Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: RCA One For All Cable Replacement Remote OARP05S (Discontinued by Manufacturer)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 31, 2009
I'm not sure why this is labeled as a kid friendly remote (December '09). The One-For-All OARP05S is a pretty capable and affordable remote control. It is well laid out, with the full set of DVR control buttons and color coded menu buttons. It is a learning remote (you can teach it things from other remotes that don't transfer with the codes), you can program 2 macro keys, and it has master power control. I gave it to my parents to control their DirecTV DVR for Christmas. I planned on going over the next day to program the remote, but they already had it set up by entering the codes for their TV and satellite receiver, which says something about how easy it is to use. I haven't had an opportunity to try the learning and macro functions, but I have no reason to believe that they won't work. You can download the manual under Service and Support at the One-For-All web site. I don't know why this remote isn't more popular, having looked closely at dozens of options, this remote is a winner for capability, simplicity, and affordability.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2010
Like the other reviewer mentions, I'm not sure why this is called a kid's remote. the button layout is nice and it controls my Magnavox TV, Toshiba DVD player, and even my AppleTV with the included codes . . . no problems.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2011
We happen to have a Scientific Atlanta cable box with integrated DVR, and this remote mapped over wonderfully to the one provided by our cable company. Additionally it learned some custom commands for a less-common media player we use. If I could have one more feature added it would be backlit keys, but even without that feature we are quite happy with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2010
This is my first universal remote. I purchased it because I was sick of juggling 5 different remotes to control my devices. I was able to successfully program it to my TV, DVD player, Blu-Ray player, and even my Roku in minutes! (A tip for Roku users, program it using the CBL/SAT key.) I really love the learning mode, it was easy to individually program any buttons that weren't working properly. I'm very glad I purchased this remote!

UPDATE: I initially gave this product a 5-star review, but I am updating it to 3 stars because I have experienced some issues with the remote "forgetting" my devices.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2011
its a ONE FOR ALL REMOTE not RCA (although im not sure if they are one company,)

Pros: easy to set up
works with Direct Tv

Cons: most of the buttons are tiny
i find it uncomfortable to handle
its rather long for my hands

Doesn't have the skip scene for the dvd player
(which sucks or maybe theres a different setting to it)

All in all a good buy ,
but i bought another remote for a much cheaper price
and has a skip scene button for dvd
RCA RCRN04GR 4 Device Universal Remote with Green Backlit Keypad (Gloss Black)
Gets the work done has a Auto Code Search so u dont have to press numbers.
i recommend this to users that want a simple yet reliable remote.
i use it for my 4 device Direct tv receiver, Tv , blu ray , and Dvd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2010
I've seen all kinds of remotes and all kinds of prices for remotes, but this little gem is simply amazing.. The big draw here is that all but 7 buttons can be taught to do anything.. Over 40 buttons can be assigned a function from other remotes.. As long as the remote is IR, it'll handle it.. I have FIOS TV and the remote comes preloaded to work with there set top boxes, no worries I've tried this remote on other equipment and it worked perfectly.. At this price I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND that if you're looking for a universal remote to give this one a shot before spending upwards of $50-80 on some remote that looks space age and lights up all pretty like.. Excellent buy..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2010
An excellent multi remote, especially with DTV. Works many items and has excellent key coverage, that is all the buttons are there. Most cheaper remotes will not work the input key for various TV's, this one will. A VERY iomportamt feature for HD use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2013
Arrived promptly and in good condition.
Can be programmed using JP-1 connection to USB - connect to computer.
Allows lots of memory for Learning function if needed after computer programming.
Fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2011
This remote worked out to be a direct replacement for my Cox remote. I was able to program all the functions from the Cox remote this new one. I also like this better because the keys are arranged in a better order. I received item in record time, and was able to track shipment from start to finish easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
I got the item quickly and it was exactly as described. It's always great getting what was advertised at a great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.