments| 222 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2005
I am very pleased with this camera. I especially like the light meter that tells you how many apertures you are away from the correct exposure. I am using this for my photo class and is easy to use.
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2005
The photos are exceptional. It was very easy to learn how to use the features. I have taken some great photos with it, much better than my digital. I have not encountered any problems. I took it on a long (over a month) trip where it was subjected to rough treatment and extreme weather. It came through with flying colors. Rock solid.
0Comment| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2007
I recently purchased this camera when my venerable Nikormat EL-W developed shutter timing issues during my Photo 1 class.

This camera reasonably priced has preformed flawlessly thus far. I have shot multiple rolls of Ilford HP5 plus film through this camera and have yet to have an exposure not come out due to the camera. After reading the manual I was able to easily understand the different modes and how to change the user controlled settings. The on camera flash leaves a little to be desired as it rather harsh and its range is somewhat limited, an accessory flash will overcome this and there are other flashes that will operate with this camera not just Canon.

I have not had the opportunity of shooting color film through this camera yet when I do I will update this review.

The only thing I dislike about this camera is that there is no provision for a remote shutter release. The Rebel K2 with date is the only version of this camera that can use a remote shutter release, why Canon removed this feature from this model is unknown a remote release is very handy when photographing nature or when used with the timer for self portraits.

If you have any plans for infrared photography do not buy a EOS Canon, the Frame counter uses an infrared sensor that will cause fogging on your infrared film
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2006
I bought this a year ago and have taken many great pictures with it. It's light, has many features and can be used as an automatic when all you want to do is point and click. I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2007
I was looking for a film 35mm SLR and found this one on Amazon, I love it, I have the Canon Rebel XT and wanted a Canon SLR. I love how the film automatically advances the film and displays how much film you have left, and the speed of the film. I also like this camera because you can set it to AV/TV/M and play with the apertures, and shutter speed, and if you don't want to use these features you can set it to the basic zones where everything is automatic. I am still getting used to the settings but my pictures so far have developed very nicely.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2009
I bought this camera for a photography class that I took over the summer at my university. While many of the Students bought traditional student models, like the Pentax k1000, I wanted to buy a more updated model. The Canon Rebel EOS K2 went above and beyond by expectations; it was easy to use, had multiple useful features, and produced amazing photographs. The best part about this camera is that a user can not only set an aperture/shutter speed, but select a mode where the camera itself will automatically select the appropriate details - the feature is very useful. Also, the camera has specific automatic modes that are designed for shooting close-ups, landscapes, moving objects, and low-lite subjects, which is very useful for novice-photographers. I was planning on selling it to some friends after I finished the class, but am now considering keeping it for taking more photos for fun.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2007
We went back and forth between a film and digital camera. We decided on the Canon Rebel Date Camera due to the quickness of the shutter since we have small children. I did not want the delay a digital camera has and did not have the money to spend for a quick shutter digital camera. Our pictures come out crystal clear and we get all kinds of rave reviews on the pictures we do take with our camera. This is the 2nd camera that we have bought that is Canon and have nothing but good things to say about them. I do wish they came with a camera bag - but we can buy that separately.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
One of the best values on the internet. I needed a film camera for my beginning photography class and this one more than satisfied my expectation. Not only was it compatible with all my Canon lenses, but it also comes with a pop up flash and a hot shoe so I can mount my Canon 600 EX RT if needed.

The controls are also similar to my 5D MK III, so the learning curve was completely intuitive. Auto loading was an unexpected bonus. One big negative was the odd CR2 battery which you can't find in any convenience store -- although it does last a long time.

Pros: auto loading, popup flash, hot shoe, compatible with Canon lenses and accessories.

Cons: no night light, odd battery, no auto off
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
I bought this camera used, and tried several rolls of color film and was quite pleased with the results. Several reviews I read puts it second best to the Canon Rebel 2000 which I also own. While the two cameras are quite similar the batteries for the K2 are much cheaper than what I could find for the 2000. I like the fact that Canon EOS full frame lenses also work fine on my digital Canon slr cameras, although the digital lenses with the white dots do not work on the film cameras. I like film photos for their dynamic range which is better than my digital cameras. I will probably keep shooting both film and digital until they stop making film, as has happened for some film cameras in my collection. While mine came with the instruction manual, you can get a pdf of the manual on Butkus dot org.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 34 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.