Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Holy Bible, King James Version Old & New Testaments (with Book and Chapter Index, Searchable)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 6, 2010
I wanted an inexpensive, basic KJV Bible for my Kindle, so I'd have a travel Bible plus a handy one when I'm on the go. This is not my regular reading Bible. My regular reading Bible is not KJV. I wish my regular reading Bible were available for Kindle (Lamsa translation of Peshitta), but it seems unlikely that will happen.

That said, it seems search is the biggest objection raised with regard to this e-Bible. I haven't found search to be an issue, unless I'm being ignorant. There's a table of contents (access via "Go to") and all the links to the various books seem to work. Once at a book, all the chapter numbers are at the beginning and those links seem to work. One must page through the verses. Further, if I use "search this book" to find a passage or topic, that works. It does not work if one uses book, chapter, verse; it does work if one enters a word or words contained in the verse; in other words, like an electronic concordance.

This is all sufficient for my needs. I realize it might not meet everyone's needs. My intent is simply to state specifically what does work and how.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2009
This bible for Kindle would be OK except that there are many book and chapter links that do not work. I'm using a Kindle 2 so I suppose that it might work on the 1 but I suspect not. I tried to make contact with the organization that put this E-book together using the information contained with-in but I've received no response. So, unfortunately, I have to recommend against purchasing this one.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2009
Without a functioning "Go to Location" link this version is useless. If you want to read the Bible from front to back this is fine but you cannot go to any specific verse with the Go TO function.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2009
so the desciption indicates that the book is searchable - it is not nor are the other kindle for pc books - not great
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2010
I just wanted to point out that either they have corrected the searchability problem others have mentioned or the problem is not universal. My copy was searchable instantly upon downloading. I will concede that I have not verified every link, but it does include a table of contents and at the beginning of each book there are links to each chapter of that book. As far as the convenience and portability is concerned this is a great option considering the price and I give it five stars for those reasons only, since they were the primary reasons I purchased this particular copy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2010
You cant go to a location in this version. If you want to read from cover to cover then this is for you but if not its frustrating.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
Old English which I do like, This is a Classic version of the Bible, Some of what is here is never quite said the same when put in to english. One must remember though that this is "The King James Version" just as it says and that the Bible was not originally in this format as well. But this is worth having as it has a style to what it says.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2014
I personally don't like the contents. I don't like the structure of the books that is, its difficult to search. I think the table of contents should be similar to the overall or general style all paper books have.With that style you identify that book and know what page to begin your search.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2011
I did not intend to buy this version of the Bible. I was looking at different versions but accidentlly bought this one. When I tried to navigate to the choice to Return or Not Buy (whatever it says on the Kindle screen) the cursor would not go back to that choice. This is one part of the Kindle that I Don't Like At All. Otherwise, I have enjoyed owning my Kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
Over my 54 plus years, Bible study was done in bits and pieces. I had read the New Testament in full twice before, but only select stories from The Old Testament. Doing so provided a much better understanding of the progression of man's journey with God, exposing the foreshadowing/prophecies of the coming of Christ. Sadly, it seems man still has a lot of development to go before achieving the expectations of our Lord. Praying for wisdom and grace from God to help fulfill His will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.