Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now HTL

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on September 9, 2007
This is a very pretty machine. The picture quality is five-star. It comfortably fills that niche between desktop and laptop -- small footprint that I wouldn't take on a plane, but I would take into another room on a whim.

I lost several wires and power connections by switching from an ordinary desktop tower to this piece. Naturally, losing the mouse, keyboard and modem connections tidied things up, but losing the monitor and speaker power and connection cords, too, really untangled a frightening web under my desk.

In spite of remarks from others about the lack of documentation, the included power cord only connects in one place and the Start Up diagram makes it obvious. That Start Up sheet is also clear about the order to proceed during first-time set-up. If you've ever used a computer or NEVER used a computer, this will NOT feel like a rocket science degree will be necessary. Once connected, the Help file will fill in any gap you're suffering.

I was already familiar with Vista Home Premium, so the learning curve was negligible and the authorization was completely painless. And to counter another reviewer's experience, ALL of my Adobe software works just fine.

My mistake and not the fault of the machine -- I uninstalled all of the pre-loaded trial software before installing my own software discs and that created issues -- I shouldn't have unloaded the trial Quicken and tried to install my old Quicken version. Didn't happen. And I screwed up something by unloading the RealPlayer. If you run into trouble, just browse Yahoo or Google and you'll find the answer on someone's forum.

Nice machine. I might get annoyed about the wireless, potentially battery hungry keyboard and mouse at some point, but after hours and hours of use, not so far. And the keyboard is shockingly comfortable -- I didn't believe it would be. (UPDATE: It is months since I made this purchase. I use this computer often, daily. The keyboard has not needed new batteries yet, and I've replaced the mouse batteries only twice. I would say that this is not a battery hungry system after all.)

I enjoy it. This computer costs less than any system I have ever bought (I'm not a gamer) since the 1980s, yet runs better and looks better than any of them. If I run into anything ugly, I'll report back.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2007
I bought this to replace my 6-year old vaio laptop. The desktop looks great, very slim, there is no tower part, the PC is behind the screen, very compact. The screen is bright and crisp. Keyboard and mouse are all wireless. The TV feature is great, you can schedule and organize recordings. Windows Media Center is not too shabby either. Manual is installed in the computer, once you start the PC, you should be able to find it. I didn't experience problem using adobe stuff either, I only have illustrator and dreamweaver though. I guess you will have to use CS3, because of Vista... Overall, it is pretty pricy for a desktop, but it runs well, and if you are a fan of sony screen, you will like this one. I have yet to find major problems, but the back cover is wierd, it took me over 10 minutes to figure out how to open it(use your finger and fingernail) and put it back on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2007
Installation was a breeze. I just pulled out the big "Start Here Diagram" that was in the box and started connecting the different parts. It did take me a second to figure out how to pull off the back panel. I didn't want break my new Vaio. But it came off easy. Like the previous reviewer said, the "Star Here" Diagram is pretty easy to follow with big pictures explaining what's what.

Being wireless is nice. Love the wireless keyboard and mouse. Once the Vaio started up, it found my wireless network and my wireless HP C5180 All in One Printer. I did have to add a wire to the back, because I think the Sony side speakers were kind of weak sounding. So I added my Acoustic Authority Speakers with bass to it via the headphone jack on the side.

This is my first Media Center Edition computer, so hooking up my Time Warner Cable wire and hooking up the included HDTV tuner with antenna was pretty easy. I live on the second floor, so receive most of the available local over the air HDTV stations. The video looks great on this beautiful 19 inch screen. I was a little bummed that Sony is going to offer a larger screen 22 inch screen this October, but this one is big enough for me.

It runs Vista Home Premium pretty much flawless. I had an old Vaio desktop (RB30) with Vista Home on it, but it could not handle multitasking. On this Vaio I can watch TV, work with Adobe Photoshop element 5.0 and be on the internet all at the same time. I did disable some of the startup items (via msconfig) that I didn't need like QuickBooks, Adobe Reader quick launch, Vaio camera utility server & QuickTime. My Vaio starts up 50% faster. Oh and I deleted Norton right away which has been known to slow down a computer. I already had a subscription with Kasperskey. Microsoft announced that Vista Service Pack 1 will be available the first part of 2008 so that should really speed things up.

Overall, I've had my Vaio for a month now and have been very happy with it. It's very quiet also.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2007
This beauty is my pride and joy. It has an large, bright screen thats great for surfing, gaming, or watching DVDs and TV. Thats right - I watch TV on this baby. I also can store all of my music and digital photos. The best part about it - I can throw it in my backpack and take it with me because it sets up really fast.

I have nothing bad to say about the machine itself. Everyday it amazes me with something new! Strangers come by just to get a gander at this stunning peice. Most gapers are quick to criticize, but that's usually a sure sign of jealousy.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2008
I have only had the computer for a month and so far I am pleasantly surprised. No issues except for the lack of instructions for pairing up the remote keyboard and mouse to the computer. Yes, they do have these instructions online but how can you get online without a keyboard and mouse! It was no big deal though, I just called customer service, (fairly quick), and was told there was a switch on the back of the computer that had to be reset and then you had to immediately reset the switch on the keyboard and mouse. Still, it wouldn't kill them to include a booklet. I have already had to replace the batteries in the mouse but the keyboard is still fully charged. It may have been because they come with cheap batteries.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on July 20, 2007
We researched the market for months before deciding on a Sony PC. It was definitely worth the wait. The monitor is sharp and the overall look of the PC is clean and worthy of sitting on my kitchen desk. I am looking forward to many years of use from this computer. Amazon was very easy to buy from and the customer service is excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on January 13, 2008
Was a lenghty decision between the iMac and Sony desktop! Though, I'm incredibly happy I decided on the Sony. Amazon was the best price and free shipping. It arrived only a few days after I ordered. Very, very and very satisfied with the product and Amazon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 16, 2009
I bought this all-in-one computer from Sony after a lot of research to replace my old computer and TV. After overcoming some initial issues with Vista, the system was worked well. Then all of a sudden the monitor display would not come if I recovered the machine from "sleep" mode. I had to manually switch on the monitor. This happened every so often. Then one day the monitor refused to come on at all. All the while the computer was working fine but there was no monitor to see the display.
This is when I called Sony for help. They first mis-diagonized the problem and had someone come out and replace the motherboard (which was totally unnecessary), and the problem remained the same.
I called up sony and they refused to fix the machine after that. They said that after the previous repair they were not going to make an attempt to fix the problem as it would cost more than the original price of the machine and decided to send me the remainder of the value, which is no where near enough to buy a equivalent new computer.
Don't ever go for a Sony Warranty ... it stinks and Sony does not honor up to replaceing the equipment.
Very disappointed Sony User........ Sony does not honor the warranty
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 30, 2008
This product is a piece of trash. My father-in-law bought one for my wife and his 3 other daughters. This computer never worked right from the day we got it. Expensive. It came with virtually no software. Nothing works on it other than e-mail and internet. The tv tuner function worked for about one week and quit. The web cam never worked. Tried multiple times to work with Sony's tech support and they were never able to help solve any of the problems. My son has a masters in computer science and computer engineering. He was unable to get anything to work. He suggested deleting windows and re-installing. Only one problem. They don't give you any disks with the computer, so there is no way to re-install. The other three sister with the same computer all had the same problems. One had the computer keep crashing from day one and was never able to even use it. Overall I have decided I would never buy another Sony product in my life after the nightmare experience with this product!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on February 5, 2008
System or Application Recovery Disks are not provided with this PC. Apple provides them for their computers and the OS works.

What this means is that you are placing you data (your life's work) in the hands of SONY's Recovery software that is hardware dependent. If you change your hardware configuration you must create new one, or else it wipes out all your data. I now have a computer that I can't restore unless I by new OS disks. It makes no sense. If you want a PC you have to pay for the OS twice.

Sony has a habit of not providing Operating Sytems disks. Which is stupid beyond belief. It saves them money, and allows them to force a bunch of useless garbage software down your throat if you are successful in using their Recovery Software.

But you may not be successful. Their "Recovery Center" is your only means of recovery when things turn sour. But, say for example you want a bigger hard drive. Install it and, even if you carefully clone your software from one drive to the other, the Recovery Center WILL NOT WORK. This is unlike installing any other software which is not hardware dependent.

What this means is you will have to purchase the operating system all over again. If you purchase an OEM copy, you will have to install on a bare "empty" drive, and lose all the other software SONY provided. Otherwise you will have to purchase the full version of windows. Factor that cost--an extra $300+ into your purchase decision.

Any other software that SONY provided that you might use like DVD burning software will have to be re-purchased. You can't pick and chose what you want to reinstall off the recovery disk. It is set up so that it is all or nothing, and if it's nothing, as it was in my case, you basically bought SONY hardware, and everything software will have to be replaced and paid for again.

My advice is to buy an iMac. It is the same amount of money and you get a reliable computer. And you won't find yourself furious at SONY when you realize the recovery software was a time-bomb waiting to blow up after your warantee has expired.

I'll never buy another SONY computer. I'm in the market for a laptop. I would not even consider SONY. I'll look at HP and Apple.

I purchased a Mac Pro, and it has worked perfectly. It includes the OS on disk and all the software. I'm very happy with Apple and I'll never switch back. They cost more and Apple has been great with support.

Update. After nearly 8 months Sony sent me back up disks that I did not ask for. I still have a machine I can't use unless I buy a new OS--all this because these disks don't allow a larger hard disk to be installed.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.