Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2010
I had to buy a camera for my video production class at college. My teacher told us we had to get a DV camera, but i previously have had difficulty with tape so that was my last choice. I put hours of research in to find a tape alternative that worked with Final cut pro and Adobe Premiere Pro. This is that alternative. It shoot great looking HD video and is an ease to edit using those two programs. The still images on it is nothing to write home about, but come on lets be serious. You don't buy a camcorder to take stills, you buy a camcorder to record videos. After my class was over my teacher changed his requirements in a camera after seeing the quality of video i shot with it.

(***please note it works with Final Cut Pro 6, 7, and Final Cut Express 4 ONLY***)
(***please note it works with iMovie '08 and '09 ONLY***)
(***please note it works with Adobe Premiere Pro CS4, CS5, Adobe Premiere Elements 7 and 8 ONLY***)

I included which versions support this cameras AVCHD format. It will save you hours in order to figure it out.
This review is written on 5/25/2010 so i would think that products after this review will support AVCHD
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2010
I recently bought this camcorder to record a friend's wedding and was impressed with the quality of this little camcorder. It is not heavy and fairly easy to use. Indoor recording is okay. I used a high LED light in order to record decently, but outdoors it looks very crisp.

One huge downfall for me is the battery life. If you make this purchase, you most definitely want to also buy an extra charger and battery. The camcorder sucked the life out of my battery and I spent most of my time standing next to an outlet in order to record the wedding, which made it difficult to move around freely.

I love the HDMI port and the x.V.Color option as well.

**Mac USERS**
If you have a Mac, you will have some issues downloading to your computer. With most JVCs I have owned, they are not very Mac friendly. I used a Wondershare Video Converter to download all my video clips from the camcorder to my Mac (I had to download the converter from the internet for about $21 but it's worth having). So please be advised about that IF you are a Mac user.

Otherwise, a great camcorder for the price.
22 comments5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2008
After much research and going back and forth with a non-HD Sony Handycam, we got this camera last week and so far it has really made a difference when viewing videos on our 50" HD TV screen on HDMI. It is pretty user friendly (although I found the Sony Handycam more user friendly). If you're in the market for an HD (Hi-Def) camcorder, this is the value winner.

The Everio HD takes decent stills, but definitely takes a backseat to our Canon point & shoot. On that note, our Canon 800IS P&S takes comparable quality videos to the Everio when you see them on a computer (you're just limited to 1.5 min. clips if it's holding pictures too).

The clarity (esp. outside) is excellent. The only downside is that you need a steady hand to operate b/c the "anti-shake" technology needs a little work. I suppose you win on picture quality on the flipside... unless you're willing to shell out another $300 for more steady images on top of picture sharpness. If you get an HD camera, be prepared to get a bigger battery b/c it sucks up power more quickly than a regular videocam.

I got this mainly to record our 1 year old, beginning with her birthday party coming up.
0Comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2011
Total Fun

The video looks so so good. It's really easy to use. Spend time reading the instructions and less than an hour
you could be shooting video. Toggle thru the menu and if you get lost just hit menu
and start again. The battery that is included last only about 1 hour.
I bought 2 three hour batteries which can be found here(amazon) for around $34 - $39 plenty of prices to choose from.
The instructions will tell you which batteries you can use for replacement.

If you have imovie 09' it is so easy to upload the video. I use an Imac with the imovie 09' and it works perfect.
I did my research and looked for what camcorders are compatible with imovie 09 and Imac.
I found a list of all that will and will not work with my computer setup.
Whether your going to use it for making movies or not do the research.
What i have recorded for the first month since owning this camcorder and using the imovie software
my video has total life. Again research people and look up youtube and see how awesome
it is to use this camera with imovie 09 or Final cut express 4 or whatever software you want to use.

Bottom line this camcorder works for what i need and if i could show you my video
you would think you are watching a hollywood or indie movie made with this camcorder.
No Joke!

None of us are here for a long time so lets have a good time.
Capture life and share your life with your love ones and gracefully grow old with memories.

Hope this was help for those who want to have fun and enjoy making movies
from Hollywood to indie type or just memories...

Enjoy -
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I bought this to record my daughters basketball games. After the first half, if I dont find an outlet, I am out of luck.
"Fortunately" JVC sells additional batteries for almost half the price of the camera ($79 and up depending on the size). That is a cruel trick.

The video is good, but the camera should not be dieing so fast.

Aaargh!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2011
I've already had this camera for 4years and i simply love it. Very user friendly to capture video. I do recomend you get video edit software in order to edit your videos if you want to export them to dvd or upload them to the internet. The software that comes with it is not so good to get the best out of your equipment
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2014
Bought as a gift for my son. Built-in memory and HD quality picture, exactly what he wanted
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.