Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 10, 2009
I bought this just before I went to Hawaii to go scuba diving. I went up to 80 feet underwater and took pictures and made movies. There was no fogging in the lens. I didn't use the diffusion plate it was sunny and bright underwater. The pictures came out good just as if you took them on land. The camera is great with the underwater setting.

This is the second waterproof case I got. The first one is for an older camera like 6 years ago. I had issues with it like the fogging. This one didn't and I guess Canon found a way to eliminate that.

Here are two tips that I want to share with you other than make sure your battery is fully charged. 1) Set the camera to Underwater setting before you go under. If you want to take a picture above the water, like if you went snorkeling and want to take a picture of the beach from the water, you can easily switch to Auto. Then when you go back underwater, switch back to Underwater (Program). 2) When you make a movie, try to be a motionless body, moving only the camera. I find that while kicking the fins, both at the surface (snorkeling) or underwater (scuba diving) moves the camera too much that the image stabilization doesn't really work well. The more still you are, the better it looks like those underwater films you see on TV. Easier to zoom in and out.

The most important tip which I learned the hard way but quickly learned via the display after shooting. You MUST allow the camera to focus first before you shoot when it is in the case. Kinda hard when you see a fish or turtle underwater at the last second that you want to shoot before it swims away. That requires skill to allow a little planning.

I also brought it with me when we went to the fair and it was raining outside, I popped the camera in the case and took some fun pictures in the rain. Gotta live a little and have fun.

The buttons on the case is easy to use and everything the only thing that is the opposite is the Auto/Program/Movie switch. On the camera you, slide up for Auto and down for Movie. It is the opposite when it is in the case, you slide down for Auto and up for Movie, kinda hard to get it in Program. Just watch the display to see which setting it is on.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2009
I have had several underwater digital Canons, including G7, S330. I got this SD1200 because wifey also wanted to take pictures while I was messing with my G7 and strobe. Messing, because the G7 camera didn't always take the picture on the first flash, and didn't always fire twice either. No one can use 6x zoom underwater, so the SD1200 with 3x has a shorter "nose" which means a reasonable sized lens cavity, and therefore the internal flash actually works. At 30-60 feet, make sure you are 2-3 feet from your subject, closer is better. In shallower water, depending on the visibility, maybe up to 10 feet. Make sure you have a dessicant pack from a bottle of vitamins, and don't leave the case in the sun at any time, and don't assemble in A/C room: no fog on lenses :)
Another reason for the 1200 is the latest Digic IV, lower power, better software, better sensitivity, and who needs much more than 10 Mpix, it's wasted under water.
Great cam for above water too, even night shots are good, but not as good as a DSLR.
Make sure to try the underwater mode (not aquarium), a bit hard to find, but much better colors (less blue saturation).
Having had a lot of mileage on my previous cases, I found the need to replace small pieces, but can't seem to get any from Canon, you have to buy a new shell.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2010
We purchased the Canon SD1200 IS camera and Canon WP-DC20 underwater housing for it to use for a dive vacation in Bonaire. It was very easy to use, and very light and easy to carry (there is no need for any weight system). We did not have a strobe, and had no problems with light issues. Very sharp photos and realistic colors. Both seahorses 1 foot away, and squidd 10 feet away, came out sharp. Just put it in Manual "Underwater" mode (select DISP to find this hidden selection) and drop it in the housing. Gave the SD1200 camera a 4 star as the size is almost too small and hard to handle outside of the underwater housing, and annoying whirring noise whenever in Auto Mode used on land. Will use my older Canon SD800IS for non-underwater use (I love that camera). I would consider purchasing a different camera/housing combination with a larger display if I did it again, but definitely happy with Canon and the WP-DC20 underwater housing. Of course, we ended up also purchasing a Toshiba 10" netbook to download and view and photos and we love it! For the money, this was a great purchase.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
FOr the occasional diver, one that doesn't do it often enough to merit expensive equipment, this little case is a sweet deal. It performed with very good detail and color. Now, you can't beat physics( red light gets absorbed in only a few feet under water), and the photos (any UW photo), had the typical blueish cast. I was diving in relatively shallow waters (20 feet), so the situation was better and the pictures ultimately reflect the way I saw the reef. The use of the flash was more iffy, but I didn't get the time to play with it. I'll be looking fw to more dives with this photo equipment.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2010
I've owned a Nikonos V & a Ewa-Marine bag (hated it) both of which are hard to use. This housing is simple to use and makes underwater photography a breeze. I used mine for snorkeling and a friend used his diving down to 100 feet so far. If you are a casual scuba diver or snorkeler (or just want to use it by the beach or pool) this product makes underwater photography so easy. The SD1200 has an underwater setting but I never used it and photos & videos turned out fine. The unit floated at the surface in salt water so I wasn't worried when the kids passed it back & forth while we were snorkeling in St. Kitts.

Read the manual on oiling the O ring seal and keep it out of direct light when not using it. Rinse with fresh water after use and wash & dry before storing the unit. I put my O ring in a small plastic zip bag for storage with a fresh coating of oil, a spare O ring would have been nice considering what the housing cost.

What to look out for:
The Canon housing ONLY fit one camera model so make sure you have the right match before ordering. I bought another body just for use with this housing since they change camera models SOOOO often.
It is easy to accidentally switch from "AUTO to stills to video" so keep an eye on that setting.
My zoom lever got sticky but rinsing in clear water fixed that.
Have a fully charged good battery & a card with lots of room before heading out, I never open mine when I'm out at the ocean.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
I bought this thing for some snorkeling in Curacao and it was phenomenal! On some of our swims I didn't even take the camera and just used this to hold our keys and IDs.

The price might be off-putting at first, but you get what you pay for... this thing is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2011
This case was used on a couple of recent dives and it performed very well. Pictures were fantastic (after color correction in Photoshop). Assembly and care was straight forward - simply following the instructions that came with the case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2010
I recently purchased a Canon underwater case for a SD1200 and used it for snorkleing on vacation. I look about 500 pictures and it worked perfect. I was a little concerned about the trouble of cleaning the case, but it was easy. I'am very happy with product.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2010
I bought this to go with the camera Canon PowerShot SD1200IS 10 MP Digital Camera with 3x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom and 2.5-inch LCD (Silver) I've had for about 3 months just in time for a vacation to the Caribbean where I knew we would be diving.
I had previously used a cheap underwater 35mm camera and was usually disappointed by the results.
This time I'm totally ecstatic about this one.
I'm not into 'diving though the viewfinder' so I don't want or need a big rig. I just want something that will sit in my BC pocket and take great snaps of the fish and coral. And this does that.
The fact that it means I can shoot great video as well is a bonus.
The case was easy to open and close. No fogging, despite at least once being set up in a room with some air conditioning going.
The controls are easy to operate. My wife who hates fiddly buttons was able to take nice pics with it.
The wrist strap with the little adjuster meant it felt secure when I took it off the retractor and popped it on my wrist.
I've got pictures and video that mean I'll be able to relive some fantastic scuba experiences over and over....
If you have this camera and dive or snorkel then not getting the case is a huge mistake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2011
Very impressed have now made 12 dives with case no leaks or problems. have taken camera to 6 dives around 180' the rest averaging 130'. Would buy again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.