Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2010
i bought this a year ago and after 1 month the power supply failed. just 1 month old :(
problem happened again 3 times. This netbook is realy C*rap.
I have HP mini and it never gave me a problem at all. i recomend HP or gateway over samsung.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2010
I've owned this item for ~2yrs now. It replaced a 14" Averatec laptop (AMD-2200M) and feels zippier than it for practically all applications. It's also *much* more portable! I chose it primarily to support my photography when travelling -- it has a large hard drive I can use to free up my memory cards, and a decent display that I can use to review my pictures. In this role, I've been exceedingly pleased with this product.

The keyboard is excellent, and I was immediately able to touch-type on it at full speed. The matte display is also a plus, as it is much more readable outside. The wireless is better at getting and holding a signal than any laptop I've owned before or since.

My main complaint is that the touchpad is very sensitive and small, and especially under Ubuntu, I find that I am frequently clicking when I meant to drag-scroll. The screen resolution is lower than I'd like, making web surfing a little less enjoyable, and it struggles to play hulu full-screen, but I was aware of this going in.

The unit is still running solidly, and I'm still getting ~5+hrs of battery life on the original.

I supplemented this unit with 2G of memory and an external DVD writer. I'd recommend these accessories as well, as they improve the usability of the netbook.

If you're looking for a netbook and are aware of the limitations incurred by its form factor, in my opinion the nc10 still represents many of the best-in-class design decisions for this product category.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2010
My NC10 worked well for almost a year and then a problem started: when charging the computer while it was running, the screen would totally white out. If I unplugged the charger, it would return to normal. I checked the internet and saw that this was a common problem with NC10s. Unfortunately by the time I contacted Samsung, I had owned the computer for about one week over the one-year warrantee period. The representative that I talked with contacted his supervisor and said that they would honor the warrantee. I told him that I was on travel and could not return the computer for about a month, and he agreed that this was ok - he would document our call so the rep I talked to in a month could see his notes. When I got home after a month, I called Samsung to arrange the return of the computer for repair, and this time I was told that they would not honor the warrantee. I asked them to check with a supervisor but still got turned down. The rep referred me to an authorized repair facility where I was told that the problem was probably a harness and that there was a bulletin out from Samsung pointing out this problem. This defective harness was clearly a design or manufacturing defect and it is unfortunate that Samsung won't back their product. I paid $81.49 for the repair and all seems well again, but it will be the last Samsung I will buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2010
I have absolutely no complaints about this netbook.Has been my everyday computer for a year and a half
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2010
Don't believe the stated battery life. I mainly bought this netbook because of the long battery life advertised. After a short period of time, it would not hold a charge for very long. Now after 6 months or so, the battery dies in less than 8 hours even when the laptop is turned off. It is not very fast and with the lack of battery, it is not a useful laptop for travel. The screen is tiny, so it is not very useful for home either. I would not buy another one, although it is light for travel, if you can't use it without keeping it plugged in, it doesn't matter how light it is.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2010
As a testament to the reliability of the NC10 I thought i would post this.
My wife is hooked on facebook, and spends all evening every evening tending her farm. The NC10 has spent every night 5hrs+ for well over a year running on battery and has never missed a beat.
Personally i think everyone should try one before comitting to a netbook. The screen is too small to display a web page properly, with the wrong aspect ratio. And typing on the keyboard is a challenge for fat fingered folk like me.
I just got rid of a 10" dell and will probaly try the iPad for a bit before moving back to a "proper" notebook.
But my wife likes her NC10 and thats whats important.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2010
I got this almost a year ago, use it only on my home wireless network, and have had no real problems. A few minor issues were resolved by googling, reading the forums at [...], and just getting reacquainted with my router. From others' experiences, I guess I'm lucky not to need Samsung support.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2010
This Machine Broke Four times in less than a year same issue everytime with the LCD screen..Samsung does not stand behind their 1 yr warranty..Keep away from Samsung Notebooks/Netbooks..Repair turnaround is 3-4 weeks, usually done by third party companies.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2010
I got this netbook April 2009. It's one of the best decisions I've made. it's so light and portable. taking a laptop with me when i go out was a decision...not anymore. so far i haven't faced a problem with it.
I have a regular sized Toshiba that i don't use anymore ( it seems gigantic compared to the NC 10)
my only complain would be that it doesn't have a DVD drive, but i bought a portable one (to watch my netflix movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2010
This computer is okay, but I would never buy it again. I have only had it since August of 2009 (only 6-7 months). Here are my problems with it:

1. [Since I first got it] Anytime I shut it down or restart it, I may have to log in 20 times before it'll work. The login screen comes up, I type in my password, and then it shows my desktop background. That is it. I cannot do ANYTHING except CTRL+ALT+Delete to log off and then try it again. Sometimes it will work the first time, but sometimes I literally try 20 times before I finally get my computer loaded up. THUS I keep it on STANDBY almost all the time because I don't have time for it to be so unpredictable on startup.

2. [New problem, within last several days] I have been having this problem with my screen turning completely white whenever my computer is plugged in. Sometimes changing the angle of the screen will help, but mostly it is just a pain. Apparently this is a common problem. Here is one site you can look at: [...] . For more, just do a search for "Samsung nc10 white screen". Trust me, you'll find stuff.

I guess it is a problem with some cable/harness connected to the screen. I did try reinstalling the OS last night, but I am still having the problem with the screen. In fact, a few minutes ago my screen turned black, and I had to put it on standby and start it back up again because nothing else would get it back to normal.

Ever since I reinstalled the OS, however, the function keys (mentioned below as the only thing I like about this computer vs. the other netbook I had) are non-functional. They don't do anything. This is extremely frustrating, as I cannot change the screen brightness or the volume, or check my battery power like normal. In addition, the computer does not recognize when my headphones are plugged into the jack, so I cannot watch the video clip I wanted to (the sound won't

3. Bluetooth and the Synaptics touchpad are constantly crashing, and the only way to get them back up and running is to restart the computer.

4. The whole computer seems overall cheap... cheap plastic shell that is cracked, the battery does not last as long as it is supposed to, etc.

5. Speakers are very quiet. I can hardly hear anything out of them when they are turned all the way up. I almost always have to resort to headphones, which makes me wonder what the point of the speakers is.

Things I like:

1. I like all the keyboard shortcuts (Fn+Esc=Standby, Fn+F2=Battery juice left, Fn+F5=Backlight off, Fn+F6=Sound off, and of course the volume and brightness keys, etc.).

I'm getting an Acer when this one finally bites the dust, which I expect won't be very long... (I wrote this review yesterday, and have edited it a couple times since. Upon finishing this review, I will be ordering an Acer - tried and true.)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.