Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Holiday Music in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

96 of 99 people found the following review helpful
on October 22, 2010
I have purchased about 5 sharpeners (black ceramic, 4 diamond sharpeners) that were supposed to sharpen ceramic knives. My wife brought this model back from Japan just recently and it sharpened my two ceramics like none of the others. Like the first reviewer said almost as sharp as factory. My big knife had a small nick in it and the directions explained how to grind it out and it worked. Ignore the others and get this one. Battery powered which worried me, but no problems were encountered.
2222 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 19, 2010
I really did not expect it to work! It puts a beautiful edge on my Kyocera a knives. The edge is very close to factory. I tried to sharpen with my with my various diamonds to no avail. This is an impressive product and the first real option to sending your knives back for a factory sharpening.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
on March 27, 2011
I purchased this sharpener as a as a last ditch effort to rescue a badly chipped and dull ceramic knife before having to throw away an expensive piece of cutlery.
It took a while (more passes than the instructions) to completely eliminate some large chips. I was quite amazed it worked as well as it did. I have a few of these knives of various sizes and I'm not having to be so careful about using them now.
If you have a hefty investment in ceramic cutlery as I do, I really recommend the investment in this sharpener.
You can use it on steel knives as well, so it's now my favorite sharpener of the many I own.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on January 1, 2013
Review of the Kyocera website discloses several additional points - first - the sharpener can be used with stainless steel and titanium knives, as well as ceramic. Second, if one removes the sharpener cover, there is a switch to adapt the sharpener to left handed users. In practice, the device works well and the blade holder is well designed to facilitate sharpening. Well done.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on April 18, 2011
At first, the sharpener was a complete disappointment. I popped in new batteries, tried to shapen my knives per the instructions and it just kept stalling and failing. A couple of days later I bought new batteries from a different brand and it actually worked great - some batteries must just lack the power to run it well.

Now, my knives weren't too dull to begin with, so I can't say how well it works on heavily (ab)used or nicked knives, but it did grind a better blade on them. My knives don't feel as sharp as they were from the factory, but there's a definite improvement - and this way I don't have to mail them out to the factory for resharpening.

The sharpening sound is obviously unpleasant, but what can you really expect from a diamond wheel grinding against a ceramic blade?

My only real complaint is the lack of a/c power - I'd rather plug it into the wall than have to buy new batteries.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
on February 21, 2011
I bought this as a gift and the recipient, absolutely loves the ability to sharpen their ceramic knives themselves. At first thought everyone was cautious as to the machines ability, but after running a severely dull knife through it a few times, it came back to life and was able to be used. The only issue is that some knives have a continuous edge from the tang to the tip and those you can't really get in there to sharpen, so this works with some ceramic knives.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on September 14, 2014
I received this as a gift and was very excited by the idea that I could return my awesome Kyocera chef knife back to its original sharpness. However, it has turned out to be a big disappointment... and not just because this thing eats through batteries like an '80s boom box.

If you're planning to use this on a cheap ceramic knife, you'll probably be happy with it. A knife sharpened with this will be sharp enough to use and will definitely cut things.

However, if you've purchased a Kyocera knife before you're probably very familiar with how incredibly sharp they are when factory sharpened. Do not be fooled - This product will NOT get your good ceramic knives anywhere near as sharp as when you bought them. When I compared the knife I sharpened to a new Kyocera knife that I had just taken out of the box (another Xmas gift), the difference was extremely noticeable. The old knife cut through a tomato with a bit of pressure; the new one sliced through like that tough skin wasn't even there.

After my cast iron pan, my knives are probably my most used cooking tools. For my money, I'm a lot happier sending my knife to the factory every couple of years and returning it to that insanely sharp, long lasting edge that makes me smile every time I chop some vegetables.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on November 12, 2011
I own several Kyocera ceramic knives and use them a lot. I ordered this knife sharpener since it was the only home model available and it got decent reviews. I can't say it's an exceptional product. It sharpens the knives decently. It takes a bit of a knack to get the pressure just right and it seems to take several trips through the sharpening mechanism to achieve a good blade again. Still, I'm not complaining. I like being able to sharpen my knives at home and not have to bother with sending them in, plus paying a fee to have them sharpened. I am happy with my purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on March 27, 2012
I was on the verge of either tossing my first ceramic Santoku and buying a replacement or sending it to Kyocera for resharpening. Either solution seemed suboptimal. I didn't want to toss and replace (not very green) and didn't want to deal with the hassle of mailing a knife to Japan or wherever. I was surprised to find that they now offer a sharpener for their ceramic knives, which seemed like a reasonable solution for saving my old, dull blade and keeping them all sharp. Plus I kind of wanted the satisfaction of seeing if it would work. And it did! I made a lot of passes (takes a few passes to get the hang of it and I had some visible nicks to remove from my old blade), but my old ceramic knife came out nice and sharp again. It was very dull and even slightly chipped after years of being my go-to knife. I had replaced it with another Kyocera when it got dull, but I couldn't bring myself to toss the first one. And now I don't have to. It cuts beautifully again. Hard to compare to factory condition, but chops like a champ -- right through tomato skins, carrots, ginger, and everything else. So now I have to store this sharpener, but I don't have to toss a well-loved blade. Looking forward to using my first ceramic knife again and for years to come.

As for battery versus corded power -- I don't think I care. Not sure what difference it would make. A cord might provide slightly more power, but the thing worked fine on batteries, so, really, who cares? I plan on removing the batteries for storage since this will see infrequent use. Bottom line -- I likey.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on April 7, 2011
Good price. This is one of the few ceramic knife sharpeners on the market, and the only electric one you can buy in this country that I know of. I have several ceramic knives and they all need sharpening eventually. I think that most can be returned to the company of purchase for a free resharpening, but it will cost abnout $10.00 for shipping and handling;in case with all my knives if I have them all sharpened once I have paid for the sharpener. I've already used it and I'm happy with the results. It is not as sharp as the company can get the blade but close. I've also purchased a ceramic wet stone "steel" and with the two should have very good results.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 33 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.