Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 26, 2011
Excellent source for information about Hawaii. If you are going to travel to Hawaii this book will give you all the information you need for your trip. If you are an arm chair travler and just like to read about the beautiful state of Hawaii you will love it too.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2011
We just returned from a week vacation on the Big Island. We used this book extensively as we traveled around the island. The restaurant recommendations were spot on...we did not have a bad dining experience. We ate at 7 restaurants recommended by the book in a variety of price ranges - some we even ate at multiple times! We used the book for a couple of accommodations. Both bed and breakfasts were very nice. The tips on the various beaches and other sights were great, as well.

My only recommendation is to bring a good GPS or smart phone. Some of the directions/addresses were a little vague, although we eventually found everything we were looking for.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2011
While we didn't agree with everything the author said (stay away from the historic self-tour of Waikiki), this book is better than all the other guides we used. We got around 8 guides from the library, and selected this one as the only guide we purchased.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2011
We bought this book to help map out a trip to Hawaii and to find secluded places to stay and visit and boy did we! We've made so many notes and with the pull out map, we can easily create an itinerary for this massive trip we're embarking on. We will not be purchasing any other books on Hawaii for our trip. This book has everything we need as far as hotels, rental cars, restaurants and out of the way places to visit. Thanks Frommer's for another great vacation guide!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2011
The Frommer's Hawaii came in handy for quickie references but lacked detail. We didn't miss that it didn't include GPS coordinates. Most of the good stuff was right along the coast and easy to find. For accuracy it didn't disappoint. We supplemented their information with two paperback guides from the Trailblazer series. Oahu and the Big Island were covered from top to bottom with all the turn by turn driving directions for beach and trail.

We didn't feel we missed anything on our first trip to the islands. Great fun!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2011
I read another review about this book having missing and duplicate pages, but I was hoping the printing issue had been resolved. Not the case however. The books pages go from 1-662, then duplicates pages 631-662, and then start up again at 695. Pages 663-694 are MISSING!! 32 pages are not in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2012
My wife and I returned from a 3-week first-time vacation to Hawaii. We went everywhere with Frommer's at hand, and we found the author's assessments to be generally spot on. Lots of tips from a longtime resident gives you the inside info. The 2012 edition is currently available and I look forward to using it for my upcoming trip to HI this year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
i love Frommer's! When I take any major vacation, I love to buy a Frommer's prior to going and I take it with me. I just want to make sure I do not miss something exciting or beautiful at the destination. Frommer's has great pictures, suggestions and listings. I also like the map they include.
I was able to go to great locations. See my photography at Etsy.com/nancyhehmann
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2011
I would highly recommend Frommer's guides to anywhere. I have been purchasing Frommer's guides for years. He is concise and gives insight to anything you want to know. His books are easy to understand also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
I have only ever purchase Lonely Planet travel guides previously, but due to the price difference and excellent reviews of the Frommer's guides, thought I would try something different prior to my trip. I found it to be an excellent guide with great tips of places to stay, things to see and where to eat. Cannot recommend these highly enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.