Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Mickey Rourke: Wrestling with Demons
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 19, 2011
Don't waste a dime on this poorly written, poorly organized excuse for a biography. If you want to know this kind of information on Mickey R., just Google him. The only thing this book told me was that anybody with a mediocre term paper can get published.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2011
I very much want to know more about Mickey and what led him down his life path and how he can so realistically convey his character's soul, but it's like reading a paper written by an average 12 year old middle school student. To me, it's painfully dull, trite and simplistic writing. But Mickey fascinates me, so I will trudge on.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2011
This book dispels some myths about the man, the facts Rourke has revealed about his background and what his family says was the truth. It's amazing how whittled down some of the details of Rourke's life appears on the internet and this book gives some new insights. One bonus for actors, revealed are some subtle tricks on how Rourke has created some mind-blowing, scene-stealing, characters and also for some roles, has created that dynamic detachment. For those secrets alone, makes this book priceless for actors. Rourke went to the Actor's Playhouse (Same place De Niro, Keitel and Pacino went to), but to make the audition, he hired acting teacher Sandra Seacat. If you're a Rourke fan, until Mickey pens his own book, this is about the closest we're going to get to one of Hollywood's finest.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2014
You will not be able to put this book down. What a story. A real (Modern day Pirate) Nothing is impossible
if you live with this guys attitude and out look. He is afraid of no one and he lacks the filter that most of us
have. (If Mickey thinks it, he says it) on the other hand most of us have thoughts at times that we know we should keep
to our selfs, and we do. (Thank god) He had some crazy jobs when he was young and had a very troubled child hood.
He has made a comeback, and Im proud of him for that, and you will be too, if you read this book.Very well written by the author
Sandro Monetti, who has covered the Hollywood scene for about twenty years. Honestly, Im glad Mickey isn't in prison. He really
could of gone either way...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
mickey rourke in my opinion has always been very underrated. he's the 1 guy I always respected because he comes with no bull#$^$ attitude, and gave respect when it was due or earned. this book tells his complete background from the good to the very bad parts of his life. how he started out, also how he lost everything. a very interesting read and a page turner for sure. mickey rourke will always be the original bad ass in my opinion!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2012
Gotta love him for who he is. I've met Mickey Rourke....more than once. If I did't know better, I'd swear he was a biker...very tough and scary on the outside, yet wanting to be loved very much on the inside. That's who Mickey Rourke reminds me of--a tough person because he's afraid to show his gentle side. He really made points with me when I read how he fell in love with his co-star parrot in Iron Man 2. It's very hard to love a parrot. He obviously relates to them. It takes a special person to love the bigger birds. I also read Carre Otis book and do believe their relationship was based on sexual attraction, yet neither understood each other and couldn't be life partners no matter how hard they tried.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
i got this book about 2 weeks ago and i had it finished in 2 days. it is a good read. if you are a fan of mickey rourke i highly encourage you to buy this. i didn't want to put the book down, but i have to work and make a pay check to buy things on amazon. most definately one of the best bio's i have read in a long time. but i hope an updated bio on mickey comes out soon. just love that guy!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2012
This book is written like a Junior High book report. I do not discount the interesting tale of Mickey Rourke's life, however there is nothing interesting in this book that you can't read online.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2016
I didn't read the entire book. Only the part I could verify and it was jive. I knew Mickey in the early 1970's. He was in my acting class with Walter Lott. There isn't a word about Walter. Walter taught him to act. I was there. He studied with Sandra later and she was a big help too but only after Walter taught him how to relax, quit trying to play cool and use his emotions to feel. As far as I'm concerned, this section is fiction (except that he did eat a lot of candy). He didn't ever seem to have a job or money but he was a good guy .... quiet. After a four hour class (once a week) we would go to Jimmy Ray's. One of us would spot him. He probably owes me a couple carton of cigarettes and a dozen cheeseburgers and probably a few beers. I saw him become an actor but truth is missing in this book. I can't give it more than one star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
I loved this book because it told what Mickey Rourke has been through in his life. It gave me a new perspective on everything about him. I think he is a character and a good actor and I just plain love him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.