Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation

Price:$29.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 30, 2008
This is a solid, medium weight stand. It does what it's supposed to do and is better for lights/flashes/etc that are on the medium weight side(or if you have softboxes). Frankly, I prefer my Manfrotto 001B, which is a super-light-weight 6 foot stand, and folds down much smaller. So in the end... as a studio stand, great. As a portable stand, not bad, but you can buy lighter. Build quality is fine and none of the hardware seems cheap. A previous review said this stand was "air cushioned" but it really isn't. It might have that effect in the right conditions but I own some true "air cushioned" stands and this one is not. For the price, you won't complain.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2009
I love these Amazon reviews, and hate to write a negative one.

Bought this model about a year ago, due to low cost and other reviews.. shortly thereafter, the "spring" feature fell apart internally. Then (and now), the top of this spins with the lightest touch (or even if it is mildly unbalanced) - so, the light doesn't stay aimed where it is pointed. Duck tape works to hold the top from spinning - but, really now... it should be much more robust.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2009
This was designed so poorly, it broke after only 4 or 5 shoots.

I took it apart to see if I could fix it, and found they used tape in areas to keep parts together.

Also, it is very easy to tip over.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2009
I got what I paid for, not a sturdy stand at all. I would not recommend this stand to any serious photographers.

Vthomas
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2011
I have four. One has a plastic piece that snapped and it doesn't stay up. Two won't erect all the way and the other one gets stuck and you have to force it up.

I noticed that these are labeled "Educational Photo & Video Lighting Kits" in the Westcott, so that would probably be Westcott's excuse for the crappy quality. But since I now have three broken stands and need to upgrade, I'm reluctant to buy from a company that is willing to sell such low quality equipment.

By the way, I use these stands about once a week indoors.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2008
It's my first light stand. Although we use more expensive stands at work, this one meets my budget. Usual use is indoor/studio lighting but sometimes light outside shoot. Sturdy enough to hold my 43" umbrella and an SB-800. I haven't tried using bigger strobes though. For it's price, it is meeting my needs.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2008
I bought this as a second light stand to hoist my second 430ex flash unit. I already own a bogen 3373 retractable 5-piece light stand, which is pretty light, and fits very well into my backpack. Now this Westcott stand iself is pretty light and the construction seems pretty durable.
However, I was concerned to note that it does not collapse down to the size of the Bogen light stand,which seems a pain in the neck, considering how portable I wanted to be. I may have to end up buying another bag if I need to lug it outdoors.
I know they don't make claims on the product description, but somehow I was not able to get this information either from the reviews, or from the product specifications, online. Nonetheless, the product holds my savage umbrella pretty well, and is definitely a great deal at half the price of the Bogen light stand.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2009
I have had this product for less than two months and it's already broke. The inserts between the lock knobs, and the riser poles are made of soft plastic. After 6 shoots my stand will not hold a Pentax speedlight up.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2010
I got a pair of these when I first started in photography 2 years ago. They have been ok for most of that two year span, but today on a job, after I set up my Canon 580EX II atop of one of them, one of the 4 people I was photographing politely pointed out that the light stand pole had receded into the stand slightly.

I felt like I had gone professionally impotent in front of the entire room.

Apparently, one of the adjustment knobs that locks the extended pole in place, had just stopped being effective. How hard is it to manufacture a reliable screw?

I recently replaced the cheap umbrella adaptors with adaptors from Manfrotto. I'm going to do the same with my two light stands.

Save yourself the embarrassment and buy a good quality stand from the outset.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
I have owned this for a couple of years, and use it when I have to. I liked this when I first bought it as a general purpose stand. I wouldn't use it outdoor with wind as it's very light. Inside it's fine.

I'm not even sure what happened, but when collapsing or expanding, something went wrong internally and it is a feat of strength to perform this basic function that light stands are designed for.

I bought 3 Ravelli ALS 10' stands and I LOVE them. They are more expensive, but they work, and they work well.

I may have gotten a bad egg, but it happened several months after I bought it and there it wasn't dropped or crushed, so I'm not sure what happened.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.