Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

104 of 105 people found the following review helpful
on November 7, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is my first video review. Apologies for the amateurish "ummm"s as well as the quality of the video (I had to use my iPod nano to record this since my regular camera was being used as a prop in this video)
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 10, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a great bag to take to an event or on a vacation. It isn't going to carry every bit of equipment you own, but it will handle every bit of equipment that you'll need for a specific situation.

I own a Nikon D-80. I can easily pack the camera with my lens of choice on (including my largest telephoto which is 55-200mm with lens hood) with enough space left over to fold the camera strap neatly; one additional lens in its padded case; my SB-800 flash and my small HD video camera. Of course, instead of the video camera, I could have packed a third lens instead but, when I travel or attend an event I don't like to switch lenses too often to avoid exposing the sensor.

If you have a larger body pro-camera, I think that you'd be limited to the camera, one other lens, and the flash unit, with a bit of space left over, but I wasn't able to test that theory.

In addition, I packed a small hard case containing extra memory cards for each camera; extra batteries for each camera, my SB-800 flash, my whi-bal, my color checker; a polarizing filter, and lens cloths. I also packed a small flash light, asthma inhaler, a pen and small notebook. I have the feeling that the large side pockets are meant for carrying chargers, but I prefer to have the space for personal items so I don't have to carry a purse. (My Video camera charger would fit easily, but the D-80 charger which has a long cord would take up too much space).

The design is very practical and well thought out:

* The interior is Velcro-partitioned, which means you can re-arrange it any way you want or remove it all or in part. I find the default configuration perfect.

* The entire inside is lined in orange for contrast which makes it very easy to see what's where (have you noticed that all photographic equipment is black?)

* There are zippered compartments in the front, on the inside top cover, and to either side.

* All the zippers run smoothly and are sturdy and easy to grasp.

* The larger side pockets have smaller inside pockets for securing and isolating small items such as filters or the small individual memory card holders, credit cards, etc.

* The unit is lightweight, amazingly well padded, and well balanced. All these characteristics contribute to the comfort of the person carrying it.

* I feared that the angled design might make it unstable when putting it down but, since the bottom weighs more than the top, it doesn't tip over.

* It slides very comfortably under an airline seat and still leaves room for your feet.

* It can be carried either hands-on using the handle, or over the shoulder where the non-slip padding keeps it secure. The strap can be removed easily, but I don't know why you'd want to.

* I like to extend the shoulder strap to the maximum and slip it over my head and onto the opposite shoulder for security and this strap is long enough to do so comfortably and that extra padding comes in handy against my neck. When using my previous bag, this was sheer torture after a while, but it isn't that uncomfortable with this one. For some reason, it seems to distribute the weight better.

It is the most practical and comfortable camera case I have ever owned. I've ruled out "backpack" camera bags because they wrinkle my clothing and are more "dressed down" than I care to be. I've larger and smaller cases, but this is the perfect size. It's professional-looking, but neither flashy nor boring. I'm sincerely pleased with it and I highly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 15, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've been using a Lowepro Nova 170 AW as my primary camera bag. I typically carry a Canon T1i with 18-200 lens, a 50mm prime lens, a flash, and the usual assortment of accessories (spare battery, charger, etc). I love my Lowepro bag but it is a just a tad bit snug for my collection of gear. So when I had the opportunity to try out the competition, I thought I'd see how it stacked up.

The build quality of the Case Logic seems fairly sturdy. I have no complaints about it. The main compartment is roomy and has plenty of space for my gear. However the location of the velcro strips doesn't allow me to arrange the inner pads where I would like them to be. Furthermore, I find the length of the pads to be inconvenient. They are either too long or too short and do not let me compartmentalize the bag as effectively as my Lowepro. Also the outer cover is zipper only. My Lowepro has both a zipper for complete protection as well as a quick-release latch for those times when you might want quick access to your gear while still keeping it secured with a cover.

The outer compartment design is also less than ideal. The front pocket is too narrow to be very useful. Anything even remotely bulky like a spare battery will be a snug fit. The two side pockets are ok, but both are zippered pockets. It would have been nice to have at least one mesh pocket that you can easily access without having to zip/unzip.

Overall there's nothing really wrong with this bag. But the accumulation of little things leaves it a couple steps behind the similar Lowepro bag. I'll probably end up using it as a carry bag for my Wii. It's just about the right size for that. I'll stick with the Lowepro for my camera.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2011
While there are many good reviews to this bag, I must say, it is not just less than what I expected, it is worse. And I am shocked with the praises.

MISCONCEPTIONS:
- There is no way this bag will hold 4 standard lenses. In fact, you will fit 2 lenses, then whatever is attached to your camera.
- There is no way you can fit your camera viewfinder side up - nothing supports the camera and it will move all over
- There is no way you can use the interior arrangement as pictured - I had to completely rearrange mine to the point of redesigning it and using dividers NOT as intended.
- The picture shows 6 interior pockets - NO WAY - you will get 4 at most.
- The bag is definitely a bag - I mean it is that flimsy and not protective - especially the bottom - one drop and it is all over for your gear, kid you not.
- The side pockets are actually only about an inch wide from outside to the inside wall, making stuffing impossible. You might fit lens caps, filters, batteries, a wallet, or sunglasses in a case inside the side pockets. If anything of bulk goes in the side, it will rub against lenses or the camera inside. If you use the entire inside with a camera and 3 lenses, the side pockets are stretched tight.

My Arrangement:

I Had to push the center section in the bag to the side, and use this with a divider between 2 lenses in this compartment that is actually SUPPOSED to hold the camera (which it will not). Also, I added my own foam on the bottom inside of the entire width of the base since there is NO bottom protection to this bag. I included a hard flat piece of plastic on the bottom underneath the foam to prevent impact. THE ONE GOOD THING: The bag is very deep. This afforded my extra padding. I now insert my camera viewfinder side down with a lens attached in the remaining space I created by moving the center section over to the side, again, the center section to the side now holds a divider with 2 lenses. So, I can fit a 55-300 on the camera and insert upside down/lens side up, then 2 other long lenses if necessary in the other 2 pockets - yes, this bag is that deep. In the lens section, I have foam blocks cut to the size of the hole's widths and put the lenses on that, or stack small lenses with the new foam between. - confusing, I know, just thought this might help.

I found the single wide/thin outside pocket incredibly tight and cannot even fit a notepad in it - so again, I neatly placed a plastic heavy liner inside for side impact protection.

The side pockets - one holds keys, wallet, sunglasses. The other holds batteries, a cable, and power recharge pack that is 1X2X3 Inches. ALL VERY TIGHT.

As you have noted, I had to improvise to make this bag work, despite its larger size. The bag is tapered in every last aspect, pockets and all, reducing effectiveness of the sides. My question to Case Logic - "why the lack of logic???" Why taper - it reduces ability to be used!!! I should not have to do this improvising - but camera bag manufacturers obviously do not care about your camera, for this is actually run of the mill - floppy bags!!! I strongly disapprove of this pricing of bags that is out there and the fact they are not hard lined between the padding. But, manufacturers don't care. So I bought the cheapest possible, and this is the only one that is deep, but not real wide. My bag works, I will keep it, but it was very frustrating buying components to make the bag as it should be delivered. Also, this bag SOAKS IN WATER - INSTANTLY. SO, I went and bought Water Repellent spray and soaked it down. AGAIN, this should already be a part of the package.

Please note, unlike all the other Case Logic bags I have seen, there is NO HARD BOTTOM to this bag - one quick drop and it is over unless you do what I did and hard line the bottom and add foam.

Thanks for reading this review - I hope I have been helpful.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 19, 2012
I have a Canon Rebel that came standard with a 18-55mm lens. With my smaller camera bag, I could fit both easily, but after adding a 55-200mm lens, there was absolutely no way to fit both in the bad. While shopping for a bigger one, this bag was the most reasonably priced and seemed to be the right size. After spending $10 less on here that I would have at the store, I got the bag quickly and it was just the right size. With the dividers in, my camera could easily fit with the longer lens on, and still have plenty of room for my shorter lens, camera strap and battery charger. If I had another lens, or other accessories, they would fit as well. The bag seems sturdy enough and the strap is fine. It obviously won't take a hit from a fall off a cliff, semi-truck or cruise missile, but it will do the job of taking a bump or two. I've very happy with what I paid for.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 12, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is gigantic! I was kind of surprised when I pulled it out of the box. But it's well made and padded, so it will hold all sorts of camera equipment safely. I didn't intentionally drop it on the ground with my camera in it, so I can't swear to how well it protects it from a drop, but I'm pretty sure it will protect my camera from the occasional bump.

I have a Nikon D3000 with an extra lens, extra batteries, cords and chargers. I don't have a separate flash. Everything fits. Because I wanted to see what else I could use this bag for, I tried to put my 8.9" netbook inside, but it doesn't fit. My Kindle fits, but this bag is overkill for just that. I can put my Kindle, my Kodak Easyshare Camera, my Kodak camcorder, and the various power cords and wires that go along with everything.

This is a good bag, but it's a little awkward. With the size and shape of a regular DSLR, you're going to need a slightly awkward sized bag anyway. I normally use a camera backpack, which is easier for me to lug around.

(I just read the product page description, and it currently says something about being a laptop bag. You can't put a laptop in here and close it. FYI. :) )

This is a good, solid bag. It's about $30 today, which is really good for a camera bag. It's roomy and well padded. If you ran out of money buying your camera and lenses, this is a good choice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon September 3, 2011
Having recently bought my first SLR, I was in the market for a bag in which to carry the camera and its lenses. I wanted something large enough to hold everything I needed on photo expeditions, yet small enough not to be cumbersome. I think the Case Logic case is a good combination of form and function.

Since the case is tall, it easily holds my Pentax K-r (lens attached) and two additional zoom lenses in the provided lens cavities. On the outside of the bag are FOUR zippered compartments for additional accessories like memory cards, extra batteries, and the user's guide. On the inside of the bag's lid is yet another zippered compartment for small accessories. The top and sides of the bag are sufficiently padded to protect your camera gear.

The bottom of the bag is not a hard plastic, but that hasn't been a problem for me so far. Included with the bag is a shoulder strap to supplement the carrying handle on the top of the bag. The top of the bag opens with a zipper; a bag I have for my bridge camera uses Velcro.

At this price point, I don't know if I could have found a better bag.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 10, 2011
This camera bag is very good. It has three sections for your camera and incidentals. The cushion/compartment dividers are fairly flexible, however I have a Sony DSC-F828 and case that is a tight fit with all the dividers in place. I have had to remove one cushion, but it makes little difference in the safety of the camera. I have not had it long, but so far, so good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 27, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
6/20/2011 update: I've been using this bag for eight months, and because I haven't been that busy the bag hasn't taken the level of abuse I normally heap on camera bags. In spite of that, parts of the bag are failing.

The pad on the shoulder strap is falling apart, and several of the zipper covers are breaking or broken where the logo is stamped into them, weakening the plastic. The bag itself is in good shape, and I've got to admit it's the best camera bag I've had. I really don't want to give it up, but the shoulder strap pad is driving me up a tree.

I contacted Case Logic, and they've requested photos of the damage. (I'll upload them here, as well.) They say they'll replace the bag, and I hope the problems have been addressed. I'll update the review if there are problems.

Original (10/27/2010) review: Yesterday I would never have considered a Case Logic bag for my camera. Today I've changed my mind.

This bag seems quite sturdy, is very well padded, and shows great attention to detail. It's small enough to carry everywhere, every day, and large enough to hold a DSLR, extra lens, and flash. The first detail I noticed, though, was the tag attached to the bag. It promises a 25 year warranty, something no other bag I've owned has had.

The bag has thick, sturdy padding everywhere except, oddly, the U-shaped section on one side of the bag where the Case Logic logo is attached. The chances of impact in that area are small, and it's possible to use the inserts to keep your camera gear away from that part of the bag. (The same section on the other side of the bag is padded.) The rest of the padding seems solid enough to protect against ordinary impacts.

The top flap has a zippered compartment for holding thin items like filters or memory cards. I might be concerned that the zipper could scratch the camera's LCD, but there's a tiny elastic cover that the zipper slides under, keeping it from dangling and damaging equipment. (See photo.) Pushing the zipper out of that cover is very easy. You'd want to store thin items that require protection in that compartment, since the other thin compartment on the side of the bag is outside the padding.

Right now I've got my Pentax K20D with 18-55mm in the main compartment, and my 70-300mm lens in one outside pocket. (There's enough space left over for my battery grip, which I don't have with me at the moment--it's never fit in any other bag.) That's left me room for my wallet in the other outside compartment, plus assorted accessories (spare batteries, filters, SD cards, lens pen) in the main compartment or the top flap. Papers and pens and things are stuffed into the front unpadded compartment, and that's the only thing I don't like about this bag. A few small pockets to hold pens and a cell phone would be nice.

I'll update this review as I abuse this bag (and I do beat up my camera bag, every day.)
review image review image review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 27, 2013
So I have a Canon Rebel T5i (full size SLR), an external flash, a 10-20mm, 50mm, and a 18-135mm. I wanted something to carry it all in with some spare batteries, and charger. This bag fits all that stuff perfectly with one lens on the camera.

And it's not a huge bag because I don't really like to attract too much attention saying "Look at my big camera bag with thousands of dollars worth of stuff in it"

If you are looking for a good "Go bag" that can pack the SLR (with lens) two additional medium sized lenses and a flash this is the perfect size for that. I can easily shoulder it and bike or skateboard around town with it easily.

It's well made and looks nice. I actually took a Sharpie and blackened out the red pin-striping to make it look less conspicuous. The padding in it is good and it's fully configurable inside with Velcro dividers.

The part I like the most is that it's small (about the size of a car battery) and doesn't scream "expensive camera bag"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.