Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: XShot 2.0 Camera Extender for Most Cameras XS2379-F
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Pop Ups Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Style: Standard Camera Mount|Change
Price:$18.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Xshot 2.0 competes for the space occupied by Quikpod. Both units merit consideration.

Briefly, the Quikpod Pro comes with a set of tiny tripod legs which convert the unit into a surprisingly useful tabletop tripod. The Quikpod also comes with a useful case and belt clip. It has a mirror like device that permits some attempt at composing your frame. It is a worthwhile unit.

The Xshot, however, has some advantages. First of all, the Xshot will hold a slightly heavier camera, up to 24 ounces as opposed to the Quikpod's 15. More importantly, the Xshot extends to 37", twice the length of the Quikpod. That extra distance has a great impact on how much of the background you capture in the shot, especially with the wide-angle lenses of many recent point 'n shoot cameras. The extra length also makes a big difference with cameras that have the equivalent of a 35mm lens. (The much more expensive Quickpod DSLR will handle cameras up to 8 pounds and extends to 53".)

The Xshot is made of telescoping tubes, which permit you to easily choose the amount of extension you want. The camera mount has a rubberized surface and a thumbwheel for tightening. The head itself has a substantial wing nut for tightening. I had trouble getting the unit absolutely tight, though the slight play left did not allow the camera to flop forward from the position I set it in.

The Xshot collapses to about 9" long. At that length, it lends itself handily to be used as a camera grip in the left hand, with the right being used for zoom and shutter controls. Extended out by one or two sections, the unit can also be used - if you are careful - as a chest pod, which could come in handy for longer exposures. But be careful: the tubing sections collapse easily.

Overall, the Xshot is a nice unit and a strong competitor to the Quickpod Pro. The Quikpod has more features and more secure extending tubes. The Xshot, however, offers longer reach. Both serve the purpose of allowing you to include yourself in your pictures on your terms, rather than trusting to the mercy of strangers.

Jerry
22 comments| 127 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2007
My fiancee and I travel every other month to places far and near. Very often, we find ourselves in front of the Trevi Fountain, Haleakala summit, or Eiffel Tower wondering, "Who should we ask to take our picture?". The XShot makes self picture taking so easy, but be warned, you will attract attention. I can't begin to count how many times I've heard whispers of, "Ask her where she got it" or "That is so cool!" It is so simple to learn, you don't need an instruction manual. It takes great pictures and works with any camera that has the tripod screw insert below. The only drawback I can think of is its inability to take vertical pictures, unless I haven't figured out how to do that yet. I love my XShot and will take it with me on every trip. 5 STARS!
22 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2009
After my QuikPod broke in a week due to cheap plastic parts, I bought this. It is MUCH better. Twice as long. Very sturdy. Great for video too.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2011
During our snowboarding trips, my friends and I often like to shoot video using a GoPro HD Hero. Unfortunately, we couldn't always get a stable shot (super shaky, bad angle, etc.). That's now a problem of the past, as the XShot suits all of my needs and then some. It contracts and expands with ease, and has a solid construction to sustain those brutal falls that tend to happen from time to time (unlike many other models that are made from cheap plastic). I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
44 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2011
I was trying to get into vlogging. I really liked this thing when I pulled it from its packaging, and was very impressed by its quality and its build. But then I mounted my camera. I have a Sony NEX-5 with a "pancake" lens--a bit on the heavy side but nothing a good monopod shouldn't be able to handle. It mounted "fine" and everything worked "fine", but then when I hit "Record" on the camera I noticed it wouldn't hold still, the whole camera wobbled back and forth on the mount. It literally rocked back and forth as I held it out.

It turns out that there are two pieces on the head of this thing, the piece that connects to the extendable monopod handle and also exposes a screw grip to spin the attachment screw, and the piece of plastic that holds the screw into place while exposing a rubber base for the camera to hold to. This plastic plate thing is rather crappily joined and is loose with no way to tighten it. The whole thing would be fine if I wasn't moving around but I do move around, that's what a handheld monopod is for, duh. So there'd be no getting around the rocking.

I literally have to throw this away--it's too cheap to try to resell it or otherwise hassle with a return or somesuch, but too expensive not to note the loss here. This is so completely disappointing!
1010 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
I bought this to use with a Contour Roam, and this thing basically bends when fully stretched.
Without echoing many other reviews, the rubber piece under the screw got detached after 30sec (yep, literally the first time screwing in a camera).
All in all, pay some extra $$ and get yourself a better quality pole.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2013
Had it less than 24 hours, less than an hour of actual usage with a GoPro Hero3+ (the lightest model currently out). Plastic snapped in half right at where the black plastic is inserted into the metal extension pole. An extreme weak point in the design, especially when no force was applied to the GoPro when the brake occurred. I would suggest going with another choice that is not designed with critical weak points, and/or cheap materials.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2009
I took this on a 2 week trip down to Argentina and it worked great. For situations where you don't have time to setup a tripod or if there's nobody else around to take a photo of yourself for you, the XShot comes in very handy. It collapses to a manageable length and is light enough to throw in your backpack. I wouldn't put any camera heavier than 8-10 ounces on this, but it should have no problem handling a compact point & shoot camera.
I find with the 28mm (35m equivalent) lens on the Canon SD870, I do not have to extend the arm to its full length. Holding it steady gets harder the longer it is extended anyway. It might take a couple of shots to learn how to get the right angle for your shot, but with some practice, it'll be hard to tell that your pictures were taken with the XShot.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2016
The "XShot 2.0 Camera Extender for Most Cameras..." In my opinion is overpriced for the design and materials used. While it may have been a popular solution for many in the past, in my collection it collects dust. It's just not sturdy or versatile enough for my needs, since my purchase in feb of 2014 I have seen other designs that look like they would be much better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2012
What I bought it for: I originally bought this for my wife as a gag gift for Christmas. She was always taking pictures of herself (think the "my space" and "facebook" pictures) I would always tease her about it, so I felt that this would be a great gag gift and get an added bonus of having pictures that didn't look like, "myspace/facebook".

What ended up happening: She takes this device everywhere (in the airport they thought it was a gun barrel) and everyone raves about how amazing this device is. It was the most popular Christmas present that year (and was very inexpensive!), and everyone wanted one after they saw and used it. My wife and I still use this device to this day (we've had it about 14 months now) and it works like a champion. We ended up buying one for every family member as well, and everyone uses it all the time.

The only upgrade I would like to see to this product, is an interface where you can snap a picture from the stick itself, instead of setting the self timer. I understand this is not the xShots fault, so I won't dock any stars for it, but it would be a nice feature to add if you could get the camera developers on board!

Sometimes we feel stupid using it, but the end result is we don't have to worry about a stranger stealing our camera, and we have memories for a lifetime! When you're looking at those memories, you don't remember how stupid you felt, you remember how much fun the experience was!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 133 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.