Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$219.99+ $4.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 6, 2010
The iPod Nano update on September 1, 2010 is arguably the most dramatic since the iPod Nano moniker was introduced by Apple five years ago.

Several colors are being offered in both 8 GB & 16 GB capacities.

More than an update, this is a new product that simply retains the iPod Nano name. It gains a significant feature, but loses several others.

The big deal is the touch interface on the newest iPod Nano. iPod Nano users will now be "touching," their music as iPod Touch and iPhone users have before them. The click wheel is gone. To find your music, you select a category from the Nano's menu such as "Playlists," or "Artists," and select from there. Less convenient or more convenient than a click wheel? Honestly, about equal. The screen is indeed small, but not unusable.

FM Radio has been retained as well as the Fitness aspects with the ability to use Nike + or simply the built in pedometer. However, the form factor will be a major benefit for those working out with the Nano. The previous Nano required an armband to keep it on you while working out, jogging, or the like. Not always comfortable, an additional expense, etc. However, with this new small, square form factor that need is gone. Now, we can simply "clip," the Nano onto us, with the built in clip, and run to our listening content. A bigger deal than you might think.

The downside? Features have been removed from Nano. The screen is much smaller than the previous generation. Therefore, playback of video content from iTunes is gone. Nano no longer plays video, which was a feature added three years ago. Secondly, last year, Nano added a small video camera to record low quality video, which could be played back on the Nano's screen or synced with iTunes and viewed on your computer. That feature is gone too. The device is too small now for a camera or to watch video. This new generation iPod Nano has many exciting new features, but buyers must be aware that it is no longer a video player. It is something new. Those wishing to play video on an iPod must choose an iPod Touch.

My opinion on this change? Honestly, did I ever watch video on the iPod Nano's screen? No. For me, while they kept trying to make the screen larger, it was simply too small to enjoy more than a once a year video. Likewise, the camera was simply not high enough quality to keep yourself entertained by using on a regular basis. It became a feature unused by many.

The iPod Nano has changed and gone back to being an exceptional music player. There is nothing here you do not need to enjoy music. However, the display and touch interface brings the 21st century "touch," that Apple has made so popular to a more affordable device. The touch function will be limited here to simply selecting songs or bringing up the clock, but nevertheless, touch has made its way to the Nano.

I'm most thankful that the Nano has indeed retained the DOCK CONNECTOR. The dock connector is key to use with iPod accessories such as docks, speaker docks, and built in car iPod connectors. The nano is so diminutive that if you plug it into the factory iPod kit of an automobile, the cable's dock connector will look nearly bigger than the Nano itself. Not a negative, just amusing. Nevertheless, the dock connector is there, and you will be able to use the device in such applications, and that was a significant decision by Apple. Users want and need the dock connector. It is there on this iPod Nano, but still missing from the Shuffle due to its even more diminutive size.

This 16 GB version is the largest size Apple offers in the Nano. It offers no additional functionality over the 8GB, but features twice the storage. Choose the one best for you. 16 GB is great if you have a large music collection. We should all remember though that with Nano no longer doing Video or Storing Pictures, the storage is exclusively for music. This makes 8 GB and 16 GB more appropriate size offerings as music takes up much less storage than video.

Overall, Apple has removed video (both playback and recording) from this iPod Nano. However, it's an equalling good music player. Navigation of music is now completed via touch, which works effectively despite the small screen. It's really hard to believe so much can fit into such a small device and I believe everyone will be a bit shocked when they open up the Nano the first time and see it's size yet primary function as an effective music player retained. The newest Nano brings a nearly Shuffle like size, but yet retains the functionality (touch, clip, dock connector) that serious music lovers and those who use the Nano while working out, demand.
7171 comments|3,199 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2013
When one buys this product, ostensibly from Apple, the vendor is the iPod SuperStore. Ok, fine.

The product you get has definitely been through some kind of secondary process you aren't being told about. Whether it's refurbished, used, has had its parts changed in some way, is anyone's guess.

It doesn't come in the original, sealed box. It comes in a little plastic sleeve inside a different kind of box. The accesories are sent separately packed. There's a note saying that it cannot be serviced under Apple, but that the warranty is under seller iPod SuperStore. When you plug it into iTunes, the program says the device will need to be restored back to factory settings before you can use it...but when you buy a NEW iPod, it's already in factory settings!

These folks are selling what is most likely a refurbished or returned product (or something similar, I hope not some kind of fake) while claiming on Amazon that it is new. When one sees new, the understanding is that it's identical to what you could buy at a store.

I have no problem buying refurbished, but I do want honesty and I do want to be told upfront what I am buying. I hate the bait & switch of being offered one thing and given another - especially after paying "new" prices.

Buyer beware.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2012
I mainly got this to replace the 2nd generation 4GB nano that I leave connected to my car stereo because the 4GB is completely full. Unfortunately for me, the charging scheme has changed since that generation so my car interface doesn't completely work the same way as it did for the 2nd generation nano. I have to open the glove compartment where it lives and press the wake button if the car has been off for a while, but more annoying than that is the fact that my car interface won't charge this while it's in the car. Since my primary use is to keep in my car, I decided to give it to a friend and just keep my list of available songs in the car to 4GB.

I did, however, use it a few times at work when I was spending all day doing some repetitive tasks that didn't require a lot of brainpower, and I noticed that the battery would be nearly completely discharged after the end of 8 hours. My 2nd generation nano had significantly longer battery life than that. (Of course, it also didn't have a fancy touchscreen and was twice as big.)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2011
I read lots of reviews here on Amazon before buying. Overall, I like it. The most critical reviews said this was a fancied up Shuffle, and I agree - that's just what I've been wanting. I've had both 2G and 3G Nanos. As far as the loss of video - no big deal. With the 3G, I put a movie on for the novelty, but as others here have noted, that screen is really too small to sit and watch a movie. So for me, the loss was really no loss. The gain (reduced size, but still being able to browse and select music) is totally what this Nano is all about.

What I like:

1. Size & weight: It's tiny! I take it jogging, or carry it in my pocket around the house, or anywhere. I love, love, love how small it is. The Shuffle was never any good for me, since I always like to see and select my music as I'm going.
2. Built-in clip. I usually carry it in my pocket, but the clip does come in handy once in a while. Hey, it's cool.
3. Volume buttons. Along the top, easily accessible. Nice.
4. 16GB. Yay! I have a ton of audiobooks, plus an insanely huge music collection, so the more space, the better.
5. Radio. That was a surprise to me. I wouldn't have thought of having a radio in my iPod, and I don't know how much I'll use it, but hey, it's a nice idea.

What I don't like:

1. Loss of how I used to browse for music. On the click-wheel iPods, there is a tiered or tree-type menu for browsing through the music on it. I have a "gi-normous" music collection, so being able to narrow things down by genre, then artist, then album was a great way for me to navigate through my collection. I only use playlists once in a great while. For the most part, I listen to albums, and the new Nano's "album" view shows all of them at once - not handy at all, when looking for one album out of 16 GB worth of them. This isn't a deal-breaker, but it is a pain in the back-side.

2. Okay, this is may seem really silly, but the wallpaper selection is extremely limited. I can put my own photos on this (which I love), but I can't set any of those as the background/wallpaper. I really don't get that. If I can put my own photos on, why on earth can't I select one as the background? Instead, there is a very small selection of backgrounds to pick from, all of which are pretty generic and boring. I was really hoping to be able to jazz up the screen a little. What the heck? Would it really consume very much computing power to be able to do that? I'm hoping for an OS update that will allow for personalized backgrounds. Still waiting... I may end up waiting a long time. Oh well.

3. Loss of quick pause by feel when it's in my pocket. I purchased a separate accessory to do this (an in-line remote), but I'd rather have it on the unit - next to the volume buttons, maybe? IMO, quickly pausing by feel is 100% necessary, so maybe on the next generation there will be a play/pause button next to the volume buttons? Please? Hey, I can dream.

Overall, I give this a solid 4 stars. It could be better, but I've been wishing for a shuffle-sized iPod with a screen, and here it is!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2012
My wife bought this for me for Christmas in Dec. 2011. It worked well up until I finished my run 4 days ago. At the end of the run, it died. I took it to an Apple store and was told two things: One, the water damage sensor (located inside the headphone jack) indicated the unit had gotten wet. Two, that the listed purchase date was Dec. 20, 2010 from Amazon and it was beyond the 1 year warranty. Funny thing... our Amazon receipt clearly says we purchased it Dec. 13, 2011. So, now I have two thoughts... the design is no good if you are going to exercise with it and have any possibility of getting sweat on it AND I suspect that Amazon sold us a used Nano that had been purchased a year before, registered with Apple, returned to Amazon, then resold to us.

Update:
My wife contacted Amazon concerning the nearly 1 year discrepancy between the purchase date according to Apple and the actual date we purchased the Nano from Amazon. While we still do not understand the reason for the discrepancy, Amazon addressed our concerns to our satisfaction.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2012
The nano is a good product. Fairly simple operation and smooth playing. HOWEVER, Apple cuts corners in the strangest places. Need to charge your nano? Better buy a separate wall adapter so you can charge it without hooking it up to your computer. Want your music to sound great when you listen to it? Better go try to find a different set of headphones because Apple headphones sound like a tin can with waxed string. And GOOD LUCK finding a pair of headphones with a short enough jack to insert into said device. These headphones are also designed with huge ears in mind. If you have tiny, child like ears like I do you have to wear them upside down and backwards and put up with the pain. Adapters are available called Acoustibuds and they do help somewhat. But then your music sounds a little muddy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
I was slightly skeptical of buying used electronics online, but it works perfectly and I haven't had a single issue with this iPod. This is my favorite model for the gym as it's small enough to not get in the way and it clips right on to your workout clothing. As a female bodybuilder for 5 years, I still find it hard to find women's gym clothing with pockets. Bigger iPods on armbands both distract me and are difficult to use on arm day. This iPod is the best for all sorts of sports enthusiasts who want a full range of motion without compromising on sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
Not so good product. Ipod functions are excellent and the size is perfect. However, the problem I had was with the hold button that occasion damage and then damage the motherboard of the device. Recommended 60%
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
Great as always. Nothing will ever be better than the sixth generation with the clip. How can you have it without the clip? The perfect size for jogging. I only wish they would make them this mall and put a lot more gigabytes into it like 128 that would be great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2015
As somebody that works in an environment that doesn't allow radios (Bluetooth, WiFi) or cameras, this is one of a very limited set of choices for digital music players. Combine this with the Pure i20 for digital output, a DAC, and a headphone amp, and you've got a great setup for work! I just wish it was still being produced and had a lot more storage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.