Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 5, 2009
Tarzan Series (23 novels) by Edgar Rice Burroughs. Includes Tarzan of the Apes, The Return of Tarzan, The Beasts of Tarzan, The Son of Tarzan, Tarzan the ... & more. Published by MobileReference (mobi)

For those that love the works of Edgar Rice Burroughs and specifically Tarzan this is the ebook for you. The publisher has done a fantastic job in compiling ERB's Tarzan novels into one ebook. Anyone would be proud to add this one to their Kindle book collection. Great job MobileReference!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
OK--never read Tarzan before--just enjoyed the somewhat moronic Johnny W. movies in my youth. What a wonderful surpise! I've read the first two in the series and am absolutely hooked on them. Edgar Rice Burroughs hits the mark every time! So enjoyable. When I tell people I'm reading Tarzan on Kindle they just roll their eyes. That's too bad. But, I would have done this too. Now, I'm a fan forever. For anyone out there who has not taken this opportunity--well, you are missing a real treat! Go with this particular ebook also because it's well formatted as others have said. Enjoy!

Hardt
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2010
It had been years since I had read Tarzan - really since early college. When I got my Kindle I thought what a great opportunity - Nine Tarzan novels for a buck! It did not disappoint. Quickly the reader is taken into the jungle where Tarzan lives among the Apes he grew up with. You gotta love Tarzan! He always seems to swing into the center of the gathering and announce that he is Tarzan of the Apes, the greatest warrior of all time, the meanest fighting machine in the jungle. Then there is always one ape that wants to test him and they rumble til the ape yells "kagoda" I surrender. Great material for business meetings! Seriously, I have had so much fun reading the Tarzan adventures again and know you will too!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
Too often I return to the classics to find them stilted, dense, and convuluted, e.g., JVs 20k Leagues wasted half the novel on fish IDs. Great read tho, just have to skip a lot of pages.

Tarzan. Fresh, engrossing. I love Clive Cussler, but to read ERB is to touch genius. The dialogue and PC aspects may sometimes be quaintly Victorian, but ERB is a master storyteller.

This version is well worth the buck ninety-nine due to the excellent formatting and indexing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2010
Tarzan is a unique character. I love Edgar Rice Burroughs' novels because there's an amazing world to discover. Unlike the movies, with their cliché wild man yells and chimps playing with bananas, the Tarzan novels have an original flavor. I'm still touched by how Tarzan's life begins as an abandoned baby, completely unaware of his parentage. It's fascinating to see a boy raised by a compassionate anthropoid ape, who seems alarmingly real. Burroughs creates a language and personality for the apes that is true to the emotions of a scene, but far from human caricature. The writing feels very real, rather than a cute Dr. Doolittle skit. I was caught up learning how Tarzan survives and become an animal, as well as a man. Both roles put his life in perpetual conflict, since he is not completely at home in either world. I'm always fascinated by the different civilizations and strange threats Tarzan faces in this remarkable series.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2010
I re-read the series on a whim having read it in my youth over 50 years ago. It was refreshing to compare the writing style of such a famous old series with that of todays authors. Still a great read and a lot of fun if you read it with a youthful mind.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2011
The Tarzan series is amazing for it's adventure, suspense and just plain fun, with a little romance thrown in for good measure. So glad I stumbled on Burroughs and now I can't get enough of this writer
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2012
Tarzan: The Complete Adventures of Edgar Rice Burroughs

So very easy to get lost in the jungle as these words are absorbed. Has been one of my favorite authors for a very long time, i can remember reading these words as a young man with a flashlight and the sheets pulled over my head while in grade school. Just a wonderful adventure series that i could never get enough of and still find myself today wishing for more escape into the jungle with a hero worth looking up to. Tarzan, Jane and boy what a trio ,what an entertaining and delightful weaving of adventure with dreams of what life can be and how simple joys can be found.
It set the stage for me to grow and find my own" Jane" my own soulmate for life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2011
I read the comic books when I was a kid. And had purchased almost all of te paper backs in the 60's. So I just wanted to fill in what I had missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
I have enjoyed this series from childhood for the past eighty years. Good books for everyone, good clean stories. Amen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.