Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

256 of 259 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 26, 2011
After months of research, I originally bought the SoyaPower Plus, which I was very happy with. Then, MacGuffin, another reviewer, was very thoughtful and told me about this new model, the SoyaJoy G3. I looked into and decided it was a better option for me than the SoyaPower Plus. The MAIN reason being that this G3 has the ability to make RAW milks and juices. I really enjoyed my previous model (it really is great and if you don't care about RAW, then go for it), but I am SO happy I "upgraded"! The raw milks are done faster (no water heating/cooking time) and they can be drank right away (no "cooling off" time). The milks come out at a perfect temperature (not too hot, not too cold).

STYLE:

I also prefer the "aesthetic" of the G3 over the SoyaPower Plus (which looked nice, in its own right). However, for me, I have NO white in my kitchen, but I do have a lot of other stainless counter-top appliances in view (toaster oven, blender, ice cream maker, coffee maker). So, this blends right in. In addition, the dark ring around the top and line in the handle is a deep burgundy brown, which matches my cabinets. Also, the lights are the super-cool glowing blue color, with illuminated outline images of what is being used (beans, etc.). The previous model had a single red LED for each function button.

None of this has anything to do with making milk, but since MacGuffin covered the function so well :), I thought it'd be helpful to cover the aesthetic.

FUNCTIONAL DESIGN (w/details comparing the SoyaPower Plus):

If you have small children or others who are not aware of the dangers of steaming hot things, the SoyaPower Plus might be a better option for you, as it has a thermoplastic layer on the outside (which insulates the hot stainless pitcher from the outside), and the top latches to the bottom. The G3 gets very hot on the outside (unless you're making raw milks) and there is nothing "attaching" it to the pitcher part. Only gravity holds it down. Works fine for us. And, as MacGuffin mentioned, be sure the "nub" is over the handle, so the "switch" to turn it on can be activated. (There's a little "pole" that slides into a hole to tell the machine it's properly seated). I was worried becuase my machine head rattled a little, but it's just the movable switch part. When it is mounted, there's no rattle. The rattle only happens when you "shake" the unit, anyway.

I thought the top handle on the SpoyaPower Plus was great, but I think the top handle on the SoyaJoy G3 is even better. It's integrated, has a cushioned rubbery bumpy pad on the inside and it really makes it easy to "handle" and maneuver the machine head. The top is rounded, so as MacGuffin said, no top storage. We use ours too often to store anything on top, so again, no bother to us.

I have also noticed that the pitcher handle on the G3 affords more finger room, between it and the pitcher. There is a plastic area to protect knuckles, but if you found the SoyaPower Plus to have a small handle gap, you will be happy to know the G3's gap is considerably larger.

ACCESSORIES:

All of the accessory parts that come with the SoyaPower Plus (pitcher, cleaning brush, scrubbie, filter, measuring cup, & power cord) are the same as what's included in this G3 (well, mine were, anyway). The G3 (like the Plus), comes with a little instruction manual that is very helpful. TIP: do not plug it in without water in the pitcher - it will just beep continuously. I tried to see the cool lights before making any milk and I heard a steady beep, which worried me, until I read the handy-dandy troubleshooting chart in the little book (glad to know I wasn't the only one!).

The one downside I can see to the G3 is that it does not come with the wonderful recipe book that the SoyaPower Plus came with. This is certainly not a deal-breaker, as it seems the recipes are available on their website (do a google search for Sanlinx and you will see their site at the top of a page with a direct link to their recipes). We've tried the Okara Chikn Strips - Yummy!

MILK OPTIONS:

We have made both cooked soymilks and raw nutmilks in the G3. My favorite is a recipe using almonds, cashews, walnuts, and raw shelled hempseed. It's soooo good and the "mash" that you get is fantastic! I eat it plain, while my fiancee likes to add a bit of cinnamon, some raisins, etc. It makes delicious milks with just almonds or almonds & a touch of honey, too!

BASIC STEPS FOR MAKING MILK:

It's so easy to do: soak & rinse beans or nuts as needed; pour water to desired line (the G3 actually tells you the measurement of the two lines, instead of a "more" and a "less" guestimation.); then add soaked & rinsed nuts/beans; sit machinehead on the top (on the G3, there are no clips holding it down - no matter to me); plug power cord into machine and then into the wall; be mesmerized by glowing blue LEDs; choose appropriate function & push that button; wait; strain twice (our preference); chill if needed; enjoy! Making and waiting times depend on what you're making the milks from and if it's raw (which takes less time). Clean-up is also very easy.

CLEAN UP:

To save space, I have posted the details of our clean-up process in the COMMENTS section of this review. It is currently on page 4, third comment from the top.

TASTE:

For soymilk, I like it ever-so slightly warm and completely plain. It's DELICIOUS! Another reviewer of the Sanlinx products said theirs had an "eggy" smell. Ours (using the Laura beans) does smell faintly like hard-boiled eggs (the second batch, more-so). It wasn't that bad and I actually think it is a nice smell. The experience reminds me of an egg-cream, or thin egg-nog. We don't eat eggs here in the house, but from my memory, I think it's similar. Either way, it's really yummy and smooth. I also tried it with a squirt of chocolate syrup and it was tasty! He likes it with a touch of Vanilla Extract (which I thought was gross). Good thing I bought two frigoverre's! *See other TIPS below*

COST/SAVINGS:

We estimate the cost to be around $.50 per liter using the laura soybeans. We were paying $2 per liter for organic unsweetened soymilk at our local wegmans (love that place, too!). We bought about 5 liters per week. According to our math, at current usage levels, it will take about 5 months for the cost of the SoyaJoy G3 and 13 lbs of Laura soybeans (which should last about 3 months for our use) to "pay for themselves". After that, it's a savings of $7.50 per week (assuming soybeans stay their current cost), plus the soymilk is so much fresher and tastier and there's not so much worry about Aluminum-lined TetraPaks, Hexane-extracted soymilk, running out of soymilk (all the time) or all that trash (why aren't tetrapaks recyclable??)! Someday, we hope to power our house with solar and we'll have a sun-powered SoyaJoy G3! We're really looking forward to experimenting more with rice, quinoa, peanuts, oats, barley, & even the soup options! And, as a bonus, we get this okara stuff that seems to be super useful! There's even a recipe for Okara Brownies & an Okara Facial! We made vegan Okara Chick'n Cutlets with our 1st batch - YUMMY!

NOTE: After I did these calculations, I realized the Laura Soybeans are NOT organic; they are, however, NON-GMO. I hear that pesticide use on soy crops is actually pretty light, though. I have not yet looked into this, myself, but I wanted to mention it.

TIPS:

- clean the machine before you use it for the 1st time: a drop of dishsoap and water filled to the fill line, turn the machine one and it will "clean" itself. haven't tried this post-milk, however.
- if you don't already filter your water, consider it. We use the Mavea Pitcher & filters (bought on amazon) - better water = better milk.
- think about buying two 1L hermetically sealed frigoverre glass jars (you can keep a new batch sealed while you finish a previous batch; or, you can have two different "milks" in the fridge at once) - plus, you can seal them and shake, if needed.
- we have also considered using 1Qt glass widemouth (personal preference) mason jars with the plastic lids (they should be airtight (some leak), the metal are not, if not canning) - this can hold a back-up batch, too
- use a tea strainer (or a fine mesh) as a second straining (we catch a lot more okara this way).
- a dash of Vanilla Extract was a bit too bitter for me. Cutting it with a small squirt of raw agave was just the right "fix" (but made the milk sweeter than I prefer)
- I found the 13lb laura soybeans, with shipping, to be less expensive than other beans in the other places I looked (sadly, Laura are not organic, and there are no bulk soybeans at wegmans)
- if you buy soybeans in bulk, look for reusable produce bags (I bought mine here on amazon).
- we bought a glass marking pen here on amazon to mark the "flavor" and "born on date" on the frigoverre jars - very helpful (& available at Staples, for way less $)!
- the milk (in our experience) lasts 3-5 days, depending on the ingredients and how often you open the container, etc. I read that boil-sterilizing the pitchers & accessories helps milk to last longer, but I have not tried that. We use a UV lamp, bought here on Amazon.
- Sept 2012: NEW TIP: for taking "milk" on the go, I pour it into a Bodum Portable French Press, like this one:
 Bodum Stainless Steel Vacuum Travel Press Coffee Maker with Orange Silicone Grip, 16-Ounce - it keeps it cool (or warm, if you prefer) and if you pour the milk in, prior to inserting & pushing the plunger down, it will further filter the pulp (if you want a more pulp-free milk).
And remember, take time to enjoy the new milks you'll create!

I rely on reviews here at Amazon to help me make informed buying choices. I hope this review has helped you in the same manner. If you voted this as helpful, I Thank You! :)
3535 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
77 of 77 people found the following review helpful
We tested the new Soyajoy G3 and it was easy to use. Liked the quick clean up and it Soyajoy G3 Soy Milk Maker - Newest and The Only Model for Making Hot As Well As Raw Milks From Beans, Almond, Hemp, and Other Seeds and Grainsmade soymilk in about 16 minutes and raw almond milk in just 3 minutes. Both really tasty.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
I'm very proud to be the first Amazon reviewer of the new Soyajoy G3 Soy Milk Maker. I've been a happy SoyaPower owner (not the Plus--mine is the previous generation) for a number of years but I couldn't resist the opportunity to test-drive the latest technology and as good as my SoyaPower is, this is even better.

The G3 utilizes a recent upgrade in grinding technology, the patented Tornado Funnel. This replaces the filter basket found in earlier Sanlinx releases (including mine), although it's also found in the SoyaPower Plus. Basically, a stainless steel cone fits over the blade shaft and creates a tight vortex so that virtually nothing escapes; as well as the filter basket worked, it wasn't uncommon to find an unprocessed bean or seed or two, besides which the basket is MUCH more difficult to clean than the new strainer. I have yet to see this occur with the G3--the resulting okara is completely and consistently ground. In addition, you can up the amount of dry matter to a full 6 ounces which means you can make even richer milk than the previous models, especially if, like me, you prefer to use the minimum amount of water. As good as my previous milk was, this manages to trump it.

The G3 also provides somewhat longer processing times (most of them cooking, I think) that benefit the quality of the milk; it seems to have a somewhat greater depth of flavor than that made with my SoyaPower. In addition, the grinding modes for the G3 are brand new and exclusive to it--they are "BEANS/NUTS," "GRAINS/SEEDS" (for when the proportion of beans is exceeded by that of grains/seeds), "SOUP/PASTE" (this is the one you want for rice milk), and "RAW/JUICE" (this is a cold cycle and is also for raw nut milks). Quite a few recipes are included, including some excellent ones by my buddy Vickilynn Haycraft of Real Food Living fame. The only cycle I haven't played with yet is the last one; I have a Vitamix and a juicer so it's a little extraneous for my purposes although at some point I'll give it a try and update this review. The other cycles produce beautiful cooked milks.

The G3 comes with a heat-proof plastic pitcher, a very fine strainer (does an excellent job, BTW), a few utensils for cleaning, a measuring cup, a sample of Laura soybeans, and instructions and recipes. I kinda prefer the measuring cup that came with my SoyaPower; it holds 4½ oz. and the new one holds 3½--each cup is off a standard ½ cup measure by a tablespoon. Also, I prefer my SoyaPower's appearance, the fact that its exterior is heat-resistant--you have to be careful with the G3--and that it locks. I also like that the top is flat because I can put my tea tools on it when it's not in use (hey, counter space is at a premium here). But to tell you the truth, I don't think I'll be using my SoyaPower now because I prefer what I can do with the G3. Given how well the older models perform, I can't advise current owners whether or not they should update but it's something to at least consider if you can afford it.

If I'm not mistaken, the G3, like the other Sanlinx models, is available with different warranty options and prices reflect this so bear it in mind if one price seems considerably different than another. Although I've never had a problem with either of my machines, I've come to know Wendy at Sanlinx and I can assure you that this company is committed to the sale of quality appliances and supporting their customer base. I'm not a fan of Chinese-made products in general but my Sanlinx machines have been notable exceptions; they perform exactly as advertised and so far, my first is long-lived (quality control is obviously taken seriously). Bottom line: I didn't think my SoyaPower could be improved upon but it has been (twice--the SoyaPower Plus improves on it as well). Soy milk makers make life easy for those who want to make their own because they simultaneously cook and grind the beans/grain; even if using a Vitamix, the beans have to be cooked first. This is as easy as can be and is programmed to cook for the optimal period of time at the correct temperature.

A few caveats: if you expect to duplicate commercial milks, you're likely to be disappointed. However, the beauty of the G3 is that not only are the add-ins to your taste and at your discretion (you can get very creative if you're of a mind), you know exactly what they are. And don't think that what you make at home can't be at least, if not more, delicious than what you've been buying--it just won't be identical. Making your own is also more work than throwing a carton into your grocery basket, however, the machine pays for itself very quickly and if you have children, you can make it a family activity (and believe me, kids really respond to fresh, warm soy milk once it has been flavored and sweetened a bit--my best friend's fussy little one loves warm soy milk the way I make it).

If you've been considering making your own bean- or grain-based milks, this is what you want; I think you can even make congee for breakfast in it! HIGHEST recommendation. :)
4747 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2012
Verified Purchase
i bought this after buying 2-3 litres of soymilk at the supermarket and randomly wondering how much it would cost to produce it myself. needless to say the markup for organic soymilk is bombastic and absurd.

I already soak beans for my regular meals so soaking soybeans seemed like a no brainer. The machine was offered on discount, and i decided to give it a try.

compared to the rest of the appliances in my kitchen, this thing seems like it has a mind of its own. grind a little here, grind a little there, and occasionally give a little wiggle on my countertop (it still stays quite firmly planted). after a half hour the device beeps contentedly, letting me know the milks ready.
my first batch of rice milk ended up with the consistency of heavy cream, and an amazing savory flavor and natural sweetness that rice milk at the supermarket just doesnt have. its also a brilliant icy white, as opposed to the stuff at the store that has a rather grey color. I had no problem consuming it all in a day and wondering where it went the day after.

my first batch of soy milk was refreshingly unadulterated. warm from the machine, it has an inviting texture and deliciously clean finish. cold out of the fridge its just as good, and with a little agave i think its actually better than silk. okara is left behind during its manufacture, which is a fluffy cream colored soybean paste that i cant find any immediate uses for, but doesnt disappoint when added to the things i cook. when i added it to marinara i was simmering, it adulterated the color a little but made the sauce much thicker and more adherent to pasta.

my first batch of almond milk was delicious. the consistency is that of soymilk and the byproduct can be salvaged, salted, and spread onto bagels as almond butter!

if you're on the fence about this, and you like soy milk, you should definitely try it out. this machine takes all the work out of it and delivers a consistently delicious beverage at a fraction of the cost of the stuff at the store.
cleanup is easy, the device includes a scrub brush and an abrasive sponge to do the job.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase
I received my new Soyajoy G3 this week and love it! I especially love the "tornado" funnel that means that I no longer have to use and clean a filter basket. I also really love that the Soyajoy has so many settings that I can tailor the processing and temperature to what I am looking for in my end product. I have had a Soylove soymilk maker (only hot processing) with the filter basket and used it to make my own soymilk for years. It worked great, but cleaning up the filter basket was always a huge mess. I have now switched from making and drinking soymilk primarily to making and drinking almond milk - more calcium, lower calories than cow's milk, and tastes great! My old Soylove was one of the soymilk makers that did not require that you soak your soybeans or almonds before processing them - which was convenient. But now that I am soaking my almonds overnight before making my almond milk, I do agree that soaked beans/nuts makes better grain/bean/nut milk. And it is really not a hassle either. I am now going to start making my own soymilk to make my own tofu. I have not made a batch yet, but plan to make as many of my diet staples fresh myself as possible. Much healthier - and no mysterious preservatives, additives, and binders! Yesterday I made a carrot "porridge" in my Soyajoy. I used the vegetable soup recipe and substituted carrot for the potato. I used chicken stock for part of the water and added a touch of curry powder with the salt and pepper and added a diced 1/2" piece of fresh ginger. It was DELICIOUS! It made enough to keep in the refrigerator for a couple of days to have a cup of soup for a snack rather than crackers or candy. Much healthier. I will be making a lot of soups, soymilk for tofu, and almond milk in my new Soyjoy. I also used the left over almond okara to make some Indian Masala Chai flax crackers in my dehumidifier. They turned out great, too. I have just one complaint about my new Soyajoy. I wish the motor head - the part where the mixing blade comes out - was also made of stainless steel. When I made my carrot soup it stained the white plastic where the mixing blade comes out on the Soyajoy a light orange color and it would not wash off, even when I washed the mixing/heating portions immediately. It came perfectly clean, but just looked stained. Of course this will not be a problem for other batches of soup or milk, it was just not the pretty white color that it was three days ago when I opened up the package. Since I am going to be making lots of soup/porridges in my Soyjoy, I give up and just will not worry about staining, but it is a design feature that Sanlinx may want to think about. All and all my Soyjoy is going to pay for itself quickly with the money I will save on purchasing almond milk from the grocery store - not to mention the great health benefits I will receive. I would highly recommend this grain/bean/nut milk maker to anyone. Using the Soyajoy is quick, fun, and very healthy!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase
The important thing is that the Soyajoy G3 Soy Milk Maker worked well the first time I used it. I added 2 Tblsp. of white rice to the soaked soybeans and the resulting product had a smooth, pleasant taste even without adding flavorings. The finely ground, high protein "okara" or soy pulp left after filtering was an unexpected bonus. I combined it with egg, spices and potato flakes to make tasty okara patties; and have also used it (a couple Tblsp.) in pancakes.

The manual filtering process, required to separate the milk from the soy pulp (or other types of pulp), is time consuming and somewhat messy. Stirring or pressing the pulp while straining speeds up the process, but you'll end up with a small amount of sludge at the bottom of your storage container.

Cleanup of the blade and heater element was bit tedious, but this a task that must be endured when working with this type of machine. You know that any machine that comes with a tiny cleaning brush is going to be a pain to clean! It will take you a couple of minutes, and it should be done immediately after processing.

The machine itself appears to be reasonably well made. There's a little vibration when the motor is running--but not excessive considering that the grinding blade is attached to the end of a 3" metal rod. I do have some concerns about durability, since a few of the reviewers have had problems with defects or early breakdowns. I also agree with reviewers who have pointed out that the stainless steel "tornado funnel" doesn't lock securely in place. However, almost all the ratings are positive, which indicates that most users are satisfied with the machine's performance.

The advertised 2 year warranty is reassuring, but my box didn't contain a 2 year warranty certificate. According to Sanlinx, if you purchase the machine through Amazon, you're automatically registered for the 2 year warranty. --If you want to keep evidence for your files, I guess they expect you to copy the details from the Amazon web page. On the plus side, reviewers have said that Sanlinx is prompt in replying to customer concerns.

No technical specifications were printed on the machine I received, and none were listed in the manual; so we aren't told how much current the machine uses. I thought this was unusual. Furthermore, this particular model is not UL listed, although according to Sanlinx, some of their other models are listed.

The manual contains useful information and recipes, but is confusing in regard to measurements. Please note that the SAMPLE RECIPES ASSUME USE OF THE QUIRKY LITTLE "SANLINX CUP" that comes with the machine. Page 5, paragraph 1 states that 1 +1/5 Sanlinx cup equals 3/4 standard American cup. For making soymilk, I've thrown away the Sanlinx cup and am using my regular 3/4 cup measuring cup. If you do this, just remember that for the other sample recipes you'll have to convert from Sanlinx cups to regular measuring cups!

A final note: Sanlinx describes itself as the "distributor and manufacturer" of these machines. This may be misleading. According to the company profile on manta.com, Sanlinx, Inc. is located in Tennessee and has 2 employees. I suspect that Sanlinx isn't involved much in manufacturing--other than perhaps providing some design specifications. The machines are made in China.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on May 30, 2012
I owned the previous model around 2002-2004 but quit using it because the milk tasted funny, it was hard to clean and it kept burning on the heating element. Eight years later I am trying to move from vegetarian to vegan and hate throwing out all the cartons so I thought I'd give the new model a try. I was hesitant but it had enough changes that I was hopeful the problems have been solved. They have been.

The grinder now has four blades instead of two. The old filter used to be in the machine while it was processing and now is a simple hand filter. The circulation of the milk has improved with the new blade cover (instead of the filter). And it has 4 button options instead of one.

I use organic soybeans from the local food store (1 measuring cup) and organic brown rice (1/2 measuring cup), 2 tablespoons organic sugar and 1/4 teaspoon salt. (Measuring cup = one they provide) It tastes great. Has never burned. Is quick to make and quick to clean up.

Three tips: 1. Let it cool in glass or metal - they provide a plastic pitcher, but I'm not a fan of putting hot food in plastic. 2. Clean everything up right away before it dries - it takes 5 minutes, literally. 3. Put a loose cover on it, but don't seal it. There is a sulfur-egg smell that collects if it's covered (but doesn't impact the taste). I usually blow on the top when I first take it ouf the fridge to avoid the smell.

I rarely review things on Amazon, but my happiness with the new model inspired me...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on March 21, 2012
Verified Purchase
For health reasons I started using soy milk in cooking, cereal, and coffee and was happy with the change. I was not happy, however, with paying $6+/gallon (for unsweetened organic) and sending all those cartons to the landfill. Then I found this machine.

My first consideration before buying was the cost: according to one figure, 1 lb of soy beans ($1.99 at my local organic market) makes 1.8 gallons of milk - that's $1.10/gal for approximately a $5/gal savings. My next consideration was knowing exactly what additives were being put in the milk. All commercial soy milks have additives, which is why most reviews warn that fresh soy milk will not taste quite the same as commercial soy milk. What I didn't expect was how much BETTER I would like it - I like adding nothing but 1/4 tsp honey to a large mug of milk. (And when I'm sick I LOVE drinking it hot with a full tsp of honey, a little unsweetened cocoa, and a drop or two of vanilla. Comfort food that is also healthy; who knew?) Finally, I considered the environmental impact: instead of sending cartons to the landfill, I'm feeding "okara" (soy pulp) to my compost worms who turn it into very rich soil for my organic garden. (There are lots of internet recipes for okara, but since I raise compost worms, and they love it, I haven't felt the need to try the recipes yet.)

This machine is super easy to use and clean (and I'm naturally extremely messy, so if it's easy for me to keep clean anyone can do it). Each morning I simply fill it to the proper level with water, add the soaked soybeans, plug it in, and push a button. About fifteen minutes later I have hot and delicious soy milk. (Cold almond milk takes even less time and is also delicious, but I like this soy milk so much I haven't had to mix it with almond milk like I did the commercial variety.) While the soy milk is straining through the supplied colander, I rinse off the washable parts and pitcher while wiping them with the provided scrub pad. Then I wipe them dry with a dishtowel and I'm done - no problem and done in two minutes at the most. About once a week I then run it through the grain/bean cycle with just water to scald/sanitize it, but that's just me.

While I like the soy milk hot right out of the machine, I always keep some on hand in the refrigerator for cooking, etc. My husband has high cholesterol and needs to add soy to his diet, but insists he hates the taste of anything soy. What he doesn't know is that those smoothies he loves so much (and that I now send to work with him everyday) have about 1 cup of soy milk per smoothie. Now that it's always on hand, I've also found plenty of other ways to use it in foods that I make for him, and look forward to seeing what effect this has on his cholesterol. (My father recently knocked 30 points off his "bad" cholesterol, mainly by switching to soy milk.)

I haven't tried all the different settings yet, but even if I never use them the Soyajoy will be well worth the money. It's easy and extremely handy. I've used it every day since I got it so, though I haven't done the math yet, it will very quickly "pay for itself".
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase
I'm all about things that look pretty, so when deciding to buy a soy milk maker, the two brands that were most highly recommended were the SoyaJoy and the Soyabella. Because the Soyabella is prettier, I bought it.

MISTAKE!!! It was so hard to clean that after using it to make about 5 batches of soy milk, I returned it. The thing was impossible!

Enter the SoyaJoy: soy milk making for dummies. Soak beans overnight in the pitcher that comes with the machine, drain the beans in the morning using the strainer that is included, put in the big basin, fill water to indicated fill line and let 'er rip. About 25 minutes later, you have soy milk! I strain it, again using the included sieve, press out the excess water and flavor it with sugar, salt and vanilla.

(Note: don't throw out the soybean pulp! Use it to make vegan sausages using one of Isa Chandra Moskowitz's recipes (from Vegan Brunch book) and use the soybean paste in lieu of the mashed beans. The sausages are super delicious!)

Clean up is a breeze. The machine is just the big pitcher, the lid, which has the blending blades attached and a metal funnel to hide the blades. All are incredibly easy to clean.

If you are wavering between the two, I hope my experience has helped you. Using the Soyabella, I hated making soy milk; using the SoyaJoy, it's no more difficult than brewing a cup of coffee.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase
I can't begin to say how thrilled I am with this soymilk machine. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before I bought it. I'm happy to say that my efforts paid off in a big way. I am totally new to making soymilk and have always drank various brands: Silk, Westsoy, Edensoy, Pearl, etc. The problem has been that our food budget is just getting out of hand so I needed to find ways to cut back without sacrificing my health by going back to animal products. I already bake my own bread, make my own soaps & cosmetics, and got a masticating juicer for healthy juice. So naturally making my own soymilk & tofu was the next step. When I got the Soyajoy G3 I was a little afraid that it was going to be a hassle and not taste as good. I followed the instructions for my first batch exactly like it said. Unfortunately, it smelled like rotten eggs very badly. So I did an internet search on bad smelling soymilk and VIOLA! I found out that I was at fault not the soymilk machine. I simply heated up the milk in a pan to a light boil and the smell instantly disappeared leaving a lovely milk that tasted great with a touch of honey and pinch of salt. I also found out a few other great tricks that make perfect milk every time with the least work. Here is my method:

1. Pour boiling water over your beans when you soak them and soak them for a minimum of 12 hours. I prefer soaking about 18 hours.

2. Drain the beans and pop them in the microwave for 2 minutes on high before adding them to the machine.

3. Add boiling water to your machine up to the marks. Add your hot beans to that. Turn it on the bean cycle.

4. Strain your milk through a larger mesh screen then strain it through the small mesh screen they send with your kit. It goes faster that way.

5. For clean up... follow the instructions to clean the machine when you first get it... fill with water between the lines, put a drop or two of dish soap, turn the machine on a cycle. It will loosen up the bean residue and make cleaning the machine SO MUCH EASIER!

I love love love this machine and the soymilk it makes! I never had hot soymilk before. Now I can't wait till it gets done so I can sip a mug straight from the machine! YUMMY! It's also good with a bit of cinnamon or nutmeg and honey.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.