Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Colters' Wife (Colters' Legacy)
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2010
Definitely read a variety of the available reviews before deciding whether or not to purchase/download this book. This is a sequal to Colters' Woman (note placement of the '). This is a ménage a quatro story (three men, one woman). There are a few too many bodies in the bed for my taste. However, like the author's other books, the story is well written and quite erotic. If this type of ménage is your thing, definitely give this book and this series a try. If explicit ménage romance is not your thing, don't download this.
1414 comments|470 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2010
This book is getting alot of flack because people are downloading it and have no clue what it is about. With as many reviews from people explaining what the subject is about and giving it one star because they are shocked, it is not hard to figure out if this is not your cup of tea.
The book is well written and it is not one sex scene to the next, it is a short story of four people who have made a life together. It seems as if this was a follow up to a prevous book that I have not read. The story is really short and I started to read it bacause of the bad reviews, I wanted to see what all of the fuss was about. Dont listen to the people that were too lazy to READ the reviews but had ample time to WRITE one once they became morally outraged. It wasent written in a perverted way, there werent raunchy sex scenes. I guess if you think the subject matter makes the whole story perverted you could say all the bad things that people are saying. I am not a pervert and I think that it is amusing that people are casting judgement on people who might read this. If you read Maya Banks you pretty much know what kind of book you are about to read, but this is Maya Banks Light lol, just a short story.

If the book had cost money I'm sure people would see what it was about before downloading it, because it was free peoples desire for instant gratification bites them in the butt!

If it didnt have so many bad reviews I would not have given it five stars, a little too short and I felt like I was dropped into the middle of a story...
66 comments|195 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2010
I bought this book when it originally came out for free, and I enjoyed it so much that I ended up buying the book Colters' Woman. I think this novella is getting a lot of negative reviews for a myriad of reasons so I thought I write in and explain some things...

FIRST, this is like a second epilogue to the actual book (Colters' Woman (Colters' Legacy), so yes the plot line is rather thin, but it was a nice continuation of the story and I'm glad that the author wrote it.

SECONDLY, this is a MENAGE QUATRO (male/male/male/female) scenario so if that isn't really your thing then don't buy this.

THIRDLY, this book is under the category of Erotica (aka explicit love scenes) so again, if that isn't your thing then you might want to pass on this book.

And LASTLY, yes in this book all the males and brothers. HOWEVER, they are united in their love for one woman, there is no male on male action like in other book with m/m/m/f players. She takes a very wholesome view about their relationship focusing in their shared love/ desire to have a family etc.

I think this book has gotten a lot of bad reviews because it is free, and therefore people who normally don't read erotica novels are shocked by it. If erotica is your thing then this book and the others in her series (which are all good) are definitely for you. For others who haven't read something like this before and are curious, definitely keep an open mind as you read.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2010
i agree with the other reviewer that this was a great ending for the first colter family book. i would also disagree about the crude language and sexual content-it read very well and the sexual contact was actually pretty tame compared to the first book
11 comment|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2011
This is like a long epilogue for Colters' Woman (Colters' Legacy) - it's probably less than 20 pages of printed text - and tells the story of the birth of Holly's baby (she's the heroine of the story in case you missed that in all the ranting about the subject matter). Having not read the first book, I was just a little lost when I started reading the book but not enough that I didn't know what was going on... just felt like I should know more than I did. I've never read a Maya Banks book before, but I know that her genre is EROTIC ROMANCE... and that's fine by me. If this short story is anything to judge her by, Ms. Banks writes well and handles what could be a vulgar and off-putting lifestyle in an adult, sensuous, and honest way. That ain't easy, so kudos on that.

The story is too short for a lot of character development, but I think the assumption is that all that's been done in the first full-length book so I don't fault the story for that. Despite the brevity of the story, you do have a sense that these men are all different personalities and are each seeking something different from our heroine.

I am familiar with and purchase a decent bit of explicit romance and erotica. I will say that I was a bit wary about a relationship with three brothers - there's pushing the boundaries and then there's crossing the line - but each "couple" (Holly and Adam, Holly and Ethan, and Holly and Ryan) has an independent but open relationship with the others. And, though it may have been in the first book, it's not like they all drop trou and get it on together in this story.

As for all the bad reviews, unfortunately, that's just a reflection of people uncomfortable with the subject matter reading the story. If it doesn't float your boat, find a different stream... simple as that.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Maya Banks, <strong>Colters' Wife</strong> (Samhain Publishing, 2010)

I promised myself--actually, I swore to myself--I would not read <em>Colters' Wife</em>, which stands as kind of book 1.5 in the Colters' Legacy series (it's a 40-page short), bridging the gap between <em>Colters' Woman</em> and <em>Colters' Lady</em>, until I'd picked up <em>Colters' Woman</em> and given it a whirl. But I simply couldn't help myself. Maya Banks has done America one of the greatest services any writer possibly could have; she has shown, in graphic, uncompromising, and highly amusing fashion, the illiteracy of any number of people who fancy themselves readers. Why are there seventy-nine one-star reviews for <em>Colters' Wife</em> as I write this> In every case--every single one--it's because the person who unwittingly downloaded and read this "disgusting filth" did so because s/he did not understand the significance of the placement of the apostrophe in the title, which makes the direction of the subject matter extremely clear. Sorry, folks, if you'd paid a smidgen more attention in English class (assuming you actually went to it), your pristine eyes would have never had to behold such debased horror as a woman accepting that more than one man is capable of loving her.

I already hid the plot in that opening paragraph, but a little more explicitly: this short bridge between the first two novels in the series focuses on Holly, the title character, in the final days of her pregnancy (she's carrying Seth who, judging by the excerpt of Book Two found at the end, is the main character of that one). Yes, there are a couple of erotic scenes (and yes, Ms. Banks is quite good at writing those [wipes sweat from brow]), but I was just as enchanted by the scenery, even when it was conspiring to thwart Holly's attempts to get to her favorite sitting rock. (My wife is seven months pregnant. I totally get that bit.)

I'd originally given this three stars, but the more I think about it, the more I realize that as far as the construction of a short story goes, this is actually pretty nicely thought-out, all the more so for taking time out to include the hot, sweaty bits. I certainly won't argue with those reviewers who cautioned me to read the first book first, but it does work well as a stand-alone (Banks mentions a few events from the first book, but gives enough detail in an economical enough space that you can get your head around the emotional quirks that follow from said events), which is pretty amazing these days, when every author just HAS to set up a sequel in the final pages, y'know? So I'm kicking it up half a star, because while it's still fluff, it's impressively-written fluff, and it's renewed my determination to read this series--which I'm sure was the intent of offering the thing for a free download in the first place. Bravo, Ms. Banks, and bravo, Samhain Publishing, you did your job, and you did it very well, as far as I'm concerned. *** ½
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2010
This was a very nice way to let us know what happened after Colter's Woman ended. I am looking forward to the next book in this series. Maya Banks consistently creates characters that you care about.

Apparently the person giving it a 1 star rating hasn't read the first book. Since they were offended by this one I suggest they not buy the first one as it was much hotter.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2011
A great follow-up to Maya Banks' Colters' Woman: Colters' Legacy, Book 1. This is probably better if not read as stand alone novella. This story contains menage quatro which means male/male/male/female sexual interactions. The male Colter's are all brothers in love with the same woman and have chosen to make life a together. This is a fictional story but those who find the subject matter repulsive should simply not download this freebie.
33 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
I have long been a fan of Maya's books and eagerly awaited this one after reading the rest of the series. She writes about a touchy subject that a lot of prudes don't realize exists-erotic romance. In this series a group of three brothers brought up in a household where their Mom was together with their three Dads follow in their Dad's footsteps and also fall in love with one woman. The depth and emotion of Maya's characters are what makes these books so memorable. I have been reading erotic romances since they first starting becoming popular at Ellora's Cave and Kensington Publishing. I know that if I am reading one of Maya's books then it will be well developed with characters that grow and touch my heart. There will be explicit sexual scenes but they are tastefully done and improve the story not make up the story. This short story seems like most of it was sexual, but that is because this is a finalization to a series of 3 books. If you had read the first three books, then you would see how the family progressed and how the last generation of boys met and feel in love with their "wife". I highly recommend the complete series to anyone that wants to read an erotic romance that isn't just about sex, but the love that grows between the 4 characters. There isn't any male/male touching in the book just 3 men that love 1 lady.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2011
This is SHORT and FREE because it fits part of the other books. You will need to read the other books in the collection. It is a sample, if you would like to preview this author. Agree, please read the summary. This is for mature audience, and not traditional romance. It is loving, and touching series, but again, not for everyone. I am a fan of the series because of the doting and possessive love of the multiple partner men to their wife. I'd never do this myself, but ... I do like to read of a cherished and respectful care of a woman. This is not abusive to her in any way... but again agree with "some reviewers" this may not be YOUR cup of tea. One of MY favorite authors due to how she TREATS women in her books... cherished, spoiled, respected, and treasured. As it should be... but rarely is.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.