Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 23, 2011
I'll begin by saying that the central premise of the title and promise of the film--that we each have an invaluable, unique core purpose in our lives that should be fully expressed and generously shared--is a lesson I hold dear (though it was not because of this film that I learned its value).
Though there are people in the film whose stories and wisdom support this message, there are aspects of Discover the Gift that completely undermine their contributions. It's unfortunate but the fundamental obstacle for me was the filmmaker himself. Mr. Lichtenstein seems sincere in his own search for peace within and in his relationships, but while admitting faults he still seems more intent on portraying himself as a grand teacher of profound wisdom--not as someone still finding his way. He definitely earns a star for taking steps to improve his well-being, but the film feels more like a giant ego trip for him. Rather than being a person who has "discovered" something so powerful in the universe that it's changed their life and they cannot help but tell others about it with joy and zeal, the desire to "tell others" feels as if it is the driving force behind Discover the Gift. As others have mentioned, it does also have a feeling of opportunism as if trying to mirror the success of the film/book, The Secret.
It's sad--Sad that someone would try to use some beautiful concepts for what appears to be either earthly or self-gratifying reasons. I came to this looking for encouragement at a difficult point in my life, and now after having watched the film and bought the book I'm sorry to come away sharing such a negative feeling. But we've all seen that each of us is susceptible to pride in our "spiritual achievement" and also may have known teachers that seem more interested in receiving admiration than in serving their students.
There are some impressive teachers who contribute to both the film and book (their contributions to the book are just transcripts of what they say in the film). However useful their guidance, and however nicely packaged this product is, it lacks a true heart.
0Comment29 of 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2011
the book has a beautiful message, but as i am about 3/4's thru the reading, i have found the content excessively redundant and lacking any instructive material.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2011
I was excited about this DVD as I usually am with spiritually centered material but this one missed the mark for me. The list and messages of the spiritual leaders is wonderful as is the cinamatography of this movie. For me it misses the mark as typical of Hollywood it uses mostly romantic images to talk about spiritual love, it appears to contain sexism and agism not supportive of gifts/purpose. Finally there are some purely egoic clips of Mr.Lichtenstein that don't integrate well in the movie; because of this it seems too long. Think twice before spending your money. There is better material.
33 comments16 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2011
This is a visually-stunning, moving walk in the spiritual and physical woods that illustrates the astonishing power of forgiveness and turning your boat around when you realize you've been a jerk and you're hurting someone you love. The healing force of "Zen and the Art of Accepting an Apology With Grace and Gratitude" (my terminology) is highlighted big time in this film, too.

It's about 1:45 hrs. long, so some might want to consider pausing it about half way through and viewing it in two sittings. I'd also suggest having pen and pad handy for notes; there's a lot to think about, absorb and feel in this movie.

"Discover the Gift: The Movie" is a documentary that's extremely well done on all levels. I highly recommend it.
22 comments18 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2011
Other than repeating spiritual concepts preached by other teachers this book and the movie have nothing to offer. The main character in the movie was so self absorbed and such and ego manic that is was hard to watch. Its easy to act spiritual when your a millionare. Not once did he say anything about helping other people. You would be better off just going to the Agape church services where they got all their information; just go to the sourse. Find the teachers in the book and movie and just look them up you would be better off. Micheal Beckwith is amazing and some of the other teachers. Nothing new here save your money.
11 comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2012
I loved this movie- actually I love all movies like this- I NEVER get tired of hearing about someone's personal life experience and how they have transcended their issues- As it has been said- "There is only one of us here"... so the journey of another always holds much interest for me.
It is beautiful to watch... a stunning visual feast- I want to meet all in the cast and crew and tell them how much I was inspired and moved by the whole film. It was pure positive energy streaming through the tv to my heart. Thanks so much for such a wonderful work-
It did make me wish I knew of something since my childhood that I always wanted to do- BUT, I am encouraged to search my heart.. hands held on top of it... for the answer-
Buy it or stream it.... invite some friends over and watch...
We watched it with one hand on the pause button and we stopped and discussed sections all the way through- takes longer- but great conversations were had. Wonderful way to spend an evening.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2014
Who would have ever thought that I would be writing a review about a book and a movie that are inspiring worldwide movement? Read the reviews and you will find the most incredible men and women giving their highest praise to Shajen and Demian. Many of them are well known authors and inspirational speakers themselves.

I taught science for 36 years. I was blessed with thousands of gifts called students.
I urged them to realize their inheritance and reach for the their highest goals.
From birth every child is given a unique set of genes that will evolve and determine his destiny.

As educators we sometimes view failure as a negative thing. It is actually part of the process of growth that each individual must process to become truly actualized.
This book and the movement it inspires was written by two people who overcame incredible odds to find their gifts. Once you read the book you will feel a passion to share your gift with the world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
Love the direct heart to heart story in the beginning that sets the pace to conveying practical wisdom that anyone can follow. This wisdom conveyed by the book is presented in a perfect sequence starting with where we are, and with growth in consciousness, at each stage, another layer of wisdom teachings.
I highly recommend this precious book to anyone seeking more happiness, accomplishment, fulfillment, peace, tranquility and completeness.
You will find your precious nugget of wisdom to take you to the next level of progress in your life reading this book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
I was looking for some kind of program or book that was up-lifting and helpful for self improvement/healing. This audio book was so disappointing to me. It is all about how the wealthy can travel the world to find themselves? I feel as though this was a bait and switch type of product. I would not recommend to down to earth people looking for some spiritual guidance. Sorry to be critical but I am really disappointed in this product.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2011
I'll begin by saying that the central premise of the title and promise of the book--that we each have an invaluable, unique core purpose in our lives that should be fully expressed and generously shared--is a lesson I hold dear (though it was not because of this film that I learned its value).
Though there are people in the film & book whose stories and wisdom support this message, there are aspects of Discover the Gift that completely undermine their contributions. It's unfortunate but the fundamental obstacle for me was the filmmaker himself. Mr. Lichtenstein seems sincere in his own search for peace within and in his relationships, but while admitting faults he still seems more intent on portraying himself as a grand teacher of profound wisdom--not as someone still finding his way. He definitely earns a star for taking steps to improve his well-being, but the film feels more like a giant ego trip for him. Rather than being a person who has "discovered" something so powerful in the universe that it's changed their life and they cannot help but tell others about it with joy and zeal, the desire to "tell others" feels as if it is the driving force behind Discover the Gift. As others have mentioned, it does also have a feeling of opportunism as if trying to mirror the success of the film/book, The Secret.
It's sad--Sad that someone would try to use some beautiful concepts for what appears to be either earthly or self-gratifying reasons. I came to this looking for encouragement at a difficult point in my life, and now I'm sorry to come away sharing such a negative feeling. But we've all seen our own susceptibility to pride in "spiritual achievement" and also may have known teachers that seem more interested in receiving admiration than in serving their students.
There are some impressive teachers who contribute to both the film and book (their contributions to the book are just transcripts of what they say in the film). However useful their guidance, and however nicely packaged this product is, it lacks a true heart.
0Comment7 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.