Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Marketing 3.0: From Products to Customers to the Human Spirit
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 16, 2010
This is not a workbook as the other reviews already pointed out but it's very inspiring. I'm a fan of Philip Kotler for many years and I think he has become wiser and wanted to share his 40-year experience to change the way marketing is perceived.

He explains the progression of marketing in a very simple way. My favorite part is his interpretation of marketing evolution for the past 60 years (check out chapter 2). No one could come up with something that comprehensive other than Mr. Marketing himself.

Before reading this book, I didn't know that Philip Kotler is a trend watcher. He observed the latest trends and turned them into valuable insights. A must have!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2010
Marketing 3.0 is by Philip Kotler et al,although it feels nothing like his great classic works and I'm wondering if it was written by 'et al' rather than the master himself.

The core of the book is that marketing 1.0 is considered to be the era of product centric marketing, 2.0 - consumer centric marketing and marketing 3.0 the era of values driven marketing. Philip Kotler needs no introduction, so I was a little surprised to find that these eras are presented as if they are discrete eras somewhat like the jurassic era and so on. Would Apple argue that marketing 1.0 dead i.e. features - benefits 'means to and end' marketing? I think not. And what about marketing 2.0? i.e. customer centricity / obsession? Is that now out of date.

Kotler has produced some fantastic books, but I'm disappointed to say that this is not one of them.

Peter Cook

Author 'Best Practice Creativity' and 'Sex, Leadership and Rock'n'Roll'
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
Marketing 3.0 highlights the key turning point of how marketing will be engaged in the coming future. The power of marketing and business has always rested in the hands of the consumers and now this more apparent. The current generation is glued to technology and social media. They are connected to the world with just their finger tips and it is giving them a buying power that has not be seen for quite some time. Philip Kotler explains in Marketing 3.0 the importance of shifting from a product (1.0) and consumer (2.0) driven markets. The market is being driven by the value of the individual and the availability of their network in the world. Twenty years ago the traffic of information was slow and people were dependent on the companies and brands for their knowledge of products. With knowledge just a button away, the consumer is becoming smarter and demand more from the product they desire to purchase.

Kotler describes this trend in detail and explains the importance of distributing this strategy among the businesses and companies. His theory is that to build a human/value-driven market you have to instill the values and the mission of the company directly to those who see the brand, invest in the brand, and work for it. This dialogue between consumers, employees, and shareholders begins a process of delving into the understanding of imparting the life of the company to all of those who are involved. The very essence of this idea is that people do not buy what a company does, but why they do it. In the Information Age, people desire to know why something is being given rather than its effectiveness in order to ensure quality purchases. It can be seen in today's age with the recession causing the consumer to be shaken by the economic instability. The goal is for companies to influence everyone involved in the marketing process to recognize that the value of what they offer is higher than the other.

The implications of determining what the consumer believes to be valuable and desires lies in the fact that there will be a need for change. In order to survive this new shift from Marketing 2.0 to 3.0, a company will need to adapt and transform. Kotler determines that we are living in a health conscience, environmentally friendly world that demands more for what they purchase. They do not want to purchase an product that has a "green" image to it, they want the company to be striving for excellence in being an activist in the environment and making changes with all that they do. Therefore, the understanding of what it means for Marketing 3.0 and applying it to a company is no longer "what do we believe the consumer needs" but approaching them at equal level and determining "what do we believe the consumer values."

I found this book to be incredibly insightful towards the approaching age and everything that is happening today. It can be said that the book itself is noticing a trend and setting one. While Kotler may not have intentionally wanted to display it as such, as a book it targets the key value of people being important and not the products or needs. The Ten Credos that are found in the final chapter give a glimpse of what Kotler is trying to say for the entirety of the book. Boiling it all down to a simple phrase: the goal of the company is to fix their eyes on what the consumer is saying because they will determine whether a product succeeds.

Some of the book I found to be tedious, such as the chapters in the second part of the book "Strategy." While he shaped the message differently to apply to different audiences (consumers, employees, channels, and shareholders) the main idea was imparting the values and core beliefs of the company to these individuals to influence their understanding about the company itself. Since the world is determining what they want and what is good for them, they want to match these internal beliefs with something that reaches out and speaks to them. For instance, if I am a health-conscious shopper and money is not an issue, I would shop at Whole Foods rather than Wal-Mart, regardless of the prices. But if I were looking for a great value and being able to get more for what I spend, I would choose Wal-Mart. Kotler describes the goal as associating these core values with everyone who is involved with the marketing and business cycle of the company itself. Employees are the biggest customer of their workplace because they hold the position of where they work at in the highest light. Therefore, it is important to get them on your side.

Regardless of how I felt during the book, I found the message that Philip Kotler wanted to impart very important and very applicable to every part of life. While it is geared towards the understanding of how to market to this generation, it does offer hidden pieces of knowledge to put outside of business. For the consumer, it empowers me with the knowledge that I have a say in what I want to buy and I will no longer settle for what companies offer. This is true among people as well; we will no longer settle for what is around us but will desire more. We will desire nothing but the very best and though our values may be different, the end result will be the same. Change will happen and it will spread like a wild-fire. That is why I believe it is important to read this book and really dig deep into what it offers. It is more than just a piece of literature; it is a glimpse into what the future holds for us as consumers and businesses.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2013
I like the references to pop culture, so that generated interest, but this is a "textbook" that I wouldn't have picked to read if I was at a bookstore browsing through books. I had to force myself to keep reading to move forward in the book. However, I finally stopped reading because it was torturous. I will try to finish this book to see if anything grabs me, but at this time, I had to put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
This books shows you that whatever you make, make sure that the users love the product, and they will do the marketing for you!

When you make 'bad' products those days, you have a problem, people will find out soon!

Must read for people who are working for a company making not so great products, and they will understand where the issue is.

I loved to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
In my opinion, Mssrs. Hardy and Cook completely miss the boat with their reviews of this outstanding book. The new values orientation Kotler and his colleagues discuss is, indeed, a breakthrough. No doubt many marketing professors and marketers are too myopic to see it. Their consumers (both students and customers) will leave them behind in ever increasing numbers as they find alternative sources for both educators and companies that recognize the way the world is changing. Milton Friedman was right for his time, but not for this time. Sustainability, environmental stewardship, and corporate social responsibility are not externalities anymore. They are the woof and warp of brand identity. Like Peter Drucker said, "Doing the right thing is more important than doing things right."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2011
Firstly, I am not a marketing professional. Maybe I am not the right audience of this book. Marketing pros may want to skip this review from a marketing amateur. I really wanted to learn something about marketing from this book and have finished reading this book, but I do not know what I have learned from this book is marketing related but not common sense. I am trying to evaluate this book from the view of an ordinary consumer so see which marketing strategy preached by this book would entice me to buy some products. I thought this is what marketing is about. I also run a software startup which customers are enterprises, and this is what motivated to get this book to learn something about marketing. I cannot think of a single thing from this book that I can use. For this reason, I am supposed to give one star to this book. However, this book is well edited and most important of all, I agree with everything the book says. For example, it preaches socially responsible enterprise, and I am all for it; itt mentions micro financing, and I am an active member of Kiva. It repeatedly talks about sustainability and I am going green as hard as I can. Therefore I still rank this book 3-star instead of 1-star. For me, this book is more about some general trend and the right way to run a business than marketing, so it is appropriate to have the foreword written by the President of the Republic of Indonesia.

Many concepts discussed by this book are either abstract or not highly relevant to marketing. Let me give two examples to make this point. It talks about the shift to human spirit and emotional marketing of Marketing 3.0. As a consumer, I do not want to get emotional in shopping. I am a longtime subscriber to Consumer Reports. I make many purchase decisions based on objective review data like that of Consumer Reports. Many of my friends are in the same category. I am even more so when I make business purchase decisions. I do not see how emotional marketing can affect my procurement process. I am willing to believe emotional marketing can affect some consumers. Emotion is a tricky thing. I want to stay away from it in the marketing of my business. The book has a chapter called Marketing the Values to the Employees. I thought employees are required to understand and accept the values of their employer. If they do not, they should seek other employment in a free society. A company's values should be very simple and straightforward. I do not see how a marketing campaign is involved in this. I am wondering if any of the authors have successfully and efficiently marketed a product by following this book.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2011
From Products to Customers to Human Spirit, Marketing 3.0 is not a how to book for marketers like several other books by Philip Kotler. It lays out a detailed plan of new crucial roles that different parties, including the marketer, will have to play in the future. I feel this book could be used in a Business Ethics course to show solid ethics in what would be considered a desirable working world. I think that implementing this 3.0 concept can be done to a certain extent, but is a lot easier said than done. (Especially in the economic state that we are in and the importance of companies being profitable) This book gives a brief history of marketing eras throughout the past century and the key ideas within those eras and then focuses on the future of marketing, Marketing 3.0. This 3.0 concept includes marketers, companies, trade partner companies, company employees and consumers working together to help create long term solutions that will positively affect future generations globally. Marketing 3.0 puts more responsibility on companies to not only provide quality products, but to also address issues within society that will help build a better future. Examples given from the book are using products that save energy and natural resources and are safer for the environment. Also promoting healthier products and providing more nutritious choices at a reasonable price so a larger portion of the population can afford the higher quality goods. This all starts with pushing more education to all societies and help provide to some extent the resources to do so. Marketing 3.0 calls for marketers/companies to work hand in hand with consumers to make the world a better place. Marketing 3.0 is a great idea, but like any task will take all hands involved working towards the same goal, fighting through the trying times to reach that goal with times of only minimal success.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2010
The values-based matrix found in this book is worth a Nobel prize. It's amazing to see how much marketing has moved, from product-centric (rational marketing - 1.0 era), to Customer-Centric (emotional marketing - 2.0 era) and then now to Human-Centric (Spiritual marketing - 3.0 era ). You'd be tempted to think that the authors are only good with jargon, but let's face it, what they're saying is really happening. Every marketing practitioner should read this as an eye opener.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2011
Key word: Boring. This book is trying to catch up and take stock of what's happening in the world of Marketing but really it is hopelessly falling behind. Kotler may have been at the cutting edge of Marketing a long time ago; this book certainly isn't. The most interesting aspect is how it turns a fascinating subject - society and marketing evolution - into a lame text book that frankly shouldn't have been printed. Looks like a revenue grab to me: Catchy title, big name author, a couple of matrix charts, etc. Don't buy, so many better books on the same subject.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse