Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 16, 2008
One year ago I purchased the 16GB original iPod Touch. At that time, I found that even though it had some flaws, the over-all package made it one of the best iPods available. Now, one year later, Apple has released the next generation Touch. I've now had it for a few days, and here's what I found: the second gen iPod Touch is a marked improvement over the the first gen, and comes even closer to perfection. Keeping this in mind, this review will show one big, and a number of smaller shortcomings. It may also be difficult to justify upgrading from the 1st to 2nd gen unless you simply must have one of the few hardware improvements, and can live with the fact that you may have to re-purchase some of your accessories.

Size and Dimensions
The iPod Touch now sports a more rounded design on the back, making it look slightly thinner and more like the iPhone than the original did (it is not really thinner than it's predecessor, just looks that way). Unfortunately, the back plate is still made from stainless steel, and this plate attacts fingerprints and scratches almost magically. After one year of near-constant use the backplate of my first gen Touch looks a bit like a wild etch-a-sketch (I carry the Touch in my pocket). Interestingly, the glass on the front appears (after one year of heavy use) to be absolutely scratch-resistant. It's the backside (that also carries the custom engraving) that quickly becomes blemished. I would have preferred a brushed metal/aluminium backplate. I had to look it up, but the new Touch is slightly lighter (a few grams) - but it looks thinner (thanks to the tapered edge design). The rounded edges make it fit my palm slightly better, making it feel just right (to be honest, the original Touch was already very, very good in this respect). Other than that the outside dimensions exactly match that of the original Touch. The most visible change from the front is that the steel from the backplate now frames the glass much like it did on the original iPhone.

Touch Screen and Controls
The screen is simply gorgeous. It's bright, crisp, has great contrast, and can adapt it's brightness to the ambient light. In direct sunlight, much like it's predecessor it becomes difficult to read correctly. In shade it's perfectly readable -- a feat considering how bright a display has to be to achieve that. Color temperature of the display has shifted slightly downwards (or, to sound less pompuous: the display's colors have shifted slightly from a blueish to a golden tinge, something you wouldn't notice unless you have the two devices side by side).

The touch screen is very responsive, and as I stated before, absolutely scratch-resistant. Surviving a full year in my pocket along with metallic objects such as my keys is a testament to it's durability (looking at the stainles steel backside is a constant reminder just how badly it could have been scratched). As with the original Touch, the same problems occur when you try to control the device 'blind' (i.e. while it is in your pocket): without looking at it, you simply can't. Fortunately, Apple has addressed the most important drawback with this design: a hardware volume control. The screen's resolution remains at 480x320, which is very good (certainly better than my iPod Classic's). Interestingly, I've found out that ripping videos to this resolution does not necessarily yield noticeably better results than for the iPod classic's (320x240) screen, so I now rip to that resolution, conserving some memory.

iPod / iTunes
After one year of owning the original Touch I have to remind myself that this device originally is an iPod -- or rather a digital music player. As it turns out, although I also use it for music playing, this function has more and more been relegated to a background task -- a task, nontheless, that it handles really well. The coverflow, browsing and display functionality has evolved nicely from the original (1.0 and 2.0) versions, and are still the best in the market. The interface improvements support nice touches such as displaying a song's lyrics on single tap, bringing up the volume/cue controls on double-tap of the home button, an alphabetic slide rule when browsing titles, etc. Still missing is a search function, though. And, especially in light of the gorgeous display capabilities and the recent addition of a new visualitzer (in additional to the existing ones in iTunes), I would have loved to see a visualizer on the Touch as well. The biggest (and in my oppinion delibarate (as in spiteful)) omission is this: you still can't enable 'hard drive mode', i.e. use the Touch as a mass storage device. The biggest boon is improved battery life.

Video is crisp (still no contrast control, though), and audio playback is just as you expect (again: I'm no audiophile. I'm absolutely happy with most player's audio capabilities). Again I'm not using the Apple-provided white and quite sub-par headphones. I'm using separately purchased ones. New for the second gen is a built-in speaker. Audio quality here is not actually terrible, but close. The sound is tinny, weak, and just somehow comes out of the iPod (mono, of course). I believe that the addition of the speaker has a specific reason different from HiFi: it makes playing games on the Touch without headphones so much more enjoyable. But for listening to music I would prefer headphones or active speakers. To be honest, I prefer not listening to music from that speaker.

iTunes integration is top-notch as before. Some sort of bug-fix now has made data backup much faster, and both iTunes and the Touch now sport a new kind of smart playlist that is called 'Genius'. Initially, I wasn't impressed by this feature. Although iTunes 8 has had this feature I regarded it primarily as a well executed new way to sell song and hence didn't use it. On my iPod, however (which only carries a subset of my library due to memory contraints), this feature literally rocks. On my first day alone it had me re-discover five songs I never knew I had (much less liked).

On the downside, the Touch still does not support playlist groups, which is a constant annoyance to me. I'm also disappointed to see that the Touch still can't synch wirelessly, nor can it be used to access shared playlists (other than downloading them, of course). An application in the App store offers this functionality, albeit only for non-DRM'd titles, proving the point that this is possible.

Images (from iPhoto) can also be synched to the Touch, and nothing is more fun than showing off your iPod's capabilities using a nice picture and 'pinch' and 'swipe'. Interestingly (or rather: unfortunately), iTunes appears to down-sample large images to a smaller resolution, probably to conserve memory. This may make sense, but I would like to be able to have more control over this feature (i.e. decide myself what the image's resolution on the iPod should be).

Accessories - the Big Bad Ugly
Unfortunately, Apple has changed the pin-out (*again*) for the iPod connector. As a result, some 'made for iPod' accessories either don't work, or don't work fully any more. For example, my Altec Lansing active speakers can't charge the Touch any more (it was able to charge the 1st gen Touch). This is truly, truly annoying as you don't know if your iPod works with your 'made for iPod' devices any longer, and makes purchasing new accessories a game of chance. My car has a (hideously expensive) iPod integration that luckily still works (including re-charging). Still, the iPod connector compatibility (or lack thereof) is becoming a big mess. Just imagine you want to buy an accessory for your kid or friend, and too late find out that it does not work with it.

WiFi / Internet
A year ago I purchased an iPod, and got a fully integrated web accesory kit. As it turned out, the addition of WiFi and full internet access is a killer feature to me. The web browser (a mobile version of Safari) is very capable. Much has been said about the fact that Mobile Safari does not support Flash. This is annoying if you visit sites that use it. The pinch/slide gesture-based interface works so well that I regularely use the Touch for normal web surfing. The general experience has increased over the past few month, no doubt in no small amounts due to the fact that many sites have beed re-designed with the iPhone in mind. Since the Touch's browser is exactly the same, it inherits the benefit. WiFi speed is good (although it still uses the 802.11b/g, not the n variant) - and mostly depends on the hotspot you are connected to. It remembers the hotspots it has connected to (much like a laptop would), and can also connect using WPA. There are other Web enabled applications that come with the iPod (Maps, which can pinpoint your location by the position of hotspots close to you), Stocks, YouTube, and Weather, which are nice, but remarkable. WiFi reception range is average, but definitely below that of some PC laptops.

Then, the Touch also comes with Mail, Calendar and Adressboock, and these do become killer fieatures, especially when coupled with an Exchange server or (as Apple would prefer) MobileMe. Mail supports 'push' technology, meaning that (almost) as soon an there is an incoming mail (and your Touch is connected to a hotspot), you are notified by a little discreep 'bleep'. Reading emails, including mails with rich content works very well. Composing any but the shortes emails, on the other hand, is bothersome, verging on annoying due to the small virtual keyboard). Still, simply being able to do this makes all the difference. Live Calender updates have saved my bacon a few times already, as you do not have to remember to actively synch your iPod after you have made a change to the calender.

Integration with Exchange (at the point of writing) remains a tad spotty, with no messages appearing for s few hours, and then suddenly many appearing at once (I initially suspected a configuration issue on the Exchange Server, but this appears not to be the case). Depending upon how you configure MobileMe on your Mac, the results are similar to what you can expect from Exchange (with the difference, of course, that Apple is running the servers for you). Unfortunately, MobileMe currently does not synch your Notes.

Nicely executed is the integrated iTunes store. While possibly just another mechanism to generate sales, I simply love the fact that if I hear or remember a song, I can almost always instantly purchase it and have it on my touch within seconds. Songs purchased on the Touch synchronize back to your main library in iTunes (into a rather silly 'Purchased on Touch' playlist). If a download has to discontinue because the network connection was lost (or for any other reasons), it will continue as soon as the connection to the Internet is restored.

Interestingly, the touch sports (I'm a sucker for lame puns) the required hardware to connect to the 'Nike + iPod' sports accessories built-in (i.e. you do not have to connect the dongle). I say interestingly because these devices utilize the bluetooth frequency band, yet the Touch does not support bluetooth devices (headphones, mikes, car integration and printers come to mind). Since I use a shuffle for work-out, this is not a must-have feature for me.

Applications/App Store
If Mail, Calendar and Browser are killer apps, Apple has added another killer feature to the Touch (and iPhone) that expands the device's usability (and customizability) by orders of magnitude: the App store. In appearance similar to the iTunes Store, here you can choose from literally hundrets of applictions (of greatly varying quality, though), purchase and install them instantly. Prices run from free to roughly 10 USD (there are some more expensive titles, but the majority are priced at a couple of USD). The apps are presented in three different ways ('featured', 'top', browse by category), plus you have the ability to search for keywords.

Although the 'signal to noise' ratio isn't that great (there are quite a lot of useless or awfully executed applications), there are some jaw-droppingly good apps that truly enhance your Touch. Among the first to mention is Apple's own (free) 'Remote' app, which allows you to remote-control iTunes on your Mac or Apple TV - with real-time full visual feedback, and full search capability (allegedly, it is also a real boon for Apple TV users, as it provides a virtual keyboard as input means. Not having Apple TV, I can't comment on this). Then there is an application that allows you to stream all your music (well, the unprotecte at least) to your Touch - over the Internet to wherever you are (interestingly, this App was not produced by Apple).

Greatly enhancing the Touch's usability are eBook readers (the Touch is almost perfect for rading books, giving you that 'Star Trek' info pad feeling) as well as off-line news readers. Another important category are applications that enable you to easily transfer (and view) files from your Mac/PC to the Touch. I would have expected Apple to integrate this feature into iTunes (perhaps rudimentary support for PDF), but third party providers are more than happy to bridge this gap for you. And for the geeks there are VNC and SSH clients that finally allow them to control their server cluster using an iPod.

For those who want radio, there are lots of offerings for IP radios. Of course this means that your iPod must remain in range of a hotspot to use this feature. Mine does, so I alos now have radio -- and re-discovered just why I never missed it. I'm simply not a radio guy, I guess. I do know that many people miss it, and wish apple had gone the last mile and also added an FM tuner.

Two Apps I'm sure that will arrive soon at the App store is due to another addition to the Touch: support for extenal microphones. Apple's hi-end earphones have both a remote and mike built in, and are said to be compatible with the 2nd (and only 2nd) gen Touch. Audio note pads, and VoIP apps (a la Skype) that allows phone functionality over WiFi are sure to follow soon (note: I have seen these apps available in the US stores; sadly they are not yet available here in Switzerland Also, I interpret Apple's docs that the 2nd gen Touch supports external microphones, as they have not yet shipped the combined mike/remote headphones to me).

And then there are games. They currently are the biggest category of all applications. The Touch, with it's integrated accelerometer, 480x320 color screen and touch interface makes a nice gaming device, and developers have come up with some truly fun and innovative games ('Toy Bot' may serve as a great example). Apple may have realized that this is becoming an increasingly important aspect of the Touch: the Gen 2 device sports a speaker that makes little sense - except to improve the gaming experience (believe me: playing an accelerometer-based game with headphones on can be verry little fun when it gets exciting). And improving the experience it does. The Touch is ill suited for classic 'control pad' based games (e.g. Tetris, Pac Man), and most of their Touch adaptations suffer accordingly. Other games, however, adapt nicely to touch/accelerometer input (Monkey Ball, Crash Cart etc), or are a natural fit (Labyrinth, Sudoku, Solitair, Othello)

Super-geeks can also download the iPhone/Touch SDK and create their own applications. This is not for the faint of heart, as you first download a few gigabytes (Apple's XCode development environment), and then will have to code in Objective-C (an extension to standard C) and use the Cocoa framework. Plus, you'll need a Mac to do so. The environment is actually very good, and includes an iPhone simulator to test your software before deployment.

I should mention that most of the improvements (with the exception of the hardware upgrades: mike support, built-in nike support, volume buttons and battery life) can be had for free on your 1st gen Touch (if you have the 2.0 Update), or a couple of bucks if you havn't upgraded yet. Unless you (like me) want the larger memory (my first gen only has 16GB), the decision to upgrade to 2nd gen may be difficult.

Summary:
The 2nd generation iPod Touch is an almost perfect device. It combines top-notch video/audio, world-class UI, great casual gaming, hundrets of apps, and full access to the Internet into a single, beautiful package. To sum it up neatly: Untouchable. Well -- almost. It has one big flaw if you have invested in accessories: it may not be compatible with them, as Apple has changed the iPod connector pin-out (again). With those reservations, I recommend the Touch to anyone. Also great: owners of the 1st gen Touch can get most of these goodies with a simple, inexpensive software upgrade.

Hits
+ great display
+ good audio
+ gesture-based interface
+ accelerometer for controls
+ great integration with your music library (via iTunes)
+ long battery life
+ wireless music store
+ wireless App store (killer feature)
+ Speaker for gaming
+ Mail, Calendar and Address book with Push
+ WiFi Internet (killer feature)
+ Remote App (free) for your PC/Mac's iTunes/AppleTV
+ SDK freely available for anyone
+ Microphone and remote support
+ Nike + iPod without dongle

Misses
- incompatibility with 'made for iPod' devices (bad, bad, bad)
- stainless steel backplate (fingerprints and scratches easily)
- no wireless synching
- no wireless playback of streamed iTunes content (an Appstore application can stream unprotected content, though)
- no visualizer
- no search function
- no playlist groups (why, oh why?)
- no GPS nor FM radio
- Notes not synched with MobileMe
- no hard drive mode
- no synching documents (except third party Apps)
- downsampling of photos
- currently tops out at 32GB (would have preferred 64)
- no bluetooth
6363 comments2,057 of 2,118 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon September 24, 2008
The new Apple iPod touch 32 GB (2nd Generation) has a few improvements over the first generation Apple iPod touch 32 GB. Overall, the improvements make it more attractive to new owners than to existing ones looking to upgrade. I will explain why I chose it, and ultimately whether the changes are enough for you is bound to be subjective.

Apple's 32GB iPod Touch is still the largest you can buy. The Apple iPod touch 8 GB (2nd Generation) model is priced so low that it is very attractive as an entry level unit. So from that perspective, the 16 GB model is kind of the ugly duckling since it's not much less than the 32 GB model. If you just need the WiFi browsing, the 8 GB model will meet those needs. If you want to put a decent amount of music and video on it, the 32 GB model is the way to go. I would recommend those who are considering the 16 GB model to step up to the 32 GB model if at all possible.

The unit finally has volume controls, and even adds a few features that were surprising such as the small speaker. But adding volume controls without track controls was surprising to me. And while the speaker is nice and the Nike integration is also nice, neither of those are deal breakers for me. The battery life improvement is noticeable. And web browsing is still great, though the wireless range has not been improved. Overall the best improvement is probably the lowered price, which is a bigger deal to those who were holding off. This is my third, and I'm still looking forward to the next version and more capacity.

For me, I found that the first generation player became much more of a multimedia device than my other MP3 players. I could live with some of the weaknesses, but the battery life really became an issue. That was even after disabling most power hogging features. I made sure to test this out for at least two weeks before making a judgement on this particular improvement. On the new one, the battery life is definitely improved though not nearly as much as advertised. The other big improvement is the addition of at least a few buttons for volume control.

Safari browsing still rocks, but the fact that they didn't upgrade the wireless is disappointing. I will hope that the next version will have stronger wireless and more capacity. If they can do that, they will be at a nice starting point for future generations to build on.

There is a widely publicized issue with wireless browsing on certain types of secured networks. You may have to reconfigure security at home or wait for an update. I have not directly experienced this and I only connect to secure WiFi, except for rare cases. I have still experienced a long time polling and connecting to WiFi networks however. Depending on many factors, you may need to wait for the next software update if this is a big issue for you.

Pros
+ 32GB of storage is a decent size for music and video for most users
+ Nice new lowered prices for each capacity level
+ Safari web browsing and easy WiFi hotspot setup still the best feature
+ Great design with a sleek thin body with slightly more curvature
+ Beautiful 320x480 pixel wide-screen provides pleasing video viewing
+ Turn to the side to view video using the full wide screen width
+ Orientation detection changes view to landscape mode automatically when turning iPod!
+ Brighter screen with great contrast and crisp sharp images
+ Wireless access via 802.11 b/g compliant antenna (still waiting for `n')
+ Wireless searching and video on mode can be disabled to extend battery life
+ Headphone jack compatible with standard phones
+ Genius playlist feature works well enough
+ New apps work great and give you stocks, maps, email, notes and weather
+ Supports both NTSC and PAL video out
+ Unlike iPod classic, all flash memory means less failures and breakage
+ Flash memory also awesome for running / working out, though I use my nano for that ;-)
+ Integration of Nike workout features also nice add-on
+ Cover-flow works better on the Touch with the software update
+ Slightly better sound quality than 2nd generation iPods
+ Small speaker is great for playing games or previewing tracks
+ Apple reputation is probably still worth the premium
+ Plenty of free video and audio teaser content available on iTunes
+ Easy access to iTunes right from your device over your local wireless internet!
+ Apple store provides easy access to more and more apps

Cons
- Still not enough capacity to make it a replacement for your disk-based player
- Still no track controls, though the volume controls and hold are nice add-ons
- Accessories such as cases that fit version 1 need to be replaced due to body redesign
- Screen requires "real touch," bad for those of us in cold weather cities
- Data port still seems cramped
- Still not backwards compatible with legacy docks and cables
- Battery life somewhat improved, but not nearly as much as advertised
- Only minimal usage of WiFi and video will allow regular daily usage on one charge
- No expandability or SD card slot like competing players
- Limited native formats (MP3, MPEG4, AAC) and high software overhead (still growing!)
- iTunes attempts to install extra software when updating!!!
- PDA functions such as calendar syncing and contact management still need work
- Still lacking some features such as built-in FM radio & voice recorder
- Missing wireless syncing and song transfer, features already on the Zune
- No Bluetooth for peripherals and accessories (strange considering Nike integration is based on bluetooth)
- No wireless synching or wireless access to iTunes WLAN libraries
- No WiFi viewing of live iTunes PodCasts
- Still no local viewing of PDF or other common document formats
- No mode to use as disk storage?!?!
- Still relatively expensive in GB/ $ terms

Conclusion

Overall this device is enough of an improvement to lure in more converts. Those who own the first generation iPod touch or want to store their entire music collection will probably want to wait. Except of course, if you must have one or more of those updated features (improved battery life, Nike integration, etc). In that case, you can find comfort in the slightly improved sound.

Enjoy!!!!
99 comments108 of 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2008
I've been an Ipod user for the last 4 1/2 years, starting with the 20gb 4th generation and the moving up to the 80gb Classic. I had been eyeing the Ipod Touch for the last year now, waiting for the 2nd generation version to come out, and now that I've bought one, I have to say, this is one of the best products I've ever used!

When you see the Touch for the first time, especially the 32gb version, you'll marvel at how thin the device actually is. It's actually thinner than the iPhone and lighter than my old 80gb Classic. The Ipod Touch fits my hand perfectly, and I've got big hands and long E.T. fingers (not that long). The build quality looks to be up to snuff although I haven't, and don't intend, to drop it (its bound to happen).

The external volume control, which only comes with the 2nd generation version, is a great thing to have when working out or listening to music. You can put the Touch to sleep, the screen will turn off and it will still play music, which is perfect for saving battery life. The Touch screen is prone to getting sticky if you like eating foods with grease and sauce but can be cleaned quite easily. The actual touch screen is very responsive. Its responsive enough to know exactly what you want to do with it and yet, it won't detect your fingers when you slightly brush against it by mistake.

The Ipod Touch has virtually every feature that the Iphone has, with the exception of phone capabilites, GPS, and microphone recording capabilites. Its got Music, Videos, Photos, Internet/WiFi, YouTube (You can bookmark and download Youtube videos, with an app...), E-Mail, Notes, Calculator, Stocks, Weather, Web Browser, Maps, ITunes...the works. But the one thing thats better than all of those features, is the App Store.

The App Store allows you to download, straight to your Ipod Touch of course, any application (Apps) that people create for the product. With the App Store, you can get, FOR FREE...Associated Press News, Internet Radio, Games (Card Games, Racing Games, RPG Games, All Games...), Wikipedia, More Stocks/Bonds, Online Book Readers and probably a thousand differnt things that I haven't mentioned. The App Store even has a customer-based 5-star review system for each application, so that you don't download a crappy one by mistake. The "Apps" and App Store is the Ipod Touch's bread and butter. The apps will have you using the Ipod Touch for the next 3-4 years as they greatly extend the usage and importance of the Ipod.

The battery life of the 2nd Gen Ipod Touch is supposed to be better than the first one and so far, I haven't run into any battery issues. The video quality looks great to me, especially when you download a high-def movie (Youtube videos look good as well). Everything can be displayed in Widescreen and the Touch can even flip the videos over, depending on how you tilt the device in your hand (Very Cool Feature, takes a min or two to get used to). Audio quality is similiar to any other Ipod, if you've ever used one. It sounds better than most mp3 players and now, with the 2nd generation Ipod Touch, its got an external speeaker, so you can pull out the headphones, put it on your desk at work, and dance until your fired.

It seems like Apple continues to reinvent the wheel with every new Ipod that they bring out to the market. Where the old Ipods where know for the "click-wheel," the Ipod Touch is going to be know for its near-perfect touch screen interface. Maybe it wasn't the first device to have a touch-screen but its certainly one of the best. I can't believe I waited a year to buy this thing. 10/10.
11 comment51 of 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2008
This is a great iPod as others have said in their reviews but a couple of warnings:
1) WiFi connections to routers using WPA encryption are a problem (hopefully will be fixed in future firmware update). There's a thread on Apple Support Forum with 6000 views so this is a common problem. Since WiFi is a big part of this ipod's appeal you may be disappointed.
2) Many accessories for Touch 1G (chargers, etc.) won't work with the Touch 2G.
66 comments135 of 154 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2009
I bought an ipod touch 2nd generation with 32GB about 6 months ago.

My Ipod was working fine for 4 months and it was great while it did. Then it crashed and the sleep button and the volume up and down buttons malfunctioned. I sent the unit back and was told that they could find nothing wrong with it and shipped it back. It continued to have the same problem and than about a week later somehow started working correctly again. Now two months later the unit literally died right in front of my eyes while I was holding it at work. Only six months old! I sent the unit back and this time it was returned with a note saying "we regret we were unable to complete the service you requested due to one of the following conditions - a diagnostic evaluation has determined the ipod has internal damage related to a liquid spill or contamination". The unit was never exposed to any water or other fluid as I treated it with TLC complete with a skin and screen cover. The only way it could have had water damage was if there was condensation. However, this seems unlikely since I live in the desert southwest. Anyway, i called apple after receiving the letter and they could offer no help at all.

I have always been an early adopter of new technologies and guess I have just been lucky not have any issues with any of my electronic equipment. However, this series of events has frankly left me feeling very cheated. I had already bought an additional Iphone for my wife and another Ipod touch for an another family member. So far without issue. However, I wish I knew how apple treated its customer before hand! Never would have bought them.

As it stands, I had four people at work convinced that they needed to have an ipod touch prior to my experience. All of them have since reconsidered. Economic times are tough, to tough to throw $400.00 in the trash!
11 comment70 of 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2008
I was so excited to replace my 4th generation iPod with the 2nd gen iPod touch. Of course this was a major upgrade. It's great to have the speaker, which isn't that loud at the highest volume, if I just want to listen without earbuds. The volume control on the side is also a great feature. It's fun to have the applications. I love how I can download apps or songs directly onto the iPod via wifi. Then when I connect it to iTunes, the apps and songs are backed up.

My only issue is not being able to use my old iPod car charger. It can only be charged with the usb cable. Luckily it has a battery life for up to 36 hours audio or 6 hours video.

Overall, I think it's a fun gadget to have. I'm looking forward to watching movies on it during road trips or at work when no one is around.
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2009
All of the neat lights & whistles in the world become irrelevant if the battery life of a device can't support the functionality. Amazon.com was great in its customer support--providing prepaid shipping for the return and, I assume, a full refund once they receive the product. Now, on to comments on the product.

First, Apple seems to believe that its products are self-explanatory. There is not even a "Quick Start" guide included with the product--everything is online. Maybe folks who are on their third or fourth or n-th iPod can learn as they go, but those of us who are new to iPods need support and guidance. Perhaps, Apple doesn't care about expanding its market (to us). But, what led us to return this item was the really, really bad battery life--consistent with the vast majority of blogs on the Touch 2G. Case in point, with about 20% battery life left, iPod was shut down for the night (fully shut down, not just sleeping). The next morning, "critically low battery" was how we were greeted. And, we had not even graduated to video downloads--just CD rips and internet surfing. Further, each time we put the iPod on a charger, it would power up--kind of counter-productive to recharging the battery. In one case, it glowed like a night light for the entire time it was charging, and the next morning still showed "low batt." Nothing in the online owners' manual suggested that this was normal--or, for that matter, what to expect while charging. This goes back to my opening comments about owner support. Why does Apple keep useful information so secret?

I bought the iPod Touch, rather than an iPhone, because I didn't want my use of neat functions (fun & games) to leave me with a dead cell battery (not good, in case of emergency). My experience with the iPod Touch 2G has confirmed this thinking--a cell phone is for making calls & (maybe) texting; if you want toys, get another device.

Conclusions: At best, give Apple some time to improve the battery performance of the iPod Touch 2G. Without battery life, you've got nothing! At worst, move on to another toy.
11 comment25 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2009
I bought a new iPod Touch 2g 16gb right when they came out at the end of 2008. I love it and I use it every day. I like it so much that last week I ordered another one. This time I decided to get a 32gb model.

When I was setting up the 32gb model, I noticed some severe problems with the screen. Overall, there was less detail in the image. For example, text labels for program icons were rough and pixilated around the edges.

Also, when there was any kind of motion in the screen (flipping through menu pages, movement in video, scrolling email messages) I could see harsh horizontal lines flickering throughout the parts that were moving. Even when nothing was moving on the screen, there was a slight but irritating flicker in the picture every few seconds. My 2g 16gb iPod Touch does not do any of this!

I tried watching part of a video on my new 32gb iPod and little lines of pixels were flickering throughout the picture. When I watch the same video file on my 16gb, the picture is solid and sharp. The 32gb model looks like it has serious interlacing problems, like there are always scan lines running through the image.

I went to the Apple store to ask for advice. Two employees told me that they could definitely see the lines running through the screen of my new iPod touch and one "genius" admitted that it was a common problem in the iPods. (At first he told me that _all_ iPod touches have screens like that, but when I told him my 2g 16gb Touch was fine he changed his story and said that maybe 10% are bad.)

I was hoping to exchange my defective model at the store for one that worked, but the Apple employee discouraged me from doing that. He told me that if I exchange it at the Apple Store, I might get another one with a bad screen or I might end up with a used or refurbished model that is in much worse shape than the one I just bought. He recommended that I return it to the retailer instead.

On my way out of the Apple Store, I tested a few of the models on display. All of the iPod Touches had defective screens with the same severe interlacing problem. However all of the iPhones looked perfect, just like my 16gb iPod Touch. If Apple knows this is a problem, and if they obviously know how to make a screen that works, why won't they fix or replace the defective ones?

Since the Apple Store wouldn't help me, I crossed my fingers and returned the defective 32gb iPod to Amazon for a replacement. I received the replacement today, and it has exactly the same problem. I'm returning the second defective 32gb iPod Touch for good, and I won't order another one.

If you do an internet search for iPod Touch and "interlacing" or "scan lines" you'll find a lot of people are having the exact same problem with recent 32gb iPod Touches.

I still love my 2g 16gb iPod Touch and I'll keep using it until it dies, but I doubt I'll buy another Apple product again until the company faces up to this issue and apologizes to its customers. The screen on the 16gb 2g I bought last year is wonderful, and the iPod Touch itself is an incredible little machine. I know Apple can do this right, but I'm not going to keep giving them my money when they fail to take responsibility for manufacturing problems and/or obviously defective merchandise.

Buyer beware!
11 comment32 of 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2009
I was very excited to purchase my Ipod touch and really loved all the features. It really does do everything. I even purchased the Nike + for it and with an arm band, and silicone case, used to it work out. About 4 months after purchase, the on/off button stopped resonding, then the wi-fi stopped working, then my Nike + was not recognized. I called Apple and they promptly sent me a box to ship it back to them for repair. I was advised by Apple the next day that my Ipod had water damage?? And it was being shipped back to me unrepaired as this was not covered by their warranty. I never got the thing wet! I never took it in the rain! The only thing I can think of was sweat from when I worked out and/or humidity. I did a little research on line and found out that the water sensor can be tripped very easily by both humidity and as little as a speck of water, rendering your ipod full of problems. You would think that since this Ipod has the built in Nike+ feature and is suppose to be great to work out with, it could withstand some sweat or humidity. I do live in MI and we do get humid weather here on certain days. I am very disappointed in this product and find it to be extremely flimsy. I spent $369 on a product 4 months ago that I am now going to have to have repaired at some ridiculous price! Apple customer service was not very helpful and made me feel like I was lying to them! While I love the design and all the capabilities of the Ipod Touch, I think Apple needs to rethink its durability design.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2009
I've held off on writing a review of the iPod Touch 2G 32GB...simply because I was afraid of how long a review it would be. Lengthy, only because of its fine features and excellent performance!

*exhales deeply*

...let's give it a go, shall we?

The 2nd generation of the iPod touch features:

-motion sensitivity, which means that the screen on your touch will rotate depending on how you hold your iPod touch. VERY COOL!

-volume buttons on the side, which is VERY, VERY convenient for being able to adjust volume without having to unlock the iPod every time a song gets too loud/quiet!

Some Favorite Features:

CALENDAR
I bought the Touch because of it's Calendar feature, as surprising as it may be! Once synced with Microsoft Outlook, all my calendar data was immediately transferred to the Touch. Rather than being a music/video/photo player, exclusively, the Touch also became my personal day-timer. And boy, with a busy schedule, it's nice to be able to have all that information at your fingertips...literally. Adding/editing appointments is easy as anything.

Which leads me into typing with the Touch

TYPING
Typing with the Touch, is AMAZINGLY sensitive! Granted the thinner your fingers are, the easier it will be, but still...it can accurately tell the difference between typing a 'T' or a 'Y'. Fabulous! I will say that typing on the landscape mode (or horizontally) is preferred and considerably easier and feels more natural.

Typing e-mails, web URLS, calendar events...all this, is very easy and convenient. For e-mails, please note that the 'Mail' application of the Touch does not rotate and thus, you cannot type horizontally. HOWEVER, there are a variety of 3rd party applications available for that, and they work marvelously...so, no worries. (I recommend FireMail).

WEB-BROWSING
By far, the COOLEST feature, in my opinion. There's nothing like checking your favorite websites and physically interacting it! With a touch of my finger, I can click a link. With simple finger movements, you can zoom in/zoom out...anywhere on the page.

Now, granted, you need a WIFI connection, but if you are like me (a college student), then...hopefully, most of your campus/work-environment is already wireless! In which case, you are good to go! I can be in the Student Union or in my dorm, and still be fully connected at all times!

APPLICATIONS
Applications, are your best friend...thanks to some savvy programmers! Of all the applications I have downloaded and used, the Apple Remote application blows my mind the most!

Just imagine...you can control the iTunes library on your computer...BY YOUR IPOD TOUCH! SNAP! Once I got it connected (easy to do...takes...1 second), I was just browsing my computer's music library on my Touch. VERY COOL!

Some other games/apps utilize the Touch's internal gyroscope (which allows for motion sensitivity) and makes usage a lot of fun. From bowling to beer pong, you can find many games to entertain you (and people watching you swing your Touch in the air and scream, "STRIKE!").

VIDEO
Fight Club or Casino Royale...in the palm of your hands! Damn straight! The video quality is phenomenal and it's just, overall, very convenient to be able to watch movies whenever you want. There is a nifty feature that, when you decide to leave the movie...it'll start up exactly where you left off when you return to the movie!

ADDITIONAL THOUGHTS

The Touch also features a built-in NIKE+ receiver...which I have yet to use as I use my 1G NANO for that. In all honesty, I'm still a little bit too nervous to go running with a 400 dollar iPod. But that's just me.

I didn't cover the Photo feature, so here's my 5 seconds on it: The pictures will rotate when you rotate your Touch. You can also zoom/zoom out by using your fingers. Simply put, too cool.

NOW, you're thinking...okay...okay...I'm gonna spend the money on it, but wait...what about protecting it from everyday use?

WISE QUESTION!

I had the same concerns and from my experience with iPods (I own 4), the back of the iPod is like a scratch magnet! Not to mention, the entire front screen of the iPod is well...pretty darned important. For that, I would recommend Zagg's Invisible Shield. You may have seen the youtube videos where a key is used on the back of an iPhone?

It works...seriously. I took a key to the front and back and...nothing. Now it is a bit tricky to install, but once it's done...it is well worth the effort...and price!

I use my Touch...everyday! I check my e-mails, weather, websites, calendar, and even my to-do list. And protected by the Invisible Shield, I have no worries about putting it in my pocket with my keys!

All I can really say is: You have to experience owning a Touch, to really understand why we Touch owners love it so much. You won't get tired of playing with it, and even if you do...you cannot get tired of its functionality, which is unparalleled!

BUY IT!
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 243 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.