Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Tap Giveaway Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$15.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 21, 2007
first heard this band on xm radio and really like them, listen to their cd and youll know why
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2007
I have had this CD for over a month now and it still hasn't got old. No bad songs on it, if you like load music with base then this is a good CD. With Flyleaves Russian background they were able to make their first CD unique and i think that is what gives her the edge over many other bands. The thing i like is Flyleafs voice, i have nevr heard anything like it before she can go from screaming to a wonderful singing voice all in the same song. Great CD, highly recommend you buy it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
For those that might not know, and are Jones'n for a similar vocal band, Veruca Salt with Nina Gordon.

If you've never heard Flyleaf before, this is the most powerful and edgy. Several genres fused. If you want more polish, keep moving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2006
Flyleaf is so awesome and they have good lyrics in their music. Lacey has a strong, powerful voice and every track is fantastic. Some of these songs are heartfelt and emotional. My favorites are I'm So Sick, Fully Alive, Perfect, and There For You. This is highly recommended if you like music with great sound and powerful, emotional lyrics.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
THE BAND LACEY MOSELY LED IN 2007 I WAS INTO HER CD AND DVD WITH LYRICS OF I,M SO SICK I FEEL THAT WAY
I GREW UP WITH MY MOTHER AS A TEENAGER SHE DIDN,T ALLOWED ME TO FAIL WHY I PUSHED MYSELF AND REBELLION I MADE IT SUUCESSFUL ! I,M FULLY ALIVE NEXT I LIKE NEXT AS I,M DRIVEN SINCE TIME AS CASSIE DO
YOU BELIEF IN GOD TO PULL THE TRIGGER?YES I WAS IN THE MINDSET OF THE COLOMNBINE KILLERS WHOM HAD
TAKEN THE FEMALE,S LIFE NO!I OWN THE CD IT MY FAVORITE MOMENT I WAS CAPTURED AT IRVING PLAZA TAKE THE STAGE AND DVD WITH ACOUSTIC SONGS AND FEW VIDEOS I RECOMMEND THIS IF YOU LIKE THIS AS A METALHEAD THAT MISSED THAT MOMENT OF TIME DON,T LET THIS ESCAPE AS A VIEWER NOT ONLY I POST MY COMMENTING .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2008
Even though I'm an Agnostic, Flyleaf has become one of my favorite bands. They rock hard-core like nobody's business, and while they fully express their belief in God, they don't try to shove it down your throat. I bet even Athiests would enjoy these guys!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2006
If you ignore the fact that 'kittie' was a painfully bad gimmic, manufactored for mall goths, or that 'evanescence' is watered down pop-rock for your parents, all while blocking no doubt, garbage and hole from your memory, you may be able to enjoy flyleaf from an unbias perspective. I wouldn't blame you if you couldn't, though. Lets face it, most mainstream bands fronted by pretty young females and backed by faceless male instrumentalists tend to be bad. Flyleaf, however, is the exception. Stumbling upon 'i'm so sick' by accident, I became interested and wanted to hear more. Lacey, the lead vocalist, sounds alot like avril lavine, but I actually like avril's vocals, so this was plus for me. So imagine avril lavine doing hard rock, and you've got flyleaf down cold. Most of the songs here, including the lead single 'i'm so sick', run under 3 minutes, giving the songs a more punk/ska structure than traditional modern rock allows. If you're not already interested, you're probably not a rock fan in general. Recommended.

Note: The treble and mid-ranges on this record were signifigantly enhanced during mixing, which reduces sound quality (alot) when compressed to mp3/wma/aac (itunes) format. This was most likely an attempt to keep P2P file sharing away, but as usual (remember DRM?), it does nothing but hurt the consumer. If you purchase your music from a download site, or you convert your music to mp3/aac (itunes), think twice before doing so with "flyleaf".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2006
I bought this album recently at a local Independent music store, Being a die hard music fan with an album collection approaching the two thousand mark it's not everyday that I encounter a band I'm willing to write a review about, In fact, this is the first review I ever posted on Amazon.

For those who say FlyLeaf is another clone of bands like LaCuna Coil, Evanescence, and Avril Lavigne, I have to wonder if they have actually even listened to the album all the way through.

I wouldn't judge the band based on downloaded tracks you find from questionable resources online, since many times those downloads are radio edits that are washed down for more younger ears.

Flyleaf in no one resembles any of the bands mentioned, other than the fact, they have a female vocalist. If you were to compaire the lead's voice to any artist out there, I would say it resembles Delores O'riordan of the Cranberries and even Bert McCraken of the Used.

I would recommend this band to anyone who listens to hard rock or alternative, since this band has found a great balance between hard rock riffs and musical melody.

The vocals and lyrical transitions are impressive and mature for a singer that's barely 20.

Don't listen to the critics and give this band a try, I promise you'll discover a sound that's unique.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2007
Flyleaf is so awesome! I LOVE THIS CD!!! Lacey is awesome! I love the way she screams and sings. I got to see them in concert and they were awesome! I love all of the songs on here! This is a great rock album!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2006
This is one of those bands that you find on the listening stand at an independent record store and buy it immeadiately after hearing it, and listen to it for weeks on end. Now that I've been listening to this CD for awhile now I can't figure out why they haven't caught on. A lot of reviews say you can't compare this band to anyone else...but you can. They're a mixture of Incubus and Hoobastank musically and Evanesense and Avril Lavigne vocally. It's hard enough to still be independent but the sound is so crisp and polished that it should slide right into the mainstream on word of mouth alone.

The lead singers vocals are outstanding. I read somewhere where they compared her to a blowtorch's intensity. It's a cool, glowing, searing sound with sudden bursts of rage that captivate your ears the same way that a blowtorch catches your gaze. (Plus...she's pretty hot herself.) There aren't many rock bands with female lead singers, but considering this is just a debut album she could put those who are out there to shame.

For as good as she is she doesn't over shadow her band like some other rock bands. The band is diverse in sound and rhythm. The ballads are as solid as the hard songs, and there's a grit to their sound layered under the smooth stylized guitar riffs.

I like every song on this CD. "I'm so sick" is deffinately my favorite just because it incorporates some different sounds not found on the other tracks. But all the songs are unique in their own way. I have to admit I wish she let loose and screamed more on a few tracks, but for what the CD lacks in screaming it makes up for in harmonies and echo effects. Which both sound amazing (on "There for You" in particular)

If you like intense rock with a smooth sound of any kind I'd check this CD out. It may not be innovative or "Indie" but this is a great band with a sound that's addicting to listen to.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.