Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$13.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 27, 2013
Bioshock Infinite is just about everything I've spent the last three years or so dreaming it would be. Many of the more cynical folks out there seem to be annoyed by all of the glowing praise this game is getting. Personally, I can understand how this game could drive even a professional critic to embarrassing hyperbole. Bioshock was always in a 3-way tie with Dead Space and Assassin's Creed as my #1 favorite new franchise that started this console gen. The shoddy and bug-ridden AC3 late last year pretty much knocked it out of the running. I really enjoyed Dead Space 3 last month, in spite of some changes I didn't agree with. This game puts Bioshock way, way out in front. I definitely have a clear winner in mind now.

What I *really* want to comment on is how much of a shame it is that last week's exclusive IGN review poisoned the waters for those who will play the console versions of this game. Their reviewer went out of his way to point out that the Xbox and PS3 versions are not as graphically impressive as the PC version (gee thanks for the news, Capt. Obvious) and he accused them of having "sub-par lo-res textures, even for consoles" or something along those lines. As soon as that review went up, the disappointment spread like wildfire. Gaming forums all across the internet were awash in the blood and tears of console owners who were devastated to hear that Bioshock Infinite was disappointingly not up to snuff.

Well, I'm happy to tell you that, thankfully, it's a big load of b.s. As far as 360 games go, Bioshock Infinite looks absolutely fantastic. It compares with games like Gears of War Judgement and Halo 4 in virtually the same way that Bioshock 1 compared with Gears 1 and Halo 3. Like any 360 game, including Halo 4, if you go looking for blurry textures you will find them. Some textures are not meant to be viewed up close, jackass.

Bottom line, this game is beautiful, even on the 360. If you haven't played the PC version, you should have no cause for disappointment. And y'know, even if the graphics did suck, the awesome game play would make up for it. This is way more of a robust shooter than either Bioshock 1 or 2 ever were. And don't get me started on the sound. I just bought a set of Astro A40 headphones w/ mixamp last week, and using them while playing this game is proof enough that they were worth every penny.

I admit I did see one flaw in this game: They dropped the "save anywhere" system (which I always abused and will not apologize for that) and converted to a typical checkpoint/auto-save. In a lot of games, this wouldn't bother me at all. But in Bioshock, where you spend so much of your time roaming around huge areas scrounging for resources in every nook and cranny you can find, this is a big mistake. It really sucks when you get killed and have to back and re-scrounge everything you'd spent the last 10 minutes gathering. Also, I felt some mild disappointment when I realized that some of the cooler/weirder new game play features shown in demos back in 2010 and 2011 ended up on the cutting room floor. But all in all, this doesn't even put a dent in the overall quality. Nothing worth removing a star over.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
Pros: This is the last installment of one of my favorite trilogies. In my opinion it is very well done and the ending ties the series together perfectly. I highly recommend starting with the first Bioshock, if you have not, and avoid jumping right into this title. Overall this is a fantastic game with a wonderfully twisted story line, very sharp visuals, and excellent gameplay. IT'S A MUST PLAY!

Cons: Only that this was the end of the series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
This is a creepy game, but AWESOME to play. No other video game I have ever played is as twisted as this, or riveting to play. The very first Max Payne on the original Xbox was pretty warped, but Bioshock Infinite sets new milestones in the "What the F Department!" I've been a gamer for a long time, but not a complete Vidiot, so if I don't please hardcore gamer's with this review then I apologize. I have really really enjoyed playing this game and would recommend it to anyone who is a first person shooter junkie, drama/sci-fi/horror film appreciator, and deep thinker. This is a home run! Everything from the graphics to the story line is impeccably done. I feel this game has set standards for games to come, and has raised the bar significantly. Huge kudos to Irrational and 2K games.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
This story is simply fascinating, as it touches on some rather provocative and challenging social concepts. Just enjoy the journey and don't forget to take in all of the carefully placed detail while fighting alternate universe confederates. This game will not disappoint in terms of story, gameplay, graphics, or style
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
Great first person shooter game, but none of the cool style of the original Bioshock or Bioshock 2. Basically, imagine Bioshock 2 without anything that made Bioshock special. Sure, the combat is slicker & the graphics are nicer, but that's it. Elizabeth is kinda like Eleanor. There are no weird, interesting weapons. There's no hacking. No bots. There's nothing like Adam, everything just uses money. Nothing like Big Daddies or Little Sisters. Yes, there's the bird, but you never get to fight it. You only get to make 2 "choices" in the game and they have absolutely no impact on anything.

If you haven't played it yet, then at least buy the Ultimate edition, which includes the DLC. The DLC still costs like 20 or 30 bucks on Xbox live, but the Ultimate edition costs less than 15 on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
Its a great game, it's a semi-futuristic game with themes of the early 1900's. The level of detail in the game is amazing. Many weapons and the scenery is amazing, especially with you being high in the air. It gives you a sense of how racist America was during the pre and post-ww1 days. Otherwise its a great game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
I am a big fan of both BioShock 1 and 2 and Infinite is a remarkable new entry into the series. The graphics are incredibly clear and the environment is so very different from the original duet, set in a lofty Quantum Mechanics driven city in the skies against the original Libertarian underwater refuge. The enemies as well as the weapons are original and distinctive in many regards, from the mechanical Patriot robot warriors and "Handymen" to the variety of magical tonic driven powers reminiscent, while not mere repetition, of the original games. One of the most defining features of this game is that it is not simply combat driven as most games are today; the story and the atmosphere equally play into the motivations for playing it. The society of Columbia is a brilliant work of alternative historical fiction, grounded as it is in real social issues of turn of the century America. Even while the country was at the height of humanist optimism, it was also built on the shoulders of the oppressed masses of immigrants and descendants of the slaves. The stark rhetoric of the prophetic quasi-Christian movement at the heart of the society is thus set in savage contrast with the injustices and rampant racism against the wage-slaves that propel the industrialized city. The result is that you will enjoy the sections where there is no combat just as much as the fight scenes. At times it feels like going to some sort of warped Disney exhibit and is really chilling in its brilliant exposure of the racist tendencies in historic American culture. I won't say much about the actual story-line as I don't want to ruin it to new players, but it is a gripping and engaging story line that pulls you right through to the end.
My one complaint is that the game severely limits how much you can save. The checkpoints sometimes are close together, but at other times it is shocking how long you have to go before another savepoint. This can get quite annoying at moments and my wife in particular complained about this feature, particularly considering that this was a big change from the original games. At least it is not an issue of having to reload the checkpoint when you die, instead you are resurrected and a monetary fine is taken for the respawn, but it is annoying that sometimes you have to play for a long time before it will save which is annoying at times. But in the larger scheme this is a small caveat to an otherwise incredible journey that will entertain and excite a wide variety of gamers.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
Welcome to Columbia,

Just as much as the original Bioshock, this game is set place in a gorgeous and unique world. This time it is in the skies. The story and characters are intriguing right until the very end and is worth the play through just for that alone.

In addition, the gameplay is solid with unique and fun weapons and various abilities you can use to dispatch foes. I tend to get drawn into the world of Bioshock more than other FPS games as it is worth exploring and getting to know more of what happened or the current lore. The citizens of this place are crazy.

You also get to travel through the skies using various monorails that allow for a new dynamic of gameplay rather than just running around. Iconic music is also back and really adds to the experience. Booker is a fun character and unraveling the mysteries of Columbia was quite a blast!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
I preordered this hoping to have as much fun as I'd had with the previous 2 titles. I was really looking forward to the "sky" location, but after playing it, that fun and excitement wore of REALLY quick! It's an okay game in it's own right, but if you're looking to relive the playstyle of the originals,..this won't do it. I got all the way to the end and stopped playing. I just didn't care enough to see it through.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
The third installment of the Bioshock franchise takes everything up a notch—or several. The game play is better and more interesting, but the story is intricate and mind-blowing. You keep puzzling out bits and pieces of what's going on as you move along, and eventually the game becomes so story-driven that you can't wait to fight all those battles just to reach the (mind-blowing) conclusion. This can be a problem because the final battle is *really* hard. It smoked me fifteen times in a row at the "hard" setting. Normally I don't go down in difficulty, but I was so eager to find out the answer to the mystery that I dropped down a notch just so I could get there.

There's so much here that you really need to play it twice. The first time to get through it, the second time to go back and savor all the stuff you missed the first time around because you were so driven.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.