Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage R6 Siege Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on May 14, 2011
I try not to read reviews because I tend to love books that others hate and hate books that others love. I read the part that's usually on the back of the book to decide if I want to read it. This sounded like a book that I would LOVE.....and I did....the first 80%!! I won't even finish the book now...It's like 2 different people wrote it! The first 80% was great, a great story line written so that I wanted to keep reading to find out what happens.....Then, well.....It's like someone else took over and it's in no way, shape, or form realistic. Yes, it's a book.....but if it were advertised a little better about the "supernatural ending" that's mentioned in reviews ONLY....I never would have started it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2012
This book took a long time to get to its inevitable end. It wasn't bad, but it also didn't shine in any particular way. There were a lot of plodding conversations, and while this book falls into the horror/supernatural genre, it's mostly about grief and grieving.

There was finally, a little bit of action towards the end, but it was almost as if it was a rush-job. The author spent a lot of time, as I said, creating characters more through conversation than any other literary tool. Most annoying was Sam, who stuttered terribly, which is carried through in conversations. I know I've read books where other characters stuttered that weren't so badly executed; I know she was trying to convey his issues and his social ostracism because of it, but mostly, it was just disturbing. I found myself skimming through the conversational bits (between all characters)because they could just be tedious and predictable.

This was one of my first indie-published reads and it was terribly formatted and edited. I'm not sure if the conversational formatting was intentional or just bad, but the indents were weird and inconsistent throughout the book. Editing was poor in terms of spelling, punctuation, missing/added words, etc.

The story itself possessed some good, interesting bits, but the author seemed to lose the threads. For instance, there is some hint that the town authorities "know" what's really behind the killings in the beginning of the story, how it's an election year and that could be the reason for the cover-up, but by the end, that story-line is completely dropped for the predictable outcome. What was, I think, intended to be a mystery, is so completely not a mystery. Almost as if Sheri Leigh decided to change genres in mid-composition, not successfully, unfortunately. Perhaps she was trying to jump onto the supernatural bandwagon? Sadly, it didn't work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on May 18, 2011
This book was not at all what I expected and the ending was just too far fetched. I found that the dialogue between the characters was often totally unbelievable. T
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on July 10, 2011
The sample was fine...but it all went downhill from there. The "About the author" section says she writes addictive fiction...her characters and stories are so compelling you just won't want to put them down." Sorry, but this was *not* addictive, her characters were *not* compelling, and the story was just plain silly.

The characters were incredibly shallow and unbelievably stereotypical. The author also couldn't visualize scenes worth a hoot, constantly having things happen that couldn't happen the way she'd just described the scene (and I'm not talking about supernatural things). She overused her apparent 'creative' techniques...repeating them ad nauseum. She felt a need to restate every "hint" about the plot after something happened that a "hint" led up to. Apparently she didn't want us to miss any of them...after the fact. (Heck, she had an epilogue that included THREE separate sections where, yup, she wanted to make sure that we didn't miss any of her prior 'hints'. Yeesh.)

And, if the 'heroine' - a former cop, no less - screamed one more time no matter *what* happened, *I* was going to scream. Fortunately the book ended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on February 17, 2012
Started reading this and it couldn't really keep my interest. Picked it back up basically because I had started it and I don't tend to leave things unfinished. First of all I don't like leaving negative feed back on things especially books because it is someones creativity and some will like and some wont. However this book drug on for what seemed to be forever never really making a point or getting anywhere till around the last couple of chapters. You spend the majority of the time reading of her thoughts about her brother being dead and identical sentences and scenes being repeated throughout the book. We get that he is dead and she morns him greatly before the first chapter ever ends without all of the constant babbling. On a more serious note how more stereotypical could this story have gotten with a gay man dying of HIV? The gay part I understood the HIV thing was distasteful. This book did have some good parts it was just really drawn out with a lot of extra nonsense that really wasn't necessary to get the point across. It would have made a better short story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 30, 2011
Graveyard Games was a decently paced story, both giving time to develop (some of) the characters and still getting in the token love scenes and and bad-guy slaying. I read the book straight through, but it wouldn't have been difficult to put down. Like other readers, I felt that a lot of the build-up on Dusty's career and suspension as a Chicago police officer was a waste of print. While some explanation was needed of why she could drop her life in Chicago to go home for a month plus, all the time spent mulling over those details did nothing to move the actual plot along. The unresolved tension between Dusty and Shane served the story well, though some scenes/dialogue seemed a little far-fetched (even for a story with some sci-fi leanings). The identity of the undead killer became obvious much sooner than other reviewers implied, though the scenes surrounding his defeat were still worth reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on May 2, 2012
The problem with continually downloading Amazon freebies is I never remember what a book is about so I began to read this blindly. The story seemed interesting enough but the actual execution of the story was pretty bland. I guess the best way to describe it is it's very similar for made-for-television movies. The story has the potential to be interesting, which is why you watch, but the actors aren't giving it their all so it's not that good.

The big twist at the end came out of no where and seemed really oddly placed as if it were trying to justify the spooky name of the book. It would have been so much better if the author had worked to place better hints and/or spooky things along the way.


2/5 Pretty "meh". Very glad it was only a free download. I was bored which was the only reason I read it. Pick it up if you're into mysteries and paranormal books.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2012
I'm not one to write negative reviews of books- there are so many different tastes and genres, in some ways it seems pointless. What I like may be atrocious to you, and you certainly love books I've either not read or don't care for. This particular book, however, is definitely among my top 10 non-favorites. The plot,character development and pacing are all awkward, and the addition of the supernatural element at the end said nothing more than "I'm so done with this book, let's just end it". It doesn't make any sense, the main character, who us supposed to have been a cop, is so utterly un cop-like in her approach to well, basically everything.

Hey, it's free, so if you've got the time, have at it. I had a hard time sticking with this one to the end, and I read King's The Dome in three solid days.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on April 11, 2011
Well it starts slowly and then nothing much happens until about 80% through the book. I can't make up my mind if this is a romance, detective or vampire novel with a couple of magical talismans thrown in.
The heroin is a suspended police officer although she does not seem to act as decisively as I would expect a police officer to has visited her home town for her brothers funeral, after much reminiscing and little story there is a very unlikely twist at the end of the story and the author has to write an epilogue to try and explain things.
Not a riveting read but at the time of the download it was free so I should not complain.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2011
Brother gets killed. Sister whines about it for over 75% of the book. Brother's best friend is a local loser who is thoroughly unlikeable. Sister hates brother's best friend; no wait, she really loves him! Best friend just happens to know who is killing everybody but doesn't say a word. And let's wrap up this literary gem by adding a supernatural monster at the very end. Boring story with a tacky ending is not my idea of the "addictive fiction" the author purports to write.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Ashes by Scott Nicholson

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.