Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now SnS

Size: 6-PackColor: Assorted ColorsChange
Price:$9.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I purchased these despite several reviews mentioning that the "non-primary" colors were watery, washed out, faded, and such. I was pleasantly surprised to see all the pens wrote clear, vibrant colors on my dry erase board.

Other reviewers expressed some concern about the quality of some colors included in this set. I produced the attached video to provide a comparison. The images show what was written on my white board and the colors are not enhanced in any way.

As an aside, not only are these the best retractable dry erase markers, they are effectively the only ones. I had previously purchased the Avery Retractable Whiteboard Markers and was disappointed that they were all dried out when they arrived. I called the company and found they stopped making them in 2007.

As far as I can tell, these are not only a great choice for retractable dry erase markers, they are the only choice available.
22 comments34 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2011
This capless marker is the best. It works just like a retractable pen. There is a button on the top of the barrel that clicks once to open, and clicks again to retract. The button is slightly stiff to push, but even a small child can manage. The capless design seals well so the marker doesn't dry out.

[Note: The other capless design by the same company has a slightly wider barrel. There is a slider on the side of the barrel which you use to push the felt tip out, and a button that retracts the felt tip. The slider is extremely stiff. A child or someone with arthritis would have a difficult time operating the other capless model.] That's why this one is the best.
11 comment27 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2012
Bought these for working chemistry problems on a small whiteboard instead of on scratch paper that I just threw away. They lasted for about a semester before some colors began to dry out. They also don't have very fine tips. It's sort of like writing with a "fine" tip Sharpie. I think I'll look for some "ultra-fine" tip for my small whiteboard. Overall these markers were okay, but nothing spectacular.
11 comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
The good - variety in colors, retractable

The bad - after a few months of light usage the tips are worn down and are no longer fine, and the black has worn down to gray with white streaks. Disappointed at longevity. I am using for very light household use - mostly to keep a calendar of family events. Overall, I had better luck with a 4 pack of generic dry erase markers from the dollar store.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We go through potato sacks full of dry erase markers at our center; many of them are short lived because the lids don't always get back to the markers in a timely manner. I bought a pack of these retractable markers for a change of pace and for a comparison test.

These markers have nice tips, broad enough for good visibility and yet narrow enough to write legible numbers and letters on work sheets. All the colors are intense enough for my taste; red and purple are my favorites. I elicited opinions from fellow teachers and students with universal thumbs ups. The younger students especially like these click markers though some can get carried away with using the clicking function.

The jury is still out on longevity, but so far these "fashion color markers" are definite winners.
11 comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2010
I'm always forgetting to put the cap back on the markers. I just click these when I'm done writing, and they seem to last a long time. They have a protective plate near the end that closes when the pen is retracted so they don't dry out easily (providing one retracts frequently). Also I like the fine point and slim style, easy to write like a pen. Of course, I should caveat this with my style - I have several boards that I can hold or set on my lap, I use them when I design software systems. So I really do write with them like a pen. I keep a digital camera handy so I can capture a picture when I want to save the results. I don't know how they would be in a conventional setting when a lot of people have to see it, the fine point is probably not what you're looking for. So I'm giving this a 5-star rating assuming that this kind of marker is what fits best in your situation.
11 comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2011
Tried these as a replacement for now-discontinued Boone set that came with our perpetual calendar (a household management staple). Disappointed in their performance on alternate surfaces like the Boone calendar, mirrors, etc. Primary colors are dark and readable, but others (orange, purple, green) are watery and faint. They're OK on a regular whiteboard, but not great. Lines are not entirely solid, for lack of a better word.
11 comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
The click feature is awesome. I but click anything really. I tend to lose caps so this works great for me. I docked it a star because the ink tends to bubble and looks spotted when it dries. It not a big deal at all but I might be OCD about small details. Doesn't smell bad at all. Erases well. I would reorder them.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2012
we go through markers so fast because of losing tops... and in the car its more difficult if the kids drop a top because they are strapped in the carseat. these eliminate that problem, and the colors are nice and bold.
11 comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2011
I was so excited to get these markers thinking they would be a finer/smaller version of the regular chiseled expo markers....BOY WAS I WRONG!!! The ink is extremely "watery". It is very similar if one would use a regular marker on say a plastic bag (the ink separates into blobs). Not only that, but, the purple, green, and orange does not show up well on a white dry erase board OR glass. Maybe this package was a fluke, but I've seen other reviews similar to my experience so I will be returning these for a refund. I loved the click design and, again, am very let down. This is also true for the black, red, and blue markers.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.