Industrial-Sized Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

115 of 128 people found the following review helpful
on July 23, 2011
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2011
I hadn't seen much of a review addressing this mic for use with audio reproduction in a Venue or live music setting- so here are my two cents. I have to say that the frequency response has proven shockingly true with a variety of ensembles, and has generally been a pleasure to work with given its compact size. I use this mic in conjunction with a Kodak Playtouch HD Palm Camera, and it has totally transformed the quality of live recordings. One of the best purchases i've ever made. Could not recommend it highly enough.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2009
Straight-forward, easy to use. The reproduction of recorded sounds is excellent. The stereo feature works very well with good separation of left/right placement. Very reasonably priced, a good quality microphone for the video/audiofile.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on March 31, 2011
I tested it with Sony DSLR a560. Without the battery I can hear a sound like a working motor (quiet though), but I did not mount it on the camera, besides, the camera was recording at memory stick not on a HDD or like that. My guess, that this was an EM interference. Without battery there was mono recording - no matter what side from I would speak, the sound was on the middle in the playback. With battery in, the interference was 99% gone, but hiss is appear. Not much, but I can tell the difference in the quiet room or if you playing back through headphones, and - yes, there is stereo. When I compared the sound with battery out to the sound with battery in, the last one was more clear and a little bit louder. With the battery out, at the same distance from microphone (about 1 yard), the sound was like the battery was dieing: vibrating, more quiet and unclear. The camera battery was at 74% - more than enough to power a microphone.
Of cause it might be the camera itself. But camera manual says that external microphone will be powered by camera. Well, and it does, but microphone in any way should record the stereo. But stereo recording works with battery in only. I wrote about this issue to Audio-Technica. Here is what they answered:

"Although the microphone will operate using plug-in power, we recommend using battery power for optimal performance. There are no standards for plug-in power, so the voltage varies by device, resulting in inconsistent performance. This does not explain the mono recording issues; I have not had any reports of this. I recommend simply replacing the battery before important shoots; LR44 batteries are available at most drug stores, etc. and are fairly inexpensive."

In two words. This microphone works great, the price is affordable, not for every camera - battery free, and Sony DSLR is needed "Hot Shoe Adapter".
I liked sound recording with battery better anyway. So, I'm gonna keep it. Actually because the microphone does not have a power indicator, I'll try to buy some cheap digital portable button batteries tester and build it in parallel to circuity connection with switch to watch the battery power level. The test "Sony A560 HD Video Test / 1440x1080 " of Sony A560 with this microphone you may find on YouTube on my channel SergSpace.

Update 11.26.2012
I recently upgraded Sony a560 to a65V, which has an auto focus in video mode. The built in microphone pick up so much noise from auto focus motor, that it's impossible to hear anything else. I do not have a SSM lens (too expensive), but this mike helped me to reduce auto focus motor sound dramatically. I still can hear it, but the noise went on background.
review image review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on October 11, 2012
I used this mic attached to my nikon d3200. I've used it for recording my friends and family just goofing around. I was also curious about its capabilities using it in musical applications. I've uploaded a video using the mic in a room with terrible acoustics recording drums. The camera is positioned high and is picking up cymbals heavily. The first half of the video is straight out of the camera with the audio setting on the camera on auto. The second is edited in Adobe Audition to show how well you're able to improve the sound with some work. Set it to manual and monitor the sound while recording, and you will get even better results with less noise. The reason why I recorded in this setting is to try and match the heavily unbalanced acoustics at some bars and nightclubs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on December 17, 2012
I bought this to use with my Canon 60D. Yes it wasn' t the most expensive option out there , but I have used it on several occasions from birthday parties , filming the grand kids and the dogs in the back yard and on vacations and it works great . Only draw back : must buy batteries for it . They are inexpensive and you can pick them up at about any store , just make sure to have a couple around ( just in case ). I love it , much better then the on camera mic., small and easy to use , Thanks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on February 13, 2011
I needed a mic to remove the awful motor sounds that came from my Canon cameras (on board mics are so sensitive to all sounds) so I bought an Audio-Technica long, shot-gun mic and it worked very nicely indeed. However, I found the shot-gun mic a bit cumbersome at times when I was shooting without a boom operator so I bought the Audio-Technica Pro24CM and it delivered what I needed. It's a short, light-weight mic with good subject sensitivity and clear sound with no awful camera motor noise to contend with. The mic is powered by a small battery for those cameras that don't have on-board phantom power. I attached the mic to an L-shaped bracket (that Amazon also sells) which in turn attaches to the camera base and I'm ready to shoot! It's a great little microphone for cameras with a 1/8 mic jack. At the time of purchase, I got it at a very good sale price and delivery time from Amazon was very fast and hassle free.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 2, 2010
I bought this to use with my Canon HF10, and was very excited to try it out. Slapped it on right when it got here, and it worked great! Cuts out a lot of background noise, and wind is eliminated. Very small, and easy to use. Just wish it took a different battery type.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 18, 2012
The Audio-Technica Pro 24CM Microphone is a very nicely built little unit. The all metal casing makes for a nicely built mic. The brushed aluminum is very handsome. It also comes with a nice but simple wind windscreen. The only issue is, even with the power on, it sounded horrible. I was planning to use it with my Canon 5D Mk III, but after installing it and trying it out, I knew right away that this mic is totally wrong for this camera. Even after cranking up my volume all the way up to 64,and ignoring the horrible hissing sound, the volume was still half that of my built in mic. Not good. Also even on normal level, there was a unacceptable amount of hissing going on.
With my volume on my Canon all the way up to 64, at 10ft, at normal talking volume, my meter never went as high as -dB20. +dB12 is a normal high peak on the Canon, and it never got there at any distance past 5 ft.
Boxed up, sending it back and try again.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2012
I bought this for my JVC Everio GZ-HM1 to record a classroom activity after reading the glowing reviews and this mic being within my budget. I was excited when the package arrived as like what others said, the build was nice, not the plasticky quality of other low end microphones. It is small and fits my camcorder shoe adapter. Unfortunately, those are the only positive things about this item. Function-wise, this is not a good mic. My built-in camcorder mic picked up more sound. I thought that it was the battery that came with it so I bought a new "watch" type battery that this mic uses. Even with a new battery and the phantom power of the camcorder, the built in mic always comes out with the best sound. I am not a professional but maybe I received a lemon, I did something wrong, my camcorder mic is better or this is really an inferior product. One thing is certain : This will be going back.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.