Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2009
This computer is a replacement for a relative's ancient Dell Dimensions system. I bought it and am setting it up for him. I personally have several Windows XP computers myself, 1 Vista, and 1 Snow Leopard (iMac), and I do know a lot about computers and networking, so this review will have those above thoughts in mind as I write it.

Positives:

* Monitor (5/5)
The supplied 22" has an exceptionally sharp screen, and I have no complaints about it at all. Perfect size, and works very well even at mid-range settings (I like 1920x1200, but lower resolutions are still sharp, unlike experiences I've had in the past with other computers & monitors).

* Windows 7 (5/5)
I can't find anything to complain about with 7. It is intuitive, and does everything I need easily and without having to jump through hoops. I was familiar with the earlier Windows releases, so there was basically no learning curve for me with 7. I am also a big Snow Leopard fan, but now with 7, in my mind they are pretty much equals.

* Box (5/5)
The piano black looks nice. I like that the DVD drive and the card reader slots are covered when not in use to keep dust at bay. It runs quiet, so that is much appreciated. I also prefer the Intel processor VS AMD, and like that it came with 6Mb RAM and a large hard drive.

* Keyboard (4/5)
The supplied keyboard is basic, and is a USB connection (not wireless). It works well, and is no frills. No complaints.

* Speakers (3/5)
The speakers are slimline, and very light. They won't get real loud, but are fine for basic needs. If you are planning on doing anything like watching movies frequently, you may consider upgrading them. Absolutely fine for everyday use though.

* Performance (5/5)
For my relative's needs (internet, email, youtube, etc), this is perfect. Video works great, and the speed of 7 is satisfactory. I did some benchmark testing, and the processor and drive score high, with the only downfall being the graphics ability. Nobody will notice that though, unless you are into hard core gaming.

* Amazon (5/5)!!!
The price is terrific, and is actually a much better deal than I could get from Dell directly (at least as of this writing, deals change all the time). Also very much appreciated the $3.99 1-day shipping! I'm a prime member so I could have had free 2-day shipping, but I wanted to make sure it was delivered when someone would be here so the 1-day worked out great.

Negatives:

* Mouse (2/5)
The mouse is also a USB connection (not wireless), and is pretty cheap. It is optical and tracks fine, but just feels real cheap. I'll probably replace with a nicer wireless mouse.

* Dell supplied software (1/5)
The only real issue I'm having is the Dell supplied software crashes repeatedly. None of it is very useful, so I just disabled it and all is well. Please note that this is NOT a Windows 7 issue, but an issue with the Dell utilities software itself. I suspect they will have updates that will fix it, but for now, it liked to crash, so I just disabled it. I also uninstalled the supplied anti-virus software and installed one I like better that is free, but that is just a personal choice.

Overall:
I am very pleased with this computer! The hardware (except for the mouse) is better than expected, especially the monitor. I would recommend this setup without hesitation, especially for those that are mainly going to do emails & internet. This is a stellar deal as well, and I feel you get a lot for the money.

Thanks for reading.

UPDATE 11/29/09: I did purchase the Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro keyboard and mouse set to replace the supplied Dell ones for this system. This was a fantastic upgrade! I highly recommend the Wave Pro setup. It integrates well with Windows 7, and has dedicated keys on the mouse and keyboard for Aero among other things. With this mouse and keyboard, I like the system even better.
1616 comments| 183 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon December 17, 2009
I've had great luck with Dell Computers in the past and this one is no exception. I bought the computer for my husband to replace an old Mac that he uses mainly for internet browsing, email, iTunes and some photography applications. He could easily have gotten by with a smaller hard drive and less ram but at this price, why not go for it? The computer is very fast with the 2.6GHz Intel Pentium Dual Core E5300 Processor and 6 MB of ram. Everything we've used it for has been very responsive, video downloads are very fast with a cable internet connection and the movie starts playing immediately. Boot-up is quick and applications run without any delays. We're not using it for hard core gaming or anything, but Photoshop runs very well as does Corel Video editing software. Both are very responsive. The monitor is beautiful, shows sharp HD images and is a nice 22 inch size. It has an HDMI port which is really useful. We've tried it at several of the resolution settings and they all look equally good. The colors also are more true to life than some other flat screen monitors we've had in the past.

This is my first experience with Windows 7 and so far it has been a good one so far. I've never used Vista, but it compares well with Windows XP which is the first Windows OS that I've actually liked. We'll add some updates after we've used Windows 7 for a longer time.

It comes with a bunch of Dell supplied software and utilities, most of which we haven't used. I've always been a fan of AVG Anti-Virus & Anti-Spyware - 2 Year Subscription which I installed rather than the Norton which came with it. My husband also had his own speakers so we didn't use the ones that were supplied with the computer although we tried them out and they sound perfectly adequate. The mouse and keyboard are basic. My husband had a Logitech MX 700 wireless mouse that he's had for a number of years that we just connected and it worked right away, no need to install or update any drivers or anything. In fact, the whole system was easy to set up, right out of the box, from the internet connection on a home network to the Epson Workforce 610 Wireless Color Inkjet All-in-One Printer (C11CA50201), a far cry from the old days when everything was "plug and pray" and you could spend days getting a new computer to work with all of your other devices.

Another nice feature is the 19-in-1 media card reader which is on the front of the computer and reads just about any size card you can think of. This is nice with all the different types of digital cameras and other devices that use digital media cards because you don't have to hunt around for an adapter for each different card. 6 USB ports come in handy and the the ports are covered by a flip down cover which keeps the dust out, the same with the DVD drive.

This is a excellent computer at a great price. And it's nice if you have an Amazon Prime shipping account because you can get it in two days without extra shipping charges. We're perfectly happy with this computer. Two thumbs up!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2010
I bought this particular PC package after shopping on the Dell web site directly and finding that site more and more difficult to manover. I checked out Amazon as I buy most everything electronic here and found this package. Obviously a production end run purchase, but so what, full warranty, no shipping charge and no sales tax. I compared with a more or less equivalent (precise comparison was not possible as this PC is no longer offered on the Dell site) and figure I saved around $150.00

The equipment was trivial to set up, and worked perfectly out of the box. Dell crams all sorts of trial software in the unit but that is not the unit's fault. It took an hour or so to fully remove all that stuff, set up the machine and that has been that.

The monitor was the first large flat screen monitor I have used and it is a joy to use. We find Windows 7 convenient and easy to use. We did buy a book and have used it as reference on occasion. However, the included help has been fully able to resolve our issues as well. Certainly our simple home network of three PC's, a printer and mass storage was sorted out automatically with no effort on my part, so that was a win in any case.

All around, this was the way to go, significant savings on comparable equipment, full warranty, no shipping and no sales tax.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2009
Waiting a month would have saved me $80.00
I now have (another) new, unused telephone MODEM. WHY is Dell so good to us?
Front panel USB ports are set back about 3/4" behind the front panel surface and have less than 1/4 side clearance. None of my USB dongles WILL fit in the front USB ports. That also includes all of my USB memory card readers.
Dell should should included a couple of USB extension cables.

Looks nice with panel cover closed! Art over engineering.

Coming from XP, Windows 7 is a dream system to setup and use.
The Dell 545 is very fast and quiet running system.
The White and Black monitor is also more art than engineering.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2010
I just received this PC last week and installed it over the weekend. Everything worked as advertised but the one thing I did find odd was the graphics. After running the Windows Performance Index to verify the performance, the graphics was extremely low which dragged the whole index down. I'll get a new graphics controller and install that which I assume will sort the problem out but if you're looking for good graphics performance out of the box, this may not be the PC for you. It's hard to figure why Dell would have a mediocre video card in an otherwise performance orientated PC but it is what it is I guess.

Update: - I added the EVGA 01G-P3-N945-LR GeForce 9400 GT 1GB DDR2 PCI-E 2.0 Graphics Card yesterday and the performance index jumped for 3.3 to 5.9 which is way closer to what I would have expected from this system. The extra $65 is well worth the money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2010
The computer is fine until it breaks or you need assistance. I've been sent on a completely frustrating run around trying to get a part for my computer. A part that I can't buy in the stores that can only be purchased through Dell. If I could've bought the part somewhere else I would've a long time ago but I'm stuck trying to reason and get a delivery date with the politcally correct and scripted telemarketer style people at Dell.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
This same computer was over 100.00 more at the Dell website. Amazon delivery was also almost 2 weeks faster than Dell. I wished the McAfee subscritption was a bit longer though, it was only 30 days.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2010
Not happY! Had problems 3 days after start up and experienced the same probelm a few days later and then again a week ago. The third time of failure, Dell was trying to tell me it was a software problem and I would have to pay to speak to them. After on the phone for 2 hours I decided to try another day, although at that point I had no computer at all (blank screen) I notified Amazone in hope of getting some help, and was told your return policy is only good for 30 days although this problem happened 3 days after start up.
I'm not a happy customer and probalby will never do bussiness with you again.
The computer is now working but Im' conveinced that it is a lemon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2010
This is a great computer and very easy to set up and install. Only small problem I found is that my flashdrive does not fit in the front portals, only the ones in the back. The Windows 7 is great and easy to navigate. I highly recommend this computer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2010
It is a very nice computer. I do like the monitor but it is a 21.5 inch rather than the 22 inch model that it said was with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.