Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 2008
This is the only Kindle Bible I have found (including free Bibles from non Amazon sources) which has a full table of contents. Each Book is easily accessed from the TOC and there is a clickable numeric list of chapters in each book when you open it.

I don't understand how T.Heyn could have misread this. Maybe he had an earlier Kindle version which has since been updated.

I can find John 3:16 or any other verse in this Bible in just a few seconds. Buy this one and you will not be disappointed.
1212 comments|639 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
NOTE: This review was written for a first generation Kindle. Kindles have changed considerably since then so the following review should be considered in that context.

This review will simply address the mechanics of this version of the Holy Bible in regards to the Kindle. I will refrain from any comments regarding the nature of the translation, leaving that for those far more learned than myself.

I have downloaded several versions of the Holy Bible and I am pretty pleased with this one. The Table of Contents is easy to access. The individual books listed are centered and run down the middle of the page. After selecting a book, you are taken to that book with the first line(s) being a list of selectable chapters followed by the beginning of the text of that book. You can start to read or you can select a line of chapters which will take you to a sub-menu which allows you to select the specific chapter you want.

The main problem I had with this set-up is the centering of the text sometimes made it difficult to select a specific book without occasionally hitting the one on top or bottom and having to go back and try again. Also, the Chapter list sub-menu seems to be an annoying additional step.

The best "Kindle" set-up I've found so far is the Holy Bible: New American Standard Bible (NASB) (Kindle Edition) by The Lockman Foundation. The TOC is set up with a right justification so the text is right next to the cursor. Once you select a book, you are taken to a right justified chapter list. Selecting a chapter takes you right to the text, avoiding the sub-menu step. This, for me, has proven to be the most efficient style of navigation for Bible Study and reading.

I will continue my collection of Kindle Bible versions, but I'm not going to waste any more money on versions which are not optimized for the Kindle with right justification of selectable lists.
99 comments|574 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2011
In March 2011, the copyright owners of the most popular modern translation of the Bible in English, the New International Version (NIV), published the first revision of the NIV since 1984.
As a pastor who did not like the over-reaching political correctness of the Today's New International Version (TNIV, copyright 2002), I was concerned when I heard that the NIV itself was going to be revised. But after studying the digital early release version in numerous passages, I have been pleased that it is more accurate, but disappointed that while the use of gender-neutral language does not go as far as the TNIV, it still goes too far.
The new NIV retains 95% of the words of the 1984 edition, but where there are changes, it communicates the original meaning better to modern readers and more accurately than before.
Let me address several issues: gender-neutral language, omission of words, and accuracy of translation.
First, the most controversial issue of the TNIV (the earlier failed attempt to revise the NIV) was its gender-neutral language. The Southern Baptist Convention passed a resolution in June 2011 saying they "cannot commend" the 2011 NIV. Why is that? The 2011 NIV does not go as far as the TNIV. In Hebrews 12, where scripture speaks of God disciplining us like a father, the TNIV changed "father" to "parent." This implied that God was a gender-neutral "parent" rather than our "heavenly Father." I'm glad to report that the new NIV has "father," just as the 1984 edition had. However, the new NIV, like the TNIV, does use gender-neutral "brothers and sisters" when the context clearly means all believers. Since modern English speakers use both genders, "brothers and sisters," when addressing all believers, not just the masculine "brothers," it makes sense that the Bible they are reading do the same. However, this may not be acceptable to all readers, particularly in passages like Psalm 1, where the masculine pronoun is often associated with a reference to manhood. In the 1984 NIV, Psalm 1 says, "Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked... He is like a tree planted by streams of water..." but the 2011 NIV renders it, "Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked...That person is like a tree planted by steams of water..."
The 2011 NIV changes "fathers" to "parents" in Malachi 4:6, although the Hebrew word is ab, fathers. Also, Ezekiel 22:30, the famous "stand in the gap" passage used by Promise Keepers to challenge men, has been changed from "man" to "someone." A favorite verse of the men's group, Promise Keepers, was Proverbs 27:17, because it said that as iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another. However, the 2011 NIV changes "man" to "person." These kind of changes can be found hundreds of times throughout the Old and New Testaments in the 2011 NIV.
However, the 2011 NIV continues to say "sons" in Romans 8:14 and "sonship" in Romans 8:15 in a discussion of spiritual adoption which refers to the male heir. Thus it does not use gender-neutral language in places where it would impact theology, but it does use gender-neutral language in some places that have traditionally been interpreted as references to manhood. The revised NIV also continues to maintain clear sexual distinctions between the genders in passages like Genesis 1:27, which reads, "So God created mankind in his own image...male and female he created them."
The second translation issue is the omission of words. One of the biggest criticisms of the 1984 NIV was that sometimes words in the Greek text simply were not translated. The most notorious example was the Gospel of Mark, which makes frequent use of the Greek word euthus, "immediately." For some reason, there were many verses in the 1984 NIV that simply ignored this word. But the 2011 NIV is careful to translate it as "immediately" or "as soon" etc. in every place where it is used. I have been doing a verse-by-verse study of Romans in the Greek, and comparing the old and new versions of the NIV, I found that where the old NIV omitted the word "or" at the beginning of Romans 3:29, the new NIV restored the word. And in Romans 4:1, the old NIV omitted the words "according to the flesh," but the new NIV put the phrase back in.
The third translation issue is the accuracy of translation. In an attempt to be easy to read, the NIV has been less precise in translating words and phrases. It's a difficult balance for any translation, but sometimes the 1984 NIV paraphrased the text in places that caused the reader to miss the technical point that the Biblical writer was making. For example, the 1984 NIV translates Romans 3:28, "observing the law." But the 2011 NIV translates it, "works of the law." The Greek phrase is literally, "works of the law."
In Romans chapter 8, Paul uses the word "flesh" as a metaphor for the sinful nature. The 1984 NIV translates it "sinful nature," which gets the idea across, but thereby obscures the deliberate play on words in Romans 8:3 when Paul says that when we were weakened by the flesh, God sent Jesus in the flesh. The 1984 NIV has "sinful nature" in these verses, but the 2011 NIV uses the literal word "flesh."
In Romans 8:4, the 1984 NIV says that Jesus' sacrifice satisfied the "righteous requirements" of the law. However, the Greek word translated "requirements" is singular. The 2011 NIV changes it to the singular "requirement." This might seem a minor distinction, but theologically the singular implies that God covers the entirety of our sin, not just some sins.
In Romans 10:4, the 1984 NIV reads, "Christ is the end of the law..." The Greek word translated "end" is telos, which means completion. Paul does not mean the law will stop, but that it will be fulfilled. Thus the 2011 NIV reads,"Christ is the culmination of the law..."
Another example is Galatians 5:22, where the 1984 NIV lists "patience" among the fruit of the Spirit. The problem is, that there are two Greek words for patience: one word means patience with circumstances, and one word means patience with people. The word used in Galatians 5:22 means patience with people, so the 2011 NIV translates it "forbearance."
The 2011 NIV has improved the accuracy of many passages in the Old Testament, as well. Psalm 93:1 reads in the 1984 NIV, "The world is firmly established; it cannot be moved." This is similar to the KJV, which was misinterpreted centuries ago to mean the universe revolved around the earth. But the Hebrew word means stability, and so the 2011 NIV translates it, "The world is established; firm and secure." Psalm 107 gives four stories of people who have reason to thank the Lord. Thus Psalm 107:2 reads in the 2011 NIV, "Let the redeemed of the Lord tell their story," which is an improvement of the 1984 "Let the redeemed of the Lord say this."
Different readers will have different opinions about the appropriateness of gender-neutral language in the revised NIV. Some will like it, and others will not. Personally, I can understand the change to "brothers and sisters" or "mankind" when the context clearly refers to all people, but when the context is not clearly gender-neutral, the translation should not be gender-neutral. It is unfortunate that this issue may cloud the discussion of this revision, which is otherwise more accurate than before. People who love the NIV and do not object to gender-neutral language should embrace this revision with even more confidence in its accuracy, and people who object to the gender-neutral language will prefer translations such as the Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB) or English Standard Version (ESV).
NOTE ON THE KINDLE EDITION: Navigating to the books of the Bible may seem slow in the Kindle edition, but I have found a faster way than going back to the Table of Contents. If you click on the Menu button and then click on "Search this Book," you can enter the title of the book, followed by the chapter number, and when you hit "find" you can go directly to the beginning of that chapter.
4848 comments|1,193 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2011
The NIV is my favorite version of the Bible. I am not rating the content of the Bible, but the ebook format. I bought this for my Kindle in the hope of quickly navigating to the scriptures in church or Bible study. For this purpose, it is not very good. I have to go back to the Table of Contents each time, trudge down the list of books of the Bible to find the book I'm looking for and then chapter and verse. If I had my regular print Bible with me I'd be at the verse much faster.

If your goal in getting the NIV is for actually reading through it, instead of quickly locating a verse, I would highly recommend this version. It is great for reading, just not great for quick reference. I do wish they would come out with an NIV Bible that showed Book and Chapter at the top or side of each page...
77 comments|308 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2008
I think this is a great Bible for the Kindle. It is almost perfect with maybe just a couple of tweeks. I find it quick and easy to navigate to just about anywhere in the Bible (except for the New Testament, which I'll explain later). Simply go to the Table of Contents, page/scroll to the book of the Bible you are looking for and click on it. This will open up to the first chapter of that book, at the top will be a list of verse numbers, click on the line that has your the verse # you are looking for, then click on the verse # and 'voila' there you have it (sounds more time consuming than it really is). This Bible also has clickable links within the text, sort of like a paper Bible... you'll see a 'half-size' letter next to a word signifying there is a link to follow, simply scroll up to the line containing that character and click on it, it will take you to the supplemental info. Click the 'back' button to go back to where you left off.

Now, on to the New Testament, it works the same way the Old Testament does, but I find it inconvenient because, say you want to look up something in Romans... You have to page through pages and pages in the Table of Contents before you get past all the Old Testament Books before you get to the New Testament. A better work around would be to give you the option of "jumping" to New Testament books via a 'clickable link' at the beginning of the TOC.

Next, I would like more of the Study Bible comments and links added to the Bible.

Other than that, it works great and I'm extremely pleased at out easy it is to use.
22 comments|145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2009
The navigation for this Bible, also indicated by other reviewers, is extremely cumbersome. For example, if you want to go to a specific verse, Isaiah 43:25 for instance, you will have to do the following:

Menu->Table of Contents->The Books of the Old Testament (5 clicks)->Next Page->Isaiah (5 down clicks)->Chapter 43 (12 clicks)->Verse 25 (8 clicks).

Navigating with the 5-way nub is slow to begin with, but having to go through 5 separate pages with more than 20 "clicks" of the nub to get to a single verse is a huge headache. Simply searching for Isaiah 43 doesn't work.

Compare this to the Holy Bible: New American Standard Bible (NASB) (Kindle Edition) where you can just search for Isaiah 43 and you are brought immediately to Isaiah 43 from where you can then "Next Page" to vs. 25.

The one star review is due to the incredibly poor navigation. I would love to see something similar to that which is found in the NASB Kindle or beyond that where you can search for "Isaiah 43:25" and be brought to the verse or even an abbreviated "IS 43:25".
11 comment|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2005
Erin...you have listed several differences between the KJV and the NIV in you review of the NIV Holy Bible. And, in the process, you have attempted to point out alleged inaccuracies of the NIV. I have used the NIV ever since I became a Christian 23 years ago, and I feel God has spoken to me though the NIV just as I am sure He has spoken to you through the KJV. The fact of the matter is, the KJV is a very good version of the Bible. However, it is by far not considered the standard for accurate biblical interpretation by most modern Bible scholars. The mission of the NIV translation board was to present the most accurate version of the Scriptures based on the earliest and most reliable ancient Hebrew and Greek texts. The reason that many of the verses you have cited are omitted from the NIV, is because the earliest and most reliable texts do not contain those verses or the same versions of those verses that the KJV does. The NIV has been the most widely read version of the Bible by evangelical churches world wide since 1983. I am not saying that the KJV is necessarily a poor version, but the NIV is by far a more accurate version for serious bible students. In fact, it is the standard version used by most evangelical bible colleges. I am writing this in the love of Christ and do not wish to start a war of words, I just wanted to give you and the readers of your review some additional insight.

Ron
11 comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2011
The NIV Bible for the Kindle is good reading of course but searching for a particular verse is hard to do. It will lead you to the Old and New Testament ok and to the particular Chapter but not the verses - say if you want to go to Genesis 1:15 it will bring you to Genesis 1 but then you have to go page by page to get to 15 - ugh! Other than that, it's great reading! The TNIV Bible for the Kindle is much better for finding your Chapters and Verses - You can get to exactly what you want by the menus.
33 comments|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2009
This review is not about the book contents but navigation. I almost wonder if something went wrong when I loaded this into my Kindle! I just spent 30 minutes trying to learn to navigate in this Bible. Yikes! It's a mess. Even the search function doesn't take you to say John 3 when you type John 3 into the search box. The whole thing is organized by something called locations. These are numbered 1 to about I don't know 5000. So instead of John 3 you have location 4561 or something. What on earth is the point of those locations? Am I supposed to remember all those huge numbers for my favorite Psalms? And my version does not let me click on a chapter of the Bible and go there. Nothing that simple. You click on a book and get all its chapters--numbers only. You click on a chapter number and get all the verses--just the numbers again. Then, finally, you click on a number and voila at last. But remember, clicking is much more time consuming on a kindle than on a computer. You have to jump jump jump from selection to selection until you arrive at what you want.
The Bible is historically a best selling book. I can't believe that Kindle did such a poor job with this one. I'm feeling a little worried for Kindle.
11 comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 18, 2008
The NIV Study Bible is my favorite so of course I wanted it for my Kindle, otherwise what's the point of having a Kindle? This is not to rate the NIV Bible but the Kindle version. They appeared to be in a hurry. Having transferred a few books and articles myself I can see so many things they could have done to make it better, actually more useful.

The only navagation is the table of contents that lists each of the books. Once you have navigated to a book there is a list of links to each numbered section. That is it.

There are a few footnotes but this is not the study version of course.

If you don't know the Bible you could easily get lost as there is no way to tell where you are. The numbered sections do not stand out - if you see verse 34 then a lower number like 5 you can assume a new section (chapter). Why not take the time to put a heading before each section that shows the book and section number with a link back to the books toc?

There are some formatting errors as well such as Jesus words are in light gray but sometimes they are not gray due to coding mistakes.

I am not sure exactly what they did but even the bottom status bar is confusing because it does not show you where you are in either the whole Bible or Old or New Testament. Yet sometimes it appears to - at least according to the percentage indicated.

But I do have it on my Kindle to read. Which is pretty cool when you think about it.
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.