Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Robert E. Howard Omnibus: 99 Collected Stories (Halcyon Classics)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 2, 2011
There is no way on earth to get more Robert E. Howard stories for your buck than by buying this particular work. However, this 'omnibus' does not include everything Robert E Howard ever wrote, as the title suggests. For example, if you are a fan of Conan primarily, I would recommend 'Conan the Cimmerian: The Complete Tales (Trilogus Classics) [Kindle Edition].'

If you are looking for a lot of good work from Robert E Howard, and enjoy a little boxing, horror, and westerns, then this book is the one for you. Robert E. Howard is a little more multi-dimensional than simple sword and sorcery, but most of his work has recurring themes which a lot of people find appealing. Reading this omnibus will give you a greater insight into the man who created Conan the Cimmerian, by understanding his literature in the broader sense.

While this book does sport a navigable index, it is not accessible from anywhere in the book. You have to go the beginning of the book, go over the rather long index, and use the hyperlinks that are present there to skip to other chapters (see note) or stories in the book. Actually, you cannot get to specific chapters within different stories unless you mark them yourself. The index is based on stories, and most all of the stories have multiple chapters.

For this reason, I deduct a star, because an omnibus of this enormous size needs easy navigation, and I found the navigation adequate, but lacking. I realize that the price might go up with a full navigatable index that is accessible from within the book, but I would gladly pay up to $5 more for such a feature.

Recommended.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2011
A very good Robert E. Howard sampler, and it's possible to go directly to each story. If you're not aquainted with Howard, here's your chance. He's known mostly for heroic adventure, usually in a fantasy setting, but he wrote horror and humor, westerns and boxing stories as well--not to mention some excellent historical pieces.
This collection includes western--humorous and otherwise--Solomon Kane stories, horror, historical adventure, Kul, Bran Mak Morn, Cormac FitzGeoffrey, boxing stories, and a substantial majority of the Conan tales. Other than his poetry, you'll have to dig a bit to find Howard material not represented.Contents include at least two novels--"Hour of the Dragon" and "Almuric"--and a great many novellas any one of which would be worth the purchase price.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2011
These stories are some of Robert Howard's best! I highly recommend this collected edition. If you've never read Robert E. Howard you're in for a real treat and if you've never read any of his other writings besides Conan you're in for a real treat. These are classics! Two of my all time favorites stories of Robert are here: Beyond The Black River and Red Nails!! You can also get Red Nails for free here on Amazon. If you'd like to sample Robert's work first before getting this collection please try Red Nails for free. Believe me; You won't be able to put your Kindle down! Enjoy!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
I have no regrets about purchasing this collection. Whenever I migrate back to REH, I am always taken aback by what an excellent writer he was. Howard had an evident command of vocabulary, writing styles and historical knowledge. These he employed to weave well-crafted stories. If you are unfamiliar with REH's humorous works, this is a great introduction. Howard had a well-developed sense of humor and he exhibits it here ("Halt! Who Goes There?" and the Sailor Steve Costigan stories ("The Bull Breed," "Fist and Fang," etc.) are prime examples). It's an excellent sampler. My only reservation regarding this anthology are the various typographical errors that appear throughout the work. Many of these errors are glaring. For example, a line from "Queen of the Black Coast" should start with "Belit" but instead reads as "Wit". Another comes from "Red Nails". The line reads "And that was at it should have been..." Clearly the "t" in "at" should be an "s". I confirmed these typos using previously published editions of these stories. It's still a great collection. It's just sloppily edited. Be aware of that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
I could have gotten most of the Conan stories for free off Feedbooks given the copyright has expired on these works. It's all I really wanted, but I got tired of reading them without editing- they tended to have missing lines at the beginning of the chapters, and lots of inappropriate characters in random places. So I ponied up 2.99 for this collection of most of Howard's work, which includes a lot of stories besides the Conan stuff, and an incomplete Conan Anthology. I figured paying for and edited version would provide me with a more pleasant reading experience. Well, I was only partially right. Although the stories had better editing, there were still random inappropriate characters, suggesting this volume did little more than make a digital copy of existing text without any substantial proofreading.
33 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2012
This is an unbelievable collection of works by the master of short stories and novellas, Robert E. Howard. The worst part of owning this enormous collection of the pulp master and poet is choosing which story to read first. At the ridiculous low price, there should be no reason to own this fantastic collection. If you are not a fan, you will be after just a few stories. You cannot lose.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2013
This exhaustive collection of pulp magazine writings by Robert E. Howard is a "must-read" for Conan The Barbarian fans. It's helpful as well as those who might be interested in the breadth of written knowledge from a man who never left the area around Cross Plains, Texas after the age of 13. Although an amateur pugilist, I hadn't realized that he'd written many boxing stories. He also wrote dozens Western stories in addition to his heroic action figures such as King Kull. Although this massive tome (which I'm reading on my Kindle Fire HD 8.9") does not include all Howard's writings, it will give the reader a great insight into the talented Texan who took his own life at the age of 30. The only thing missing in this book (but available in several others) is Howard's history of the Hyborian Age, naming the peoples and countries he wrote about in his prolific sword and sorcery stories. I recommend this book to anyone in touch with their inner barbarian.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
Why is a Robert E. Howard omnibus awesome? Simply that it is. This collection shows the reader the absolute brilliance of one of pulp's most prolific and gifted authors. He wrote in every genre, and with skill and endless imagination. He was a master at telling tales and weaving worlds. Such a loss. It also illustrates how tragic it is that the world lost such a talent at such a young age under the sad and disturbing particulars of his death. We will never know what works he could have produced if he had not extinguished light of his literary fire. Every fan of the golden era of pulp fiction should own this collection. Every writer should study Howard and take notes. Truly one of greats.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
How could I not love a collection of short stories by the master storyteller. And what a deal it was. 99 of his shorts for one low price. I had previously bought the H.P. Lovecraft Omnibus, but Howard, in my opinion, is the better of the two. He can set a scene with the best of them, and then tell a story of heroic man against all odds. If you're a Howard fan then this one is for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
This is a great collection, both for the avid Howard fan or the person who has only recently discovered REH and wants to sample a cross section of his extremely versatile writing skills. I've read nearly everything the man wrote, including the obscure and fragments, and highly recommend the stories written by this amazingly adept writer.

Almuric is one of my favorite pieces by him, and it is included in this collection. It's a full novel length sci-fi story about a guy who is teleported to a planet far,far from earth, where he is much more at home than he was on earth. Read it, and enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.