Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 11, 2012
SPOILER ALERT if you haven't read the book yet.
# 1 - I hate HATE when animnals .... and beloved pets ..... are hurt or killed in books. Just no reason for animal abuse to be part of the book. After Rusty was badly hurt .... unconscious with possible brain injury .... she never bothered to visit him at vet to check on him ... and only called the vet once or twice in 4 days. That really bothered me that she chose to work on her mystery instead of caring for and checking on her beloved dog.
# 2 - She Had ridden as passenger in helicopter a few times .... and 6 short weeks later is a fully licensed helicopter pilot ... all while working her job and with all the stress and work involved with rebuilding her home that burned down in fire. Not realistic.
# 3 - She hid recovered stolen goods from the police .. lied about being sick ... gave them to the criminals (granted, she hadn't figured out yet who they were) ... and later the police chief just winked about it.

The plot was good and the substory was good too, but these 3 things really bugged me. For the bashing of her dogs head, I had to take off major points.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2002
Charlie Parker and her new husband Drake have the perfect plan for a honeymoon. He will fly helicopter charters in the Taos ski area and they will stay at the family cabin of Eloy Romero who will be working for Drake. They set off with high hopes but soon they are embroiled in a murder case when Eloy is accused of the murder of his brother several years before. Also they are approached by the cousins of a wealthy heiress, who claim that some of her inheritance is rightfully theirs. With these two cases to work on, Charlie is not idle during Drake's flights. One of the cases is solved fairly easily, but their inquiries into the other one puts Charlie and Drake's life in danger. This is an enjoyable and fast-paced book with the very pleasing background of northern New Mexico, and likeable characters.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2012
Better than the last book. Falls in nicely with the rest of the stories with being a fun light read. Surprisingly even in this story it is very sexually clean and kept close to solving the two cases. Probably best to read the others that lead Upton this one but still good as a solo read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2012
This is a light hearted read, a mystery without the use of overly graphic details. I am sure there is a large readership for this type of cozy read. It reminded me of a TV show, with this being one of their episodes. Multiple mysteries with a smidgen of danger and all is well that ends well. For me it sailed to close to overly dramatic and unrealistic, but I am sure it will appeal to those that want an uncomplicated read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
Am reading this whole series. Love the plots and characters. Great books to just relax and have a good read. Keeps you guessing about who done it. Good idea to read these in series. Sometimes refers back to other events and it is good to know what they are talking about. Also, keeps you wanting to read about the next adventure. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
I just recently discovered the Charlie Parker Mystery Series and bought the boxed set of the first four together. I read straight through them and immediately ordered the next four books from Amazon. I just ordered the remaining ones downloaded to my kindle. This is one of the best series I have read and I have read many, being a lover of lady sleuths. You will not regret starting with the boxed set of the first four if it is still available. Charlie is a smart lady with a heart full of compassion and empathy for the clients who hire her agency to help smooth out their lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
This book takes you on a journey to Hawaii and is great reading. It has a mystery, and you even get to meet her new boyfriend.
It is full of exciting adventure. I recommend this book for those that love mysteries and intrigue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2012
Honeymoons Can Be Murder by Connie Shelton

Well I have to say that I couldn't have been more pleased with my rather random choice!

Set in northern New Mexico, Charlie and her brand-new husband, Drake, finally get to take their honeymoon after a whirlwind of a wedding, when they get an offer to stay in a secluded ski cabin up in Taos.

Charlie has just finished getting licensed to fly a helicopter and her husband Drake is a helicopter pilot. While their honeymoon is going to be mostly relaxation and seclusion for newlyweds, Drake has agreed to help his friend, Eloy, out with a bit of heli-skiing work.

Suddenly, Eloy is accused of murdering his own brother, a crime committed five years earlier, and he asks Charlie to help out with the investigation since she works as a private investigator. She readily agrees since he is letting them use their cabin.

But as Charlie buries herself deeply into investigation she ends up pulled into an entirely different case of hidden identities. And once that is solved, she still has to figure out the mystery behind ancient relics, a murdered priest, and perhaps even the cabin she is staying in!

Will Charlie successfully solve the mysteries? Will she be able to clear Eloy's name, or is there something more sinister going on in his family? And are there people out there who want the secret to stay buried, and at any cost?

Read Honeymoons Can Be Murder to find out!

While I had never read a Charlie Parker mystery before (this is the 6th in the series) I was immediately captured by the darling relationship she shares with her new husband. They are such a sweet, newlywed couple. The best part is that this is a clean romance. While there are themes of religion, it isn't religious fiction, per se, but the novel is still clean. We know they are newlyweds, but there is no detail or specifics about their romantic relationship as husband and wife.

I was not able to guess the mystery either, which I really appreciate in a book! Who wants to know who the killer is from page number ten?

I was definitely drawn in and listened to almost the whole thing during the drive! Plus, the narration was fantastic!

I will definitely be picking up other Charlie Parker mysteries in the future!

4 out of 5 stars!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
I am in the process of reading the entire Charlie Parker series. Thus far I am enjoying the books. I often find that the plots are predictable. Often I find that Connie is encumbered with too many details for insignificant events such as the clothes someone is wearing, geography or food. Nevertheless, I feel like part of the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
This was the first in the series I read. It was a great book which started with 2 mysteries, one a murder, the other a family dispute).

The murder mystery evolved into an additional mystery which was also solved.

For me to continue might lead to telling spoilers.

The only real negative I have (minor) is the amount of time spent on Rusty, the honeymooners' dog. During the book, about half of the scenes with Rusty could be eliminated without destroying the story line.

While I intend to read this series and other books by Ms. Shelton, I would not reread this book (this is why I don't rate this 5-star).

I recommend that if you mysteries, this is a perfect mystery to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse