Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 3, 2009
It's a battery. It works. No space science there.

I bought these to replace the original about 5-year old 1100mAh Canon BP-511 battery that started to show signs of age. Old Canon's battery capacity decreased to the point where fully charged and with EF 100-400L IS lens fitted on camera, it wouldn't last till the end of my son's 30-minute soccer class.

These new batteries seem to be able to power my camera and a battery thirsty lens for a very long time. So, I'm happy.

Mine were shipped by bargaincell.com. As some reviewers already noticed, capacity is not printed on the batteries. Which is strange and unusual. I actually got batteries in two separate boxes (not one box with two batteries). Each box had SKU CAMCAN001 printed on it. Google search finds the page on the sellers web site that lists battery capacity as "only" 1600mAh.

Whatever the true capacity of these batteries are, they are still a great deal, and I'm definitely going to keep mine (I read reviews that challenged if these are truly 2000mAh before buying, so I knew what I going into). Unless you absolutely must have 2000mAh battery (currently selling for around $25), buy these and don't think twice. $7.34 for two is an incredible price. On the seller's own website, they sell single of these for $8.49! So grab two-pack on Amazon for the price of single battery while they still offer this deal.

The only complaint I have is that they do not come with plastic lid that protects contacts when battery is not in the camera. Luckily, my camera bag has handy compartments for batteries, so I don't really need those plastic lids (and I have one plastic lid that came with Canon's battery too).

The only reason for taking off two star is uncertainty what the true capacity of these batteries is. It's a really bad move on the manufacturer's and seller's part (taking one star off for each). Other than that, they work perfectly fine.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2008
I was a little iffy buying a off brand battery, but this one is great. Only disappointment is they advertise it as 2000mah and the ones I got were 1500mah...
But they charge quick and last a while. I'm happy.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
The item description says 2000mah, but I received a pair of 1400mah batteries instead. I didn't bother to return it because it's so cheap and not worth the trouble, but this is totally wrong on every level. You have been warned, don't expect to get what you see.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2010
After taking these on a road trip, I've concluded that they are probably around 1000 mAh batteries.

Each battery takes noticeably fewer pictures than Canon brand batteries (around 250 vs 400). However, when not in use, they do keep their charge. (Contrary to other reviewers)
The dollars per mAh is so much less, that it makes these batteries worthwhile.

If you're looking for reasonably priced batteries, and don't mind changing batteries at least a couple times a day, I suggest getting 2 or 3 sets of these things. However, if you (like me) don't like having to change batteries very often, I recommend against getting them.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2009
This is an economical battery to replace Canon BP511/A. It gets charged quickly and works fine. Despite the higher capacity specifications, it gets exhausted much quicker than the original Canon battery. I could get about 250 shots on the first try. Considering that you don't have to spend an arm and a leg for a pair of these batteries, it makes a good buy. I would definitely recommend these batteries to any one based on their very favorable cost/performance ratio.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2011
I purchase multiple items from amazon per week for the last 5 years. This is my first review. I had purchased the canon 5d battery grip, to have the full body feel like on my 1d, and also have extra shooting capacity, with the ability to hold two batteries. So I fully charge both batteries load them up in the battery grip, the camera takes two photos then the batteries are completely dead. Really? So now I just have one original canon battery loaded in my grip. Even if just one of the batteries worked at $8 i'd be pumped, all I got was a reminder lesson of you get what you pay for.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2009
These batteries are definitely not 2000mAh. I get ~300 shots from each charge on the 50D. Judging from this, they perform more like 1000mAh batteries. I definitely got more shots from the Canon 1400mAh batteries (at least 500 shots). For the price, I think they're worth it though.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2009
Received my order promptly. Batteries had model infomation but no capacity rating, which was of some import since they were advertised as almost twice Canon capacity. One battery simply stopped working in less than four months, 0 power, will not charge, after almost no use. Rest of order, two other batteries of different size and two chargers okay so far. Also noted same company seemed to offer same batteries at very different prices, something both vendor and Amazon should pay attention to if they want to appear trustworthy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2011
So they like about the mAh Rating and one came charged and one came drained and both last 1/4 the stock battery. Pay the couple bucks extra and get the lenmar or pay 5x as much and get the real ones...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2009
While some believe that OEMs have a longer life span, at this price range, does it really matter? Let's say it's true that OEM batteries last a year or two longer than these (OEM lets say hold their full charge for 3 years), for that kind of price, you can buy ten of these. Using that mentality, if these generics last even 6 months each, multiply that by 10, you have 60 months worth of batteries for the price of one Canon OEM. Think about that for a second. Think of all the inconveniences of swapping batteries at an event because your one Canon battery ran out. Remember, those precious moments will NOT repeat themselves or wait for you. Whether you're looking for replacement batteries for backup or something just to have, you can't go wrong with these.

The OEM is rated at 1390mAh and while these are advertised as 2000mAh, it doesn't say on the battery's label. If that makes you suspicious, I'll tell you right now it did for me too but I can't be happier with these. All I can say is that it lasts longer than my OEM battery. Maybe it's really 2000mAH. I don't know.

I use a battery grip on my 50D and my OEM (1390mAh)-CTA (1500mAh) combo got nothing on these generics, believe it or not! These last longer for sure. The price to performance ratio is unbeatable and I've owned these for a good 4 months already. So far they haven't shown any signs of fast draining or shortage of power. They have kept right up with me. If I give these two more months of use (while I'm sure it will have much longer life span than that), it would have already out-lasted my Canon OEM in terms of price-to-life ratio.

If you're reading my review looking for cons so you can better decide whether to get these or not, I'm sorry, I have none for you.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.