Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Z-WORLD
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lori Mckenna Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 25, 2011
What an interesting, spooky, fantastic and completely unique book! Shifting by B. V. Larson is about a young lad, Gannon, who is one of a small band of the last living humans in a small town in Indiana...well, the last of the NORMAL humans anyway. Everyone else has shifted into something else...werewolf, spider, troll, elf, hag, and any possible crazy combination of creature, mythical or otherwise. Most of these creatures are deadly, full of rage, so the remaining humans have to protect themselves against those who have shifted, as well protecting themselves from shifting. Gannon looks after his younger brother and the other remaining people in town, as they struggle to adapt to their new world, and to decide where the line between monster and human should be drawn.

Gannon's world is strange and disturbing, and weeks after reading it, I still find myself thinking about it and mulling it over in my head. The characters are complex and interesting; Gannon, in particular, is compelling as a young man trying to be brave when faced with surreal, terrible, and difficult circumstances. Well worth reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2010
This is an apocalyptic story that takes place in a changed world. People are changing and it is not a good change. They are turning into strange mythical beings. The world is also a changed and incredibly dangerous place to live. People are either changing into monsters or being killed by them. We follow a man named Gannon as he tries to keep the remaining townspeople alive. There are mythical creatures everywhere. But the ones you really have to watch for are the ones that might look normal. What is your neighbor hiding under his clothing?

This is a really creepy story. I'm not usually a big fantasy buff, but this story was just the right combination of fantasy and horror. It is a great deal for the price on the kindle. This was a very scary world to live in!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2010
I can't believe I how lucky I was to stumble on this book. It grabbed me from the first chapter and held me tight. A world where guns don't always fire but where a stone created by a hoofprint from a glowing being can sharpen a sword so that it will cut through anything. A world where elves and hags have come back to life after sleeping for hundreds of years and mundane humans are being transformed both for good and evil. I couldn't put it down and I'm currently rushing to see what else this author has put out..there goes my kindle budget for the month.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2012
Made it through the whole book only because I really liked Larson's other books.
Starforce and Mech are awesome series.
Shifting, however, is really disappointing. Editing mistakes - slips to third person for a page or so, talking about the wrong character...
But the worst is the story is just bleh. The theme has potential even if already done by many like Terry Brooks.
There's only a hint of the main character and the supporting cast is pretty cookie cutter.
It really feels like a third of a book, not a complete novel. Not as awesome as the 5 stars led me to believe.
Hopefully this is a fluke for Larson. I couldn't put down the Mech and Starforce books.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
I really enjoyed this story. I liked the principal characters and the idea of magic spontaneously appearing in the world periodically is a fascinating idea. My only complaint is that I finished the story too quickly. BV Larson, when do we see the next installment of this story? This idea and these characters could easily be expanded into 2 or 3 more novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
If you read the title you might think: cool, a Zombie-Book.

Well, it is not. It's more a mix of mild post-apocalypse and horror (beginning) and fantasy (middle & end) and the potpourri is not very good. I skipped around 1/4 near the end because it was just plain boring. I didn't want to stop unfinished and hoped for an explanation why the world changed but either I missed it or it wasn't there. If there was an explanation I don't think it was a good one...

Liked Technomancer a lot but this here is just dull. Not a recommendation, therefore only one star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
I finshed this book last night and it was great. It's a hybrid of a zombie novel, urban fantasy, and gruesome horror novel all rolled into one. It's a stand alone story but could easily lend itself into an expansion of at least two more books. Especially when you consider the book's ending which leaves unanswered question's as to what to become of the hero and the surviving residents of Redmoor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2012
I was hooked from the beginning with this book. I'm not going to describe the plot, there are plenty of reviews that do that, just to recommend it if you read the reviews & it seems like you'd enjoy it. There are some slow parts & some silly parts, but overall it was a great book. I've read a lot of the less expensive books, the .99, 1.99, etc. & have been regularly disappointed. Not with this book. It was well worth the money & definitely worth the time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
This was, to say the least, a very different take on the apocalypse. The whole reasoning behind the happenings really never gets explained which I was upset about. Also the book just kinda ends with no closure or even a scenario of what happened next. There was a decent portion of action but some of the things were out there for even this book. It was an ok read but I honestly expected a little better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2011
First of all, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this short novel. I paid very little for it and it was better than some other highly priced novels I've purchased. Yes, as a few others have noted, it gets a little weak towards the end of the book, but I still felt satisfied.

What DID distract me some was this -- beginning with Chapter 29 quite a few typos were sprinkled throughout the text. It's as if editing or spell-checking ended with Chapter 28. While I realize that these are e-books and are considerably cheaper than standard paper books, I shouldn't have to "dumb down" my reading expectations. This new digital age holds much promise, but not if it results in writers AND readers becoming lazier. (And yes, I know that this problem is not limited to e-books).

I DO recommend this novel as a fun read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.